34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful! I haven't been able to find easter egg dye here in South Africa. This worked perfectly. I used brown eggs. I did not use the oil.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaniemay April 19, 2010

Thank you for this. We used it for this Easter and I won't bohter buying again dye for eggs.I left the eggs sit for 10 min on one side,turned them and got some nice unique designs.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia April 07, 2010

We've been coloring our eggs this way for a few years now (minus the oil). My son really likes being able to make his own colors, and not be limited to the commercial shades. Made for I Recommend tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl April 27, 2010

This worked great for easter eggs, there were some other mixtures on the back of the box which I experimented with and will post late. Anyways, I found that 1/2 cup of water wasn't enough to cover my eggs and just added more and more drops. Also I used apple cider vinegar and it didn't distort the color.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomsawyer April 15, 2009

This recipe was excellent! It was simple and worked really well. I'll never buy one of those dye kits again. We also liked the results from adding olive oil.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emspam April 11, 2009

I am so glad I found this egg dye. It was so simple and easier than buying the store bought tablets.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmn94 April 10, 2009

Awesome! I always use those dye kits but didn't have any today and wanted to do eggs with the kids. This worked so well!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doozer April 09, 2009

We used the store color tablets but added the olive oil to some of the cups. Loved the effect!What a great Idea. Next year we will do this with food coloring--they make the great neon colors now! Little leery onthe glitter, especially if we plan on eating them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe April 10, 2007

So glad to find this. I love making stuff from scratch. The color was intense and done in only 3 minutes. I was also using an old tablet of the bought stuff and it didn't do nearly as well. I agree with others though that 1/2 cup of water wasn't quite enough in the pint mason jar that I used. I'm also wondering whether the boiling water is necessary. Since I was starting with cold hard-boiled eggs it seemed a litte unsafe to warm them up again in the hot water. I may try with cold water next time or let the mixture cool entirely before using. ETA: used a half-pint (jam) jar and that worked perfect for volume. Tried with cold water and it took much longer, the color wasn't as intense and it didn't adhere uniformily. Not sure if the hot water makes the dye and the vinegar blend... if so, it might work to let the mixture cool before putting in the eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker April 01, 2013

Hope people realize that glitter is not edible and you need to be careful when peeling the eggs to eat. It is very difficult to keep it out of food if you have it near it. I personally believe glitter and food is a good mixture but that is my personal opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lytehouz March 30, 2013
Easter Eggs - Egg Dye