Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / East African Braised Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    East African Braised Chicken

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2003

      This took more like 1 hour 45 minutes to make than the 1 hour 10 minutes stated, but worth every minute. It was very easy to make. The aroma throughout the house was incredible and the flavor was even more incredible. We absolutely loved this, LeeAnn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2014

      Outstanding! Wonderful aroma; fabulous flavors... not overpowering, just great food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This is a very moist and tender chicken. We enjoyed this very much. Made as directed...but for us...I will use a wee more spice next time. This will definately be made again. Thank you for sharing. Made this for African Recipe Fun.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      This is excellent! Somehow word has to get out about this recipe so more people try it. I made it exactly as written, and we all loved it. Try it, please! You won't be disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      This chicken was flavoursome, tender and very very easy to make. The only thing i did differently is adding about 3 cups of raw spinach towards the end and it was wonderful. I will certainly be making this again. Thank you for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Both DH and I loved this dish. The chicken was tender and flavorful, and it smelled exotic and wonderful while cooking. We did everything exactly as the recipe said, and I used Rex Goliath Pinot Grigio as the wine. The rest of the bottle was delicious with the chicken. DH usually does not care for curry, so instead of typical yellow curry powder, we tried McCormick's Red curry powder. As a curry lover, I felt it was the perfect choice and even DH agreed. This is a very good dish that I anticipate making on a regular basis. Thanks, L. Duch. I see this recipe has been on this site for quite a while and it has not been tried by very many people. To all you who are interested - give it a try. I don't think you'll be disappointed as the flavors meld together beautifully. It has an exotic flair with all the elements of comfort food. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      This was delicious. The chicken was tender, almost falling off the bone. Very flavorful. I used chopped onion instead of sliced, as I had a ton already chopped that I needed to use-worked fine. The only other change I made was to add the broth and wine before adding the chicken. I let it come to a boil and scraped up the browned bits from the bottom of the pan left after browning the chicken. And I just realized I left out the raisins..didn't miss them. This is a keeper for me. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      I must have forgotten to review this.. I made this many months ago and I thought it was great. It smells very nice when cooking too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2004

      I've made this a couple of times since it first appeared in Cooking Light. It's quite delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for East African Braised Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (477 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 856.3
     
    Calories from Fat 509
    59%
    Total Fat 56.6 g
    87%
    Saturated Fat 15.6 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 243.8 mg
    81%
    Sodium 523.5 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 15.1 g
    60%
    Protein 59.0 g
    118%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-sodium fat-free chicken broth

    dry white wine

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes