Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easter Nests With Jelly Bean Eggs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easter Nests With Jelly Bean Eggs

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2009

      I did as another reader suggested and subbed butterscotch chips for the sugar and corn syrup. I used a large bag of chow mein noodles which was 8 cups. I used an entire bag of butterscotch chips and melted them with the peanut butter! These are so cute and absolutely taste wonderful! One of these does go a long way! Thank you for an new Easter tradition winkki!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      These were the cutest! I used natural peanut butter, butterscotch chips instead of the the syrup and sugar and mini eggs instead of the jellybeans and they turned out fantastic and not too sweet. The mixture was to goopy to shape into balls so I formed the nests into muffin tins, which made them a little bigger than I wanted, but they were still so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      I used to make these in Girl Scouts as "haystacks" rather than nests, and I thought the jelly bean eggs were cute. However, the ones I used to make were the butterscotch chip version (safer, maybe?) and I liked that flavor better. Perhaps if the sugar mixture were cooked longer it would be similar, but I think I will stick to the version I know. I will keep your adorable presentation, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      Easy to make and tastes good but felt the peanut butter flavor was a bit overpowering. I made them with a bag of butterscotch chips instead of the corn syrup mix and loved that flavor. Next time, I will only use 1/2 - 2/3 cup of peanut butter. Don't get nervous when you initially mix up the noodles into the peanut butter mixture and it looks runny. The nests will set quickly and be the perfect crunchy texture. I used 2 spoons to create the nests instead of my hands because it was much less messy that way. Used mini robin egg candies and placed them on a bed of edible Easter grass for an adorable presentation. This will be an Easter tradition for us from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      wow - i must be a horrible cook - but this totally flopped for me - couldn't get the butterscotch chips to melt right - then couldn't get the mixture sticky enough to stick together with the noodles...i tried to add more sugar/pbutter mixture to it and that flopped too....must be a secret here that i'm missing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      I made these using the recipe above, then I made it with the butterscotch. My family loved the butterscotch chip version better. It adds alot of flavor to the noodles, the grandkids loved them either way as we were doing a test run just to see how big we could make the nests as my grandaughter wanted "Duck" eggs for a stuffed duck. Fun project to do with grandkids!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Made these for my kids Easter baskets. Used jelly belly brand,ice cream flavored eggs. They were so cute. The eggs were speckled. Kids thought they looked just like real birds nests!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      These little jewels are GREAT. Note to self: It makes more than 12 ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      I just finished making these treats, they are so cute and a hit with the adults. I scaled it to 1.5 times like another reviewer. I also crunched up the noodles finer and got 36 nests, of the smaller more kid sized type. I used the gourmet jelly beans, because all the kids are into the sour ones. We will see their faces in the morning as the Easter bunny is bringing them to all the neighbors kids. THANKS.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      These were wonderful. They are quite tasty, a snap to make, and make a delightful presentation!! I used Tiny Toodles suggestion of substituting butterscotch chips for the sugar and corn syrup. I couldn't be more pleased with how they turned out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      These are great. I would actually recommend replacing the sugar and corn syrup with butterscotch chips instead. You would just heat the PB and Butterscotch on medium heat stirring constantly. Stir in the chow mein noodles and then form your nests. That way it tastes better and uses less messy ingredients

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      I really enjoyed making this however the end result was not edible. I think I boiled the mixture too long as I was distracted which made the nests rock hard afterwards. I loved the presentation however and kept it on the table. We would eat the chocolate eggs from it everyday until Easter!<br/>May try this again next year and not leave the kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2013

      Very cute and great for kids!! I changed a few things up in the recipe. I used rice krispies instead of the chow mein noodles and replaced the corn syrup with honey. In the future I think I will use the reese's pieces eggs or M & M's as the "eggs" because it was sort of a strange combo of flavors mixing peanut butter with the jelly beans, it might have been the kind I used maybe smuckers brand would have been good, like a pb & j :) I was able to get 24 "nests" out of one batch. Fun Easter treat!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      this recipe - as is - is gross. We threw the whole mess away and started again using butterscotch chips and peanut butter. The idea is so cute and we hope, now that we have the nests right, that everyone will enjoy these this Easter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      These are terrific! I followed the recipe exactly as written and they turned out great. A big hit with the family. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2012

      These were so simple and so much fun to make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      Very cute and fun to make with my son for Easter. However, we weren't too crazy about the taste - a little too sweet I think. Won't be making them again, but they were fun to make once and made for some cute photos as we made them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      Be aware that this recipe calls for the crispy, fried chow mein noodles that come in a can! Maybe I'm the only one who made this mistake, but the recipe didn't specify what kind of chow mein noodles to use, and other reviews said the treats were crunchy, so I bought regular chow mein noodles, the uncooked long ones. I thought that maybe they'd soften up once they were mixed with the peanut butter mixture. They came out so hard and crunchy that they were really hard to eat! So I googled what chow mein noodles are most popular, and the crispy, fried noodles came up! Apparently on the west coast these noodles are called "Hong Kong Style" and on the east coast they're called "chow mein". Out west there are long noodles that you steam or boil that are called chow mein, I guess they're "lo mein" in the east. The recipe should specify what noodles to use. I'll be trying these again with the right noodles! I used butterscotch and the flavor was very good at least.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      These were so cute! I used butterscotch chips rather than the sugar and corn syrup mixture. I used mini muffin tins to form the nests and let my 2 year old "help" by putting the jelly beans on top. He loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      These were very good. A little hard, but that may have been because I made them a night before and let them sit in the fridge over night. I made these for the kids, but all the adults ended up having them as well. I will be trying these again and letting the kids help next time. Easy, quick, look cute and tasted good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easter Nests With Jelly Bean Eggs

    Serving Size: 1 (47 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.7
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    36%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 87.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 19.4 g
    77%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chow mein noodles

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites