Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy "almost" Parmesan Risotto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy "almost" Parmesan Risotto

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2014

      I am giving this a 5 BUT I did change the water to wine (miraculous lol) Perfect portion for 4 NO left overs in this house. I think I will double it next time so there are some left over. So good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      I'm quickly becoming a fan of Kittencal! This is a great and easy recipe. I only use 1 pat of butter, and don't add any salt (plenty of salt from the chicken broth). I've used grated parmesan cheese from a bottle, freshly grated parmesan, and most recently, freshly grated asiago cheese. All delish, all came out great! Thanks for another fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      All I can say is delicious!! This recipe was so easy and very yummy. I forgot to add the italian seasonings, but it was still fantastic. I served with a crockpot pot roast and the juices over this risotto were divine. My only regret was that I didn't make more. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      wow... i loved this recipe.. it was simple and very easy to make... my family loved the rice..This was our first time eating risotto, so this one is a keeper..Dont know if it made a difference but i added 1/2 tbsp of mascarpone cheese... Thank u for sharing this recipe is clearly a 5 star...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Definitely a keeper! I am making the "almost" risotto for the second time and I agree that no extra salt is needed (and we like things well-salted). I used shaved Parmesan. Five stars! It could be served to anyone! Just make them think it took you forever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Very easy, and the results were tasty. Honestly, I was a bit scared after following step four (throwing in the Parm this early instead of the end) - when the cheese instantly melted and was stringy, I just knew I had did something wrong. I panicked for no reason - I gave it a quick stir about 10 minutes in, and it came out perfect in the end. I'll be adding this to my repetoire - thanks, Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      Excellent! love having the risotto-like results without cooking on a hot stove for a long amount of time, especially when I want to make this for a summer dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      Loved it! Another keeper from Kitten! This tasted just like Risotto but it was so quick and easy, wow! I used the cheap parmesan cheese in the green can which I was a little worried about, but the rice tasted like we were at a fine Italian ristorante. Made for Zaar Stars Tag, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      Kitten...I assure you I'm not stalking your recipes (maybe I am) but you haven't let me down yet and so I seek out your recipes. I made a delicious blackened salmon with lemon garlic broccoli and this recipe put them all to shame!!! The flavour in this was so intense that I will never make another risotto recipe again! I added 5 cloves of garlic (should there be a dish without garlic?) and also increased the crushed red pepper (made it a bit spicy but we like spicy!) and we were in heaven! Couldn't keep our heads out of the pot tonight! Every last bit of this was gone. Thank you again for perfection! We LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      Truly loved this one. I tried using olive oil to cook the onions, and it doesn't work as well. Real Butter all the way!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      Easy and very good. I love risotto too, but didn't want to stand over the stove in 90 degree heat. Used a vegetable broth in mine and oregano in place of the Italian seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      WOW!!! This was AWESOME!! 5 stars for taste, 5 for ease, 5 for absolute yumminess! I have no patience for the constant babysitting of risotto, and this was the recipe I needed! I used "No Chicken" broth (vegetarian) and some wierd form of seasoning that had dried onion and some other stuff in it, and it was great. Perfect is all I can say. Cheesy, tasty, creamy, heavenly. Even my husband said 5 stars, definitely! I will be making this often, I'm sure. Thanks for the yummiest "almost" risotto ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      After I picked my husband up off the floor that I bought a 7 dollar box of rice and cooked it(the rice not the husband), he was very glad as was I. I didn't realise that I had no Italian seasoning until to late so I just subbed basil and oregano, I am not exactly sure what was missing for "Italian Seasoning" but that was the one and only change I made, I lied, I added garlic! Thanks Kittencal for an easy tasty recipe and thanks to lazyme for the photo inspiring me to make it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      This is a great risotto recipe. And, you don't have to do all of the stirring. It's not quite as creamy as the traditional risotto, but for the ease of effort, it's great. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      We love this rice,made it twice now and will make again.Thanks,Linda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy "almost" Parmesan Risotto

    Serving Size: 1 (212 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.5
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    39%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 30.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 531.9 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried Italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes