343 Reviews

Oh.. my.. goodness! This is SOOOOO amazingly good and absolutely NO work. I just put in about 1 lb frozen chicken with a whole bottle of Stubb's Smokey Mesquite BBQ sauce (I've found it's the most low calorie bbq sauce! ;)) and omitted the onion. Turned on the crock pot and went about my day. The last hour of cooking I removed the breasts, shredded them, and put them back in the sauce in the crock pot on the WARM setting so they could absorb all that sauce. I also added some Chipotle Tabasco sauce, salt & pepper. I went and worked out, came back and put some shredded chicken on top of salad greens for a nice healthy, low-carb option. I topped it with a litte bit of sour cream & salsa mixed together as a dressing. The whole time I ate that salad I was getting almost giddy with delight that something so easy could be so healthy and so yummy. Thank you SO much for sharing - this will become a staple in our house!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ December 29, 2009

This was really good and easy. Leftovers the next day were even better. I used Open Pit Original BBQ sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary F February 12, 2013

excellent ! I also use Sweet Baby Rays bbq sauce....although I sometimes make my own. And the leftovers ?? ( I purposely made twice the batch) I used to make bbq chicken pizza......it was fantastic. Love the flavor and ease.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sparrowlver77 September 13, 2012

These are pretty good. The most important is just your BBQ sauce. I've switched it up each time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KSpernak December 07, 2010

Wonderful recipe!!! We used Sweet Baby Ray's as well for the sauce and it was great...not at all too spicy for our two small kids. We topped the sandwiches off with some cool, crisp coleslaw...we couldn't get enough! This seems like it will be excellent when reheated the next day as well. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovetokate October 01, 2010

Tasty and Easy gets five stars in my book! I cooked it on low for about 4 hours, shredded the chicken then let it cook a bit longer. The house smelled fabulous while it was cooking too. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F September 10, 2010

The chicken was a tad dry. Probably because I cooked it on high for about 4 hours and then low for 2. Probably should have just kept it on low for the whole time. Good flavor though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NancyB August 22, 2010

This is great! So simple and delicious! Perfect for a winter day. I sprayed the crock pot with some PAM and then added frozen chicken breast, onions and the entire bottle of barbecue sauce plus I added a small amount of water to the BBQ sauce bottle, swished it around and added it to the crock. Then, I added some garlic powder, a little salt and pepper and some crushed red pepper for some kick. 4 hours on high, stirring every now and then and dinner was served. I sliced some raw onions for the buns and served with baked beans and a tossed salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunsh1ne January 03, 2010

Simple and easy. I'm on the lookout for crock pot meal meals and this is a keeper. I followed the advice of other reviewers and sprinkled with garlic salt and pepper. I also shredded the cooked chicken and placed back in the pot to cook with the bbq sauce. Thanks Kree I will make again and the bbq onions are great! Next time I will serve this with those onion hamburger buns.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo November 11, 2009

My husband loves this for dinner and leftovers. I don't add the onion and I use Sweet Baby Ray's sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hobokaen January 13, 2009
Easy and Tasty Barbecue Chicken Sandwiches in the Crock Pot