41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good. I made a fresh peach pie filling and used greek yogurt instead of the sour cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cewrdh August 22, 2009

This should be called "I can't believe its not cheesecake". Kittencal, this has to be a godsend since where I live, cream cheese is not always available and whenever it is, the price is very very steep. I made this for my family the other day and they could not believe that it was not a bakery bought cheesecake. From now onwards this is my staple recipe for cheesecake. Just want to know whether this can be stabilized with gelatine instead of being baked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mulan400 April 18, 2009

Need more than 5 stars for this. Very easy to make which is what I was looking for. It was for dinner tomorrow and my husband has probably hit a third of it. Will definitely make this again as I want to try it with cherry. Thank you for recommending this recipe. It is another great one. In fact I signed up today on your blog!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Britt O's sweetie pie April 11, 2009

I think this is one of the easiest desserts I've ever made and it tasted wonderful! Since we had cherry pie filling in the pantry I used that. 1/3 cup butter was more than enough for my graham cracker crumbs...I may even use a bit less next time. Loved the texture of the filling and it set up beautifully after a night in the fridge. I will admit, though, that we did taste it warm out of the oven last night...mmmm!!! I was honoured to make this for the Cookathon for Kittencal in John's memory.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hipfan December 14, 2008

This was great! Kittencal had suggested it to me in a thread about super easy desserts and I chose to make it for her cookathon. It was extremely easy and very tasty. Not overly sweet, which I liked and the filling was s-o-o-o creamy! The walnuts gave a nice texture contrast. I will certainly keep this in the "make-again easy" file!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paja December 07, 2008

I made this dessert this morning for my hubby. I had to use a little more butter to get the breadcrumbs to stick together. I used 1/2 cup of light stick butter because that is what I had. All other ingredients and sizes I did exactly as the recipe calls for. My baking time came out to exactly 27 minutes. Looks and smells yummy! I will add to my review later after the hubby tries it. Thanks again for another easy to follow recipe! Oh yeah, I posted a picture that should be on here shortly! Have a good day...UPDATE: Ok, called hubby on the way home from work and this was a definite 10 star recipe! Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
senseicheryl July 15, 2008

This was very good. However 1/4 c butter was not enough to make the crums stick together. I had a hard time patting them over the bottom. I will need to use more butter next time! LOL :-) Koechin/Chef

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) April 22, 2008

Delicious and super easy. I used low fat sour cream and added one egg. Put it into a bought graham cracker pie crust. If I use the pie crust again, I would buy the bigger size pie since this recipe overflowed the pan just a little. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SReiff January 28, 2008

I used premium cherry pie filling and almonds instead of walnuts. This isn't quite as good as regular cheesecake but gets 5 stars for being very easy, hard to mess up and definatley worthy for a holiday meal. We had it for Christmas dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
richabby December 29, 2007

Not the best ever, but was very good! Loved how easy it was! I think next time I'll do some of the suggestions from other members and improve a little. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diungerich November 24, 2007
Easy 5-Minute Almost Cheesecake Dessert