Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easter Hot Cross Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easter Hot Cross Muffins

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2007

      I LOVED the orange juice in this - it was a great addition - these worked perfectly for me and we all enjoyed them thoroughly. I did not use dried apricots - I discovered I had none when I came to make these, so I doubled up on the peel, which is my home-made recipe and worked extremely well. Everyting else was exactly as written - my muffins, excuse me(!!) rose very high and were very light!! Very much a keeper for me - thanks for posting this wonderful idea....a great classic with a twist! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2014

      Definitely very easy to make. I have never made Hot Cross Buns before & every recipe I could find seemed complicated & like it was going to be a lot of work. So this was a fantastic Alternative that I was eager to try instead :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      This is my first attempt at hot cross buns and it was a total success! My kids and husband loved them. I didn't have the apricots or candied peel, but went with everything else and they were fantastic. Definitely a new Easter family tradition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      me & my made them for eater and they all liked it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      This is very good. I made it as a loaf on Easter day. I didnt put cloves in as I dont care for them. Thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      Made these as i didnt have time to make hot cross buns, very easy and quick. I used butter instead of oil as i didnt have enough and used brown sugar insead of granulated. I didnt have apricots either so i just increased the amount of raisins and peel to make up for it. I didnt used the cloves as i dont like it and next time might add a little more cinnamon or some nutmeg. They are beautiful, light and tasty! I used melted white chocolate for the cross and its was perfect! Making another batch for gifts as the family have near enough polished this batch off! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      I make Hot Cross Buns every year-but this year I have my left arm in cast-so I tried these. They are the next best thing!!! I used currants instead of apricots, 3/4 tsp of nutmeg instead of allspice and didn't use the mace. I doubled the recipe and got 24 nice sized muffins. Since I have diabetes I didn't put the sugary crosses on them either. Tasted great without them-especially warm with butter!!! Yum! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Really loved these! I used my old Ekco Easter egg cake pan (like a muffin pan, but egg shapes) and flipped them over to glaze. Very cute, and a delicious recipe. I did sub 2 teaspoons orange zest for the candied peel - otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Thank you so much, we'll make these every Good Friday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      Delicious! I omtted the candied peel and increased the apricots to 1 cup, used whole milk and increased the vanilla to 2 teaspoons, thanks for sharing this great muffin recipe Reds!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      Little Miss (DD) and I made these today, we had lots of fun. These muffins had so much flavour and directions were easy to follow. I made a few substitute used brown sugar instead of granulated sugar, mix peel instead of candied peel and an egg replacer. The muffin was a little dense for me but the rest of the family didn't mind it. In fact I just got back from work and was looking to eat one but they had been eaten. Next time if I make these again, I would skip the glaze as muffin by itself is yummy. Thank you Redsie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      A really delicious recipe! Instead of making muffins, I baked the batter in a loaf pan so that it would be easier to transport to work, since I was bringing this for Friday treats. Needless to say, there wasn't much left afterwards!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easter Hot Cross Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 265.1
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    24%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 21.6 mg
    7%
    Sodium 221.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 31.3 g
    125%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    candied peel

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes