14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

wonderful! the only thing i did to make it easier was to use sourcream mixed with splenda brown sugar blend instead of whipping cream :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba September 14, 2009

yummy! I used 1/2 milk and 1/2 whipping cream. I also sprinkled some cane sugar on the top of the biscuits and baked at 350.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waialealenui May 12, 2013

Delicious, delicious, delicious. This biscuit was perfect crispy on the outside and tender on the inside, with an amazing butter flavor. The biscuit sopped up the strawberry juice perfectly, while still holding its shape and never got mushy. We love strawberry shortcake and this one is a winner in our books. My dh was in heaven. Thanks for sharing this new family favorite invictus.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato May 16, 2012

This was absolutely fantastic. I was a little nervous because I'm far from an accomplished baker but the shortcake was delightfully tender and rich. One suggestion for us neophytes would be a description of how the dough should appear. I really thought it might be too dry since it was flaky but I trusted and it turned out beautifully :).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bunkabihari May 11, 2013

Delicious! I made it in cupcake holders rather than as a cake and there was a little too much cake as a result but otherwise it was great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AbbaGav May 05, 2012

This is really good, I let my strawberries sit in sugar for a couple of hours so there was plenty of juice. IMO you need it because the shortcake isn't sweet and needs that juice to sweeten it up a bit. This is way better than the lame round sponge cups that they sell in the store for strawberry shortcake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s1oliver April 30, 2012

This was great. I've never made homeade strawberry shortcake before, but this will be all I make from now on. So super easy and delicious. I added more sugar to my strawberries (DH likes them really sweet and juicy). Everything else, I followed exactly. My whipped cream didn't get as thick as what we like it and I whipped it for over 2 minutes, trying to get the right consistency. I've never made homeade whipped cream so this could have very well been my fault. I also forgot to spray my pan before putting the cake batter in it and it stuck and then fell apart when I dumped it out. Again, my fault and not the recipes. I will be making this again and again and can't wait until I perfect it. Thanks so much for sharing. Made for PRMR- June 2010

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gertc96 June 14, 2010

We picked strawberries yesterday and I was looking for the foil for those perfect berries. Delicious. I loved these shortcakes- just the right texture without being too "biscuity". I made 6 nice sized ones. They don't keep especially well- all the more reason to eat them all at once!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scout33 June 05, 2010

Serving a delicious dessert is something in which we southerners take great pride...with no shame of glory hoggin'. Made for Sweet Traditions Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng April 14, 2010

OUTSTANDING SHORTCAKE, DEFINITELY! I did let the sugared berries sit for almost 2 hours & that worked out just fine for us! This dessert is sooo easy to put together, & sooo easy to devour, too! This is certainly a keeper of a recipe, for sure ~ Thanks for sharing it! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 25, 2009
Easy and Tasty Strawberry Shortcake