Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy and Tasty Barbecue Chicken Sandwiches in the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy and Tasty Barbecue Chicken Sandwiches in the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    339 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 339

    Sort by:

    • on September 08, 2010

      Thank you for posting this recipe. I read all the reviews and found that I had like many of the reviewers used Sweet Baby Rays barbecue sauce. I shred the chicken after 4-5 hours and let it soak up all the sauce. Also, I added a couple teaspons of liquid smoke. I have used this recipe before and intend on using it many times in the future. Great recipe. The taste along with the ease of preparation cannot be beat!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      As good as any I've had in a restaraunt. I used 2.5 lbs chicken , Sweet Baby Ray's Honey 18 oz (could probably use a little more). Seasoned chicken with pepper and garlic salt before cooking. Diced the onion. Cooked for 3.5 hours on low, took chicken out, shredded and added more pepper to chicken and sauce. Added last bit of bbq sauce in bottle to the pot. Threw chicken back in pot and cooked for 15-20 minutes longer. Served on kaiser buns with cole slaw on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      Great recipe. I cooked this for my husband and his buddies. "perfection" is what i was told. We put the bbq chicken on tortillas with a little bit of lettuce and tomatoes. So good! So easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      It was around 4:15 and I realized that I needed to make dinner, but didn't want to stand over the stove forever - I'm 5 months pregnant :) - so I found this recipe and got it in the crockpot as fast as I could. First I thawed 3 chicken breasts in the microwave, sauteed some onions, and threw those both along with about 1/2 a bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's in the Crockpot set on High. I came back to the computer to read reviews about cooking time, and saw someone say they cut up the chicken to cook it faster (duh! why didn't i think of that?) so I went back to the pot and cut up the chicken into chunks. I let the chicken cook for almost 2 hours, and heard the lid bubbling so i opened it and was able to shred the chicken easily- and it was done! I added just a bit more bbq and the hubby and I ate it up on leftover hot dog buns. I thought it was really good and moist, he said it was "delicious" and I was so happy to be able to cook up yummy bbq chicken in such a short amount of time. I will definitely DEFINITELY make this again!! :) Thanks for the recipe! **Update- I have made this MANY times and it is always, always delicious. The last time I made it I added grape jelly, which is a secret ingredient (well, not anymore) that a chef my husband works with adds to bbq sauce. It was the BEST.**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      How easy is this. I used 6 thighs, pulled the skin off, left them on the bone. Added the onion, and used Sweet Baby Ray's sauce. I had to speed it up a bit so started it on HI for 2 hours then about 3-1/2 on LO, pulled it off the bone, and stirred it back into the sauce to soak up all the sweet goodness. Set it on warm until DH got home. Was wishing I had some slaw fixin's to round it off, a chopped salad had to fill in. TY for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      Fantastic! This is probably the easiest and best recipe I've found yet! If it didn't turn out great, you did something wrong. Make sure you use a small (2 quart) crockpot, 2 pounds of chicken,
      low temp setting all the way through, and one full bottle of sauce (Sweet Baby Ray's is the best). I'm the typical male cook, and while I love great taste, I'm always interested in how easy something is to make and how many ingredients it has. This is so simple to do and all you have to add is some ready made deli slaw or broccoli salad plus chips and you have a fabulous meal. Bravo to whoever came up with this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      I used Sweet Baby Ray's barbeque sauce. I was surprised at how flavorful the meat was. I cooked mine on high for one hour and then low for about 3 more hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      Easy to make, but the taste is outstanding. Around hour 5 the bbq sauce started to separate. This caused the chicken to get dry. In subsequent meals I break the chicken up about 4 hours in and give the whole thing a good stirring. Its really helped keep the chicken moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      I pinched a nerve in my neck last night - so the last thing I wanted to do was cook. I saw this recipe and figured it would be easy enough. I put three large frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts in the slowcooker, and sprinkled onion salt over them (I needed to go shopping and didn`t have onions). I used a 500ml bottle of Diana`s Rib & Chicken sauce. I cooked it on high for four hours. I shredded the chicken using two meat forks. Even though they were fully cooked, I left them in for another hour on low just to soak up more flavour. I toasted a few sesame buns in some butter in a frying pan and loaded the meat on. They were really good - DH added pickles to his, but I`m more of a purest. I served it with spicy fries and corn. The sides of the chicken got a bit crispy from touching the sides of the crockpot - which we liked since it seemed more like bbq. I think it would have been even better with some creamy coleslaw on top, and baked beans on the side. DH gave this a rating of 8 out of 10. Thanks for sharing this with us!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      Very easy. Not the best BBQ sandwich, but easy is what makes it fantastic. I don't have to wander the kitchen at 5 wondering what i'm going to make for dinner. And both my girls ate them up. Leftovers froze just fine. Thawed a week or so later and had another easy dinner.
      Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2013

      This was really good and easy. Leftovers the next day were even better. I used Open Pit Original BBQ sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2012

      excellent ! I also use Sweet Baby Rays bbq sauce....although I sometimes make my own. And the leftovers ?? ( I purposely made twice the batch) I used to make bbq chicken pizza......it was fantastic. Love the flavor and ease.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      These are pretty good. The most important is just your BBQ sauce. I've switched it up each time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      Wonderful recipe!!! We used Sweet Baby Ray's as well for the sauce and it was great...not at all too spicy for our two small kids. We topped the sandwiches off with some cool, crisp coleslaw...we couldn't get enough! This seems like it will be excellent when reheated the next day as well. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      Tasty and Easy gets five stars in my book! I cooked it on low for about 4 hours, shredded the chicken then let it cook a bit longer. The house smelled fabulous while it was cooking too. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      The chicken was a tad dry. Probably because I cooked it on high for about 4 hours and then low for 2. Probably should have just kept it on low for the whole time. Good flavor though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This is great! So simple and delicious! Perfect for a winter day. I sprayed the crock pot with some PAM and then added frozen chicken breast, onions and the entire bottle of barbecue sauce plus I added a small amount of water to the BBQ sauce bottle, swished it around and added it to the crock. Then, I added some garlic powder, a little salt and pepper and some crushed red pepper for some kick. 4 hours on high, stirring every now and then and dinner was served. I sliced some raw onions for the buns and served with baked beans and a tossed salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Oh.. my.. goodness! This is SOOOOO amazingly good and absolutely NO work. I just put in about 1 lb frozen chicken with a whole bottle of Stubb's Smokey Mesquite BBQ sauce (I've found it's the most low calorie bbq sauce! ;)) and omitted the onion. Turned on the crock pot and went about my day. The last hour of cooking I removed the breasts, shredded them, and put them back in the sauce in the crock pot on the WARM setting so they could absorb all that sauce. I also added some Chipotle Tabasco sauce, salt & pepper. I went and worked out, came back and put some shredded chicken on top of salad greens for a nice healthy, low-carb option. I topped it with a litte bit of sour cream & salsa mixed together as a dressing. The whole time I ate that salad I was getting almost giddy with delight that something so easy could be so healthy and so yummy. Thank you SO much for sharing - this will become a staple in our house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      Simple and easy. I'm on the lookout for crock pot meal meals and this is a keeper. I followed the advice of other reviewers and sprinkled with garlic salt and pepper. I also shredded the cooked chicken and placed back in the pot to cook with the bbq sauce. Thanks Kree I will make again and the bbq onions are great! Next time I will serve this with those onion hamburger buns.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      My husband loves this for dinner and leftovers. I don't add the onion and I use Sweet Baby Ray's sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy and Tasty Barbecue Chicken Sandwiches in the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (216 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 471.3
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    10%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 72.6 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1529.8 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.8 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 40.5 g
    162%
    Protein 28.4 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes