Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easiest Crispy Jacket Baked Potato for Lazy Busy People Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easiest Crispy Jacket Baked Potato for Lazy Busy People

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2009

      After scrubbing and poking a few holes, I rub potatos with olive oil (or veg or peanut) and some kosher salt before baking. The skin gets crunchy and salty. When I serve these, no one leaves any potato skin on their plate!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      This is, of course, the correct (and perfect) way to bake a potato! If you use foil, then you are making a "steamed" potato. I usually use large potatoes, so cook them closer to an hour. I'll have to try the oil and salt method other reviewers have tried. This is the only way to make a real baked potato!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      Thank you very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      Simple and good. Thanks kiwidutch. Made for All You Can Cook Buffet special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      This certainly is easy! I used baking potatoes but didn't find the skins that crispy. They were still very good- nice and soft on the inside. Thanks for a super easy way to cook jacket potatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      This is always how my Mom made them. Easy and simple - the only way I will do baked potatoes now. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      This is how my mother bakes potatoes...I didn't know until coming to this site people wrapped potatoes in foil at home too! Thought that was just fancy restaurant stuff. Love baked potatoes both ways!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      Easy simple great baked potatoes. I haven't had one wrapped in foil for years, maybe I'll try it just to see.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      I normally do not use foil to bake my potatoes, but I have always rubbed them lightly with cooking oil before baking. I think it was my ex-mother-in-law that advised me to do this, instead of using foil like my mom always did! So I knew this recipe was a winner even before trying it. Without the oil, the skins were crunchier...for my younger guests, I'll probably still oil the skins...that way they don't mind eating them, after all, that is the most nutritious part! But I enjoyed the crunch of the non-oiled skin. Loved the recipe. Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      SO incredibly easy and SO delicious. This recipe is a MUST TRY for everyone who likes potatoes - and who doesn't? As my filling, I added 3 cloves of minced garlic and 1/2 cup of thinly sliced mushrooms that had just been softened in butter in a small non-stick pan. I added a rosemary and sage blend I've been using in a lot of recipes (it also has some salt in it) and after distributing this mixture between the four potatoes, I topped each with a generous dollop of Greek yoghurt, which is so wonderfully creamy that I frequently use it instead of sour cream. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, kiwidutch. I shall be making it often. When isn't life hectic enough for such recipes to be invaluable? Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Can't mess this up! Thanks for posting i will probably bake my potatoes like this from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      What a great idea! I always thought that spuds done in the oven needed foil, not true. These cooked up lovely & crispy with no foil & no mess! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I love it! It's so easy, just scrub and bake. Then, while the potatoes are baking you can concentrate on the rest of dinner knowing that you'll have a perfect side when done. Thanks for sharing. Made for PAC Fall '08

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Yup, this is definetly the easiest way I ever found to get a crispy baked potatoe. I learned this by accident in my very early married years when money was even more tight than it is now. Ran out of foil and wanted to make baked potatoes, so I gave this a try. Stabbed them as usual to release steam. I think the only thing I did different the first time, was to lightly oil the skin but I have baked them without greasing the skin since then too. If I remember, I thought the grease on the skin might add flavor. Foil covering is only used now if I have company, so they will stay warm a little longer and so everyone can grab their own easily. It's amazing the "secrets" you can discover when you are forced to improvise. But then lets face it, what did people do to roast/bake potatoes before aluminum foil? :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      Thanks for this really simple recipe. It turned out to be great. My friends were really astonished.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      This is the way I was taught to make jacket baked potatoes at school many moons ago..LOL I have never made them wrapped in foil. Sometimes if I am short on time I will cook them for 10 mins or so, depending on how many, in the microwave first, then finish in the oven. :) Thanks for posting this old favourite. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      This is the easiest and simplest recipe for baked potatoes I have ever seen! And they turn out great! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      Gosh, I didn't know there was any other way to make jacket potatoes. This is the easiest potato dish in the world and gets made once or twice a week in our house. Plus, it is forgiving in terms of time and temperature. If you have something else in the oven that needs to cook at, say, 180 C (350 F), the potatoes will do just fine cooking for a bit longer at the lower temperature. By the way, the bottom of my oven runs a little hot, so I put the potatoes on the bottom rack and turn them once during cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      I will never bother with wrapping spuds in foil again! These were perfect. I followed the directions amd was pleased with 4 small scrumptious potatoes that I topped with salt. pepper, butter and sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      Yup, that was me who loved your picture and was craving for a perfectly crisp spud recipe! And this recipe really did give me the most crisp skin and fluffy center. I have been looking for the perfect baked potato recipe for quite some time.... I think my search is finnally over! Many thank!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easiest Crispy Jacket Baked Potato for Lazy Busy People

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    45%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites