10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe because it illustrates the story of the death and resurrection of our Lord Jesus. My kids thoroughly enjoyed participating in making these cookies. The reason I only gave this recipe four stars is because our cookies were still sticky/moist in the morning. I followed the recipe exactly. Perhaps I'll have to try what the another user suggested and bake them at 200 degrees instead.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamanOf3 April 12, 2009

Great story and kids loved helping with these. Ours were a bit moist inside the next morning. Suprisingly enough, my kids didn't care to eat these, but I wouldn't rate it down because of that. I also wish it was stated how big the cookies should be. Our problem might have been, we made the cookies too big and that was why they were a bit moist.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 April 16, 2010

I have passed this keeper on to many with small children! What an amazing way to tell the story. If you haven't tried this with your kids...this is a must! I can't say I think they "taste" good, but the time and effort is priceless to create this memory maker. It's one thing to hear the story, aanother to show the story. God Bless All of you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe March 29, 2010

Thanks so much! I used to make this when my children were younger, and lost the recipe. It's a great lesson for Sunday School!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tony.yates April 11, 2009

I haven't made these yet but plan on making these cookies for work and of course including the story. Thank you so much for posting this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MontanaRose April 07, 2009

Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe story. We are making these tomorrow night on Holy Saturday.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ April 06, 2007

I gave this recipe a high rating but I have not made them....I just received an email on this recipe and I immediately came to zaar to see if it was posted...I think that this is something great that can be shared with family (kids) to teach them what Easter is really about. I passed this recipe to my mom, who is a Sunday school teacher, hope she makes them for her class!! I too, will be making these this week-end!! GOD BLESS YOU!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babygirl65 April 12, 2006

I made these today for my students in Sunday School to help involve them in the telling of the Easter Story. (I used bible verses as well to have them read along) When making the recipe, I had trouble in that the batter never got fluffy, no matter how long I let the mixer run. I looked up a different version of this recipe and the 2nd batch I made (at home), I beat the eggs, vinegar and salt on high to soft peaks, and then turned down the mixer on low and gradually added in the cup of sugar. Worked perfect! I also wanted to speed up the baking process so I could use my oven later and baked them at 200 F degrees for one hour. It was the pefect time. I hope many other moms and teachers use this to tell the Easter Story this year and for many years to come! Pam

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam-I-Am April 02, 2006

Made these at Easter. Used granola in place of pecans as we were out of pecans. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia Bella April 08, 2005

Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SHERRI10 March 25, 2005
Easter Story Cookies