13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Overall, a strightforward recipe that was well-liked. The recipe did not specify which type of canned tomatoes, so I went with canned whole plumb tomatoes. It probably doesn't matter that much sice the sauce will be pureed anyway. I agree with the other reviewers who said that the sauce was a little too thin. I used 1/4 tsp of red pepper, which provided a nice level of spice. I could not have gone any hotter with the kids. I can see how some adults would like to go slightly more spicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JGB18 May 28, 2012

This was a nice healthy meal with alot of flavor. I would suggest flattening the chicken breast a little next time and adding more cheese, (just a little, still want it to be healthy);) and the sauce was a little runny, so maybe adding some cornstarch and water mixture at the end to thicken it up a bit. I will definatly be making this again with those changes. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes August 18, 2009

Fabulous recipe. I was abit worried on the sauce flavour but once it simmered the great tastes came together nicely. I used 1/2 tsp on the pepper flakes and found it abit spicy but not too much. Also used fresh basil & tarragon. Great recipe that will be used lots, thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 August 16, 2009

5-star dinner! I changed it up a bit by seasoning the chicken with cajun seasoning and grilling it on the george foreman thing, then assembled as instructed.. I also used several slices of sliced moz rather than shredded because it has a better visual appeal when melted.. Served over fettuccine which was tossed in browned butter.. outstanding!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steve in FL May 07, 2009

we really enjoyed this chicken, I made a few amount adjusments and used seasoned salt, I used chicken thighs in place of the breasts, thank you for sharing Cooks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz February 22, 2009

This is delicious. We all enjoyed it a lot. I added more cheese as I usually do. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 August 04, 2008

YUMMY! DH wanted to rate it lower cause it's not spicy like Hell's Kitchen at ESM, but I told him this recipe was made so you can make it as hot or mild as you like. That aside, oh so yummy! I thought the sauce would be bland cause I normally add LOTS of spices, but it surprised me! I will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 July 23, 2008

This is really good! Even DH said so. I used fresh tomatoes for this as I didn't have the can. Probably made it all the better. Love the taste of tomatoes with melted mozzarella! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma July 16, 2008

My family enjoyed this. I followed the recipe as written other then I used a can of crushed tomatoes so I didn't do the puree step. I doubled the recipe for my family. I didn't add the parsley as I am not a fan. I also added more cheese then the recipe called for. Loved this because it was easy to make and was made with ingredients I always have on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol May 29, 2008
East Side Mario's Hell's Kitchen Chicken (Pollo Italian)