8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Perfect way with asparagus! I did add a bit of sesame oil, a weeeee pinch of crushed red pepper, and some toasted sesame seeds to the dressing...other advice: double the recipe, make extra marinade, and use leftovers (if there are any) tossed with whole-wheat angel hair pasta.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante October 21, 2012

This is a perfect recipe for any fan of asparagus! It was nice and crisp and the sauce was really good but didn't overwhelm the veggies. I kept his in the fridge for about 2 hours before serving. Made for Zaar Star tag game. Thanks Chocolatl! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif September 06, 2011

I just steamed my asparagus a bit, and loved the mix of brown sugar, soy, and olive oil. This is so quick to make, I know I'll make it often! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom May 16, 2011

What else could you do with your fresh asparagus other then this easy, but truly fantastic taste of East-meets-West asparagus? The brown sugar, the soy sauce, and olive oil just rebound a complete balance theme with the asparagus. A marriage made in heaven. I boiled mine for 2 minutes, and presto, love on a fork! Made for *ZWT Six* Zee Zesties! May 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm May 27, 2010

WOW! Yummy! Delicious! I actually sauteed the asparagus first instead of boiling them. We just loved the combination of flavors. Since I had fat asparagus, I cut them length wise in half. Made for the Veg 'N Swap #22 tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo May 17, 2010

Except for the fact I accidentally overcooked my asparagus (roasted instead of boiled), this turned out really good. Easy to make. I love the combination of flavors. Garnished with black sesame seeds. Served over fresh baby spinach leaves. Reviewed for May Veg Tag 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl May 13, 2010

Hey, I'm promoting cross-cultural awareness, too. My Kabuki is sort of rusty and my belly dance would burn out your eyes, but my cabbage patch is rather spiffy. I love when things just fall into place just like this wonderful crossover dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng March 13, 2010

Made for KK's Forum Mini-Cookathon. Doubled the recipe, but did not serve with lettuce as I love asparagus on it's own. I did garnish this with toasted sesame seeds. This was totally and completely delicious and I will be using this recipe again when the season comes again. Can't wait for the Asparagus Festival in Stockton to come so I can.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 October 20, 2009
East-West Asparagus Salad