Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Almost Fat Free Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Almost Fat Free Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2013

      It needs some work....I'm adding 1/2 cup of creamed corn, or put 1/2 of canned corn in a processor and blend it. Then I'm adding 1/2 cup of sugar and 2 tbs liquid Olivio pump spray to the mix. It should improve the "corn" flavor and add more of a palette pleasing taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      I just made this cornbread, and it is delicious! I used medium grind cornmeal, whole wheat flour, skim vanilla soy milk, and added 1/4 c. sugar substitute. I like the texture, and how puffy/soft it became. Wonderful! I will definitely make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This was pretty good for low cal and low fat. I wouldn't make it for company or a special occassion, but will keep this recipe to make for everyday. The only change I made was to add 1/4 c splenda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      I guess I was expecting a different taste to the cornbread. Glad I tried it but not up our alley. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      Great low-fat cornbread! I did add 1/4 cup sugar and about 2 Tablespoons of Parkay spray butter (fat free) and it was perfect! Thanks for an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      I made this tonight and loved it! We like a sweeter cornbread,so I added 1/4 c. Splenda. It is so nice to have cornbread while on my diet plan. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      I grew up with cornbread. However, since I've been trying to eat more healthy - I've avoided it. Yes, it is a little less sweet than what I've made in the past. However, if you're eating it with a fairly rich dish (I'm thinking chili or pinto beans), you won't miss the slight sweet. I love it - great for calorie counting. I can have my cornbread once again. Thanks for another great recipe Jen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      This was a great recipe for healthy cornbread! It's obvious from the ingredients, but I feel the need to mention that this is NOT a sweet cornbread. Some members of my family were a little saddened by that, but I thought it was a perfect addition to a nice bowl of chili! Also as a warning - this recipe gets moldy very quickly (within 3 days), do not make more than you need and think you'll eat it later on in the week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Delicious! Used blue cornmeal and whole wheat pastry flour. Made this on a Sunday for dinner on Monday and it turned out great. Not too dry as some cornbreads can get. I did pour some honey on top- I just couldn't resist. Thanks for posting another great one, Ladypit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      Very easy and tasty. I served it with hamburger soup, and had the leftovers next day as a snack with reduced fat peanut butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      I loved this. I think I needed to mix mine a little longer though, I had white spots in my muffins. They were still very good though. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      As fat free breads go this was a pretty good one though a bit more dry than I like -typical of fat free. I meant to add a tablespoon of Splenda but forgot, will do so next time. I did add a 1/4 cup of frozen corn thawed out and 3 scallions finely sliced. Also made muffins as I find that helps with the portion control. Betting that added a bit to the moistness. I'm betting that replacing 1/2 cup of the milk with some no fat yogurt might make this a good deal more tender. Thanks ladypit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2005

      Good cb! A little dry- I am gonna make again though- Maybe the whole egg would help- also will try adding some creamed corn. Great recipe Lady!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      We found this to be very heavy. Leftovers were very dry & hard, despite being properly stored. The addition of honey or honey butter would be great when serving... but then that would defeat the purpose of me making a low-points (WW) cornbread. ;) I think we just prefer the lighter, sweeter versions of cornbread. Thanks anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2005

      I think this will become my standard cornbread recipe from now on. I like that it is low-fat and not too sweet. I am going to make it again, adding blueberries because it's blueberry season in Maine and I've got loads of the critters. I'll probably add a bit of Splenda for that, but ordinarily I like it just at the sweetness it is at. I also think I'll try using this as the topping for my Herbed Hamburger Pie With a Cornbread Crust (Herbed Hamburger Pie With a Cornbread Crust).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      Good for being low fat. Very dense, probably because I used whole wheat flour in place of the regular flour. Overall it was nice knowing that it's healthier then prepackaged corn bread. I also added splenda to sweeten it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2005

      Good for lowfat. I put a couple of teaspoons of sugar in to get my husband to eat it, and used half wheat flour. It was good with soup. I'm going to try microwaving a piece of the leftover quickly, and putting a piece of ham in it for lunch today. Good, fast recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      This cornbread was very good. My husband said he liked it better than the cornbread at his favorite restaurant. My son didn't feel it was sweet enough - but I just handed him the honey to spread on it and then he was fine. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Almost Fat Free Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (53 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 88.6
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    48%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 215.6 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes