15 Reviews

I am giving this a 5 BUT I did change the water to wine (miraculous lol) Perfect portion for 4 NO left overs in this house. I think I will double it next time so there are some left over. So good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teriffic February 11, 2014

I'm quickly becoming a fan of Kittencal! This is a great and easy recipe. I only use 1 pat of butter, and don't add any salt (plenty of salt from the chicken broth). I've used grated parmesan cheese from a bottle, freshly grated parmesan, and most recently, freshly grated asiago cheese. All delish, all came out great! Thanks for another fantastic recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moonshadow_Girl May 16, 2011

All I can say is delicious!! This recipe was so easy and very yummy. I forgot to add the italian seasonings, but it was still fantastic. I served with a crockpot pot roast and the juices over this risotto were divine. My only regret was that I didn't make more. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gluten free and fab April 14, 2011

wow... i loved this recipe.. it was simple and very easy to make... my family loved the rice..This was our first time eating risotto, so this one is a keeper..Dont know if it made a difference but i added 1/2 tbsp of mascarpone cheese... Thank u for sharing this recipe is clearly a 5 star...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jazminandbilly October 06, 2010

Definitely a keeper! I am making the "almost" risotto for the second time and I agree that no extra salt is needed (and we like things well-salted). I used shaved Parmesan. Five stars! It could be served to anyone! Just make them think it took you forever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bouffophile January 25, 2010

Very easy, and the results were tasty. Honestly, I was a bit scared after following step four (throwing in the Parm this early instead of the end) - when the cheese instantly melted and was stringy, I just knew I had did something wrong. I panicked for no reason - I gave it a quick stir about 10 minutes in, and it came out perfect in the end. I'll be adding this to my repetoire - thanks, Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misa April 20, 2009

Excellent! love having the risotto-like results without cooking on a hot stove for a long amount of time, especially when I want to make this for a summer dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GA Mommy March 10, 2009

Loved it! Another keeper from Kitten! This tasted just like Risotto but it was so quick and easy, wow! I used the cheap parmesan cheese in the green can which I was a little worried about, but the rice tasted like we were at a fine Italian ristorante. Made for Zaar Stars Tag, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup August 16, 2008

Kitten...I assure you I'm not stalking your recipes (maybe I am) but you haven't let me down yet and so I seek out your recipes. I made a delicious blackened salmon with lemon garlic broccoli and this recipe put them all to shame!!! The flavour in this was so intense that I will never make another risotto recipe again! I added 5 cloves of garlic (should there be a dish without garlic?) and also increased the crushed red pepper (made it a bit spicy but we like spicy!) and we were in heaven! Couldn't keep our heads out of the pot tonight! Every last bit of this was gone. Thank you again for perfection! We LOVED it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl July 29, 2008

Truly loved this one. I tried using olive oil to cook the onions, and it doesn't work as well. Real Butter all the way!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FuzzyMoose December 22, 2007
Easy "almost" Parmesan Risotto