Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Acorn Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Acorn Squash

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2009

      This was a very nice blend of flavors! Thank you for the spice suggestions. I sprinkled nutmeg and cinnamon on after the salt and pepper. I did, however, cook the squash a bit differently. I cut them in half, lined a rimmed pan with foil, and filled it with 1/4 inches of water. I seeded and baked the squash at 400, cut-side down, for 35 minutes. Then I took it out, turned the halves over (keeping the water in the pan), and followed your directions for flavoring/seasoning with butter, brown sugar, salt, pepper, nutmeg, and cinnamon, putting the squash back in for 10 min. (or until the sugar had melted). They came out tender, and delicious! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      This is pretty much the same recipe I've used for years. The only difference is I put a nice pork chop (salt and peppered) on top of the squash, and wrap in foil. The flavor of the pork chop going into the squash is just awesome.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      This is great! I made it with the cinnamon and nutmeg and a little extra brown sugar :) Made for PAC Spring '11!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      DEEEEEElish!! Mmmmm, I really liked this! I did reduce the butter to 1 T. and used the sugar, pepper, salt, and cinnamon. I may add a bit more sugar next time since it was so yummy!! Thanks so much for sharing! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      Fabulous! I've never made acorn squash before and this was so good. My whole family ate it up!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      So good!! I prefer acorn to butternut any day. And since this recipe is so easy it has become a household staple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      This is really good. If I sound surprised, it's because I have never cooked an acorn squash and I've been cooking for 46 yrs.! I don't think I had ever eaten one either, so I didn't know what to expect. This recipe is perfect for a new cook or someone wanting to try a new veggie. Thank you for such a simple and delicious recipe. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      The combination of flavors was spectacular! My husband announced just before dinner that he was tired of all the squash I had been making. After trying this recipe he apologized for ever criticizing squash!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      Very good and very easy! I made it in my toaster oven, since I didn't want to heat up the whole oven for my itty-bitty squash. I used cinnamon and nutmeg, and quite a bit of pepper. Very flavorful, and I will definitely make it again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      I enjoyed this recipe. I guessed at the measurements and likely added a bit more brown sugar than called for. The pepper takes this dish over the top.Good, good , good! will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      A very easy and tasty way to prepare squash. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      We liked this very much! The only way I had ever tried acorn squash was butter, brown sugar, and a sprinkle of cinnamon, and baked. This was a pleasant change. I loved the spices, and what they did for the squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      Very simple preparation, and simple ingredients. I just used real butter and brown sugar. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      This was easy and delicious. The thyme added an excellent little twist to the flavor, too. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      I made this for Christmas dinner, and while it couldn't compete with the traditional favorites, it's definetly a keeper for other meals. I used the cinnamon and nutmeg and real butter. I couldn't find sea salt, but regular salt was good. Thanks for the recipe, Laura.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Acorn Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 205.6
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    51%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 399.8 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites