343 Reviews

Thank you for posting this recipe. I read all the reviews and found that I had like many of the reviewers used Sweet Baby Rays barbecue sauce. I shred the chicken after 4-5 hours and let it soak up all the sauce. Also, I added a couple teaspons of liquid smoke. I have used this recipe before and intend on using it many times in the future. Great recipe. The taste along with the ease of preparation cannot be beat!!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 September 08, 2010

As good as any I've had in a restaraunt. I used 2.5 lbs chicken , Sweet Baby Ray's Honey 18 oz (could probably use a little more). Seasoned chicken with pepper and garlic salt before cooking. Diced the onion. Cooked for 3.5 hours on low, took chicken out, shredded and added more pepper to chicken and sauce. Added last bit of bbq sauce in bottle to the pot. Threw chicken back in pot and cooked for 15-20 minutes longer. Served on kaiser buns with cole slaw on the side.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenndahl16 May 22, 2011

Great recipe. I cooked this for my husband and his buddies. "perfection" is what i was told. We put the bbq chicken on tortillas with a little bit of lettuce and tomatoes. So good! So easy!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeeAnnJohnson November 16, 2011

It was around 4:15 and I realized that I needed to make dinner, but didn't want to stand over the stove forever - I'm 5 months pregnant :) - so I found this recipe and got it in the crockpot as fast as I could. First I thawed 3 chicken breasts in the microwave, sauteed some onions, and threw those both along with about 1/2 a bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's in the Crockpot set on High. I came back to the computer to read reviews about cooking time, and saw someone say they cut up the chicken to cook it faster (duh! why didn't i think of that?) so I went back to the pot and cut up the chicken into chunks. I let the chicken cook for almost 2 hours, and heard the lid bubbling so i opened it and was able to shred the chicken easily- and it was done! I added just a bit more bbq and the hubby and I ate it up on leftover hot dog buns. I thought it was really good and moist, he said it was "delicious" and I was so happy to be able to cook up yummy bbq chicken in such a short amount of time. I will definitely DEFINITELY make this again!! :) Thanks for the recipe! **Update- I have made this MANY times and it is always, always delicious. The last time I made it I added grape jelly, which is a secret ingredient (well, not anymore) that a chef my husband works with adds to bbq sauce. It was the BEST.**

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jcal85 April 29, 2012

How easy is this. I used 6 thighs, pulled the skin off, left them on the bone. Added the onion, and used Sweet Baby Ray's sauce. I had to speed it up a bit so started it on HI for 2 hours then about 3-1/2 on LO, pulled it off the bone, and stirred it back into the sauce to soak up all the sweet goodness. Set it on warm until DH got home. Was wishing I had some slaw fixin's to round it off, a chopped salad had to fill in. TY for the post.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peg629 March 21, 2010

Fantastic! This is probably the easiest and best recipe I've found yet! If it didn't turn out great, you did something wrong. Make sure you use a small (2 quart) crockpot, 2 pounds of chicken,
low temp setting all the way through, and one full bottle of sauce (Sweet Baby Ray's is the best). I'm the typical male cook, and while I love great taste, I'm always interested in how easy something is to make and how many ingredients it has. This is so simple to do and all you have to add is some ready made deli slaw or broccoli salad plus chips and you have a fabulous meal. Bravo to whoever came up with this one!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
autoguy9171 May 27, 2011

I used Sweet Baby Ray's barbeque sauce. I was surprised at how flavorful the meat was. I cooked mine on high for one hour and then low for about 3 more hours.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon May 24, 2010

Easy to make, but the taste is outstanding. Around hour 5 the bbq sauce started to separate. This caused the chicken to get dry. In subsequent meals I break the chicken up about 4 hours in and give the whole thing a good stirring. Its really helped keep the chicken moist.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Limbojed March 25, 2012

I pinched a nerve in my neck last night - so the last thing I wanted to do was cook. I saw this recipe and figured it would be easy enough. I put three large frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts in the slowcooker, and sprinkled onion salt over them (I needed to go shopping and didn`t have onions). I used a 500ml bottle of Diana`s Rib & Chicken sauce. I cooked it on high for four hours. I shredded the chicken using two meat forks. Even though they were fully cooked, I left them in for another hour on low just to soak up more flavour. I toasted a few sesame buns in some butter in a frying pan and loaded the meat on. They were really good - DH added pickles to his, but I`m more of a purest. I served it with spicy fries and corn. The sides of the chicken got a bit crispy from touching the sides of the crockpot - which we liked since it seemed more like bbq. I think it would have been even better with some creamy coleslaw on top, and baked beans on the side. DH gave this a rating of 8 out of 10. Thanks for sharing this with us!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah_Goertzen August 20, 2011

Very easy. Not the best BBQ sandwich, but easy is what makes it fantastic. I don't have to wander the kitchen at 5 wondering what i'm going to make for dinner. And both my girls ate them up. Leftovers froze just fine. Thawed a week or so later and had another easy dinner.
Thank You.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashdoes March 28, 2011
Easy and Tasty Barbecue Chicken Sandwiches in the Crock Pot