9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This took more like 1 hour 45 minutes to make than the 1 hour 10 minutes stated, but worth every minute. It was very easy to make. The aroma throughout the house was incredible and the flavor was even more incredible. We absolutely loved this, LeeAnn!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP June 13, 2003

Outstanding! Wonderful aroma; fabulous flavors... not overpowering, just great food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mac C. November 09, 2014

This is a very moist and tender chicken. We enjoyed this very much. Made as directed...but for us...I will use a wee more spice next time. This will definately be made again. Thank you for sharing. Made this for African Recipe Fun.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvcook'n January 31, 2010

This is excellent! Somehow word has to get out about this recipe so more people try it. I made it exactly as written, and we all loved it. Try it, please! You won't be disappointed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ants36 January 21, 2010

This chicken was flavoursome, tender and very very easy to make. The only thing i did differently is adding about 3 cups of raw spinach towards the end and it was wonderful. I will certainly be making this again. Thank you for sharing a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Natalia #3 February 04, 2009

Both DH and I loved this dish. The chicken was tender and flavorful, and it smelled exotic and wonderful while cooking. We did everything exactly as the recipe said, and I used Rex Goliath Pinot Grigio as the wine. The rest of the bottle was delicious with the chicken. DH usually does not care for curry, so instead of typical yellow curry powder, we tried McCormick's Red curry powder. As a curry lover, I felt it was the perfect choice and even DH agreed. This is a very good dish that I anticipate making on a regular basis. Thanks, L. Duch. I see this recipe has been on this site for quite a while and it has not been tried by very many people. To all you who are interested - give it a try. I don't think you'll be disappointed as the flavors meld together beautifully. It has an exotic flair with all the elements of comfort food. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkwilson November 15, 2008

This was delicious. The chicken was tender, almost falling off the bone. Very flavorful. I used chopped onion instead of sliced, as I had a ton already chopped that I needed to use-worked fine. The only other change I made was to add the broth and wine before adding the chicken. I let it come to a boil and scraped up the browned bits from the bottom of the pan left after browning the chicken. And I just realized I left out the raisins..didn't miss them. This is a keeper for me. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly M. May 22, 2008

I must have forgotten to review this.. I made this many months ago and I thought it was great. It smells very nice when cooking too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippeastrum December 28, 2005

I've made this a couple of times since it first appeared in Cooking Light. It's quite delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo December 28, 2004
East African Braised Chicken