15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This by far was the best chicken and rice casserole I have ever had. My DH has throat cancer and has limited chewing ability. I cut the 3 chicken breasts in very small pieces. He doesn't like mushrooms so I had a can of cheddar cheese soup that I mixed with the cream of chicken and rice. I didn't add any salt. I did add fresh ground pepper. I omitted the lemon pepper. It was delicious and my DH didn't have any trouble with it. This is going on my regular round as our meals are limited to what he can tolerate. He lost 10 pounds in 5 days but with this I am sure we can build him back up.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunnee50 October 20, 2010

I made this with instant brown rice, and it was way too soupy. Didn't know if brown rice absorbs less moisture than white rice. Chicken was also a little bland.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
milrob January 29, 2013

I hadn't made anything like this is a long time, so thank you for easy, delicious, reminder! I started with your base recipe and wanted to share my modifications. This recipe is conducive to adding some vegetables. I add a can of mushrooms and half a bag of sliced frozen tricolor peppers. I prefer it firmer, so I use 1.5 cups of instant rice and maybe 3/4 of a can of milk (great suggestion on using milk!). I also mix in some shredded cheese, maybe 4 oz. Again for ease, I usually cut short chicken strips and just stir them into the same big bowl. Now for the best easy dinner tip: buy non-stick foil and put it in the pan. Cleaning the pan is the hardest part of this recipe, and with the non-stick foil, the food doesn't stick and cleaning the pan is a breeze. (I stopped buying any other foil, it's amazing for everything.) Great recipe, you're awesome, thank you!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChiWestBurbsDoug June 01, 2015

I thought this was an excellent recipe! The only problem I had was It did not say to bake it covered or uncovered. Unless I over looked it. Other wise I found it super easy and super good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nannette K. November 21, 2014

I haven't made this in years and I came across this recipe and I thought that I would give it a try. I prefer more rice and added 2 cups of instant rice with 2 cups of water. I did cut up the breasts in smaller pieces. I am not a mushroom eater so used the cream of celery soup. I cooked it in the oven and transferred to a crock pot to keep it warm till my husband comes home. IT is a easy recipes that taste good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paulamus August 18, 2014

This was delicious and super easy. The flavor is excellent. Took a tad longer to cook for me since I used frozen chicken breasts, but still came out great. I also added some shredded cheese. I'll definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krug93 February 04, 2014

Just made this for the first time and I gotta say .... Super delicious. I changed it a little by using boneless skinless chicken thighs and adding some frozen mixed vegetables to the rice. I also cooked it for an hour at 375 degrees. The dish was creamy and filling but not heavy. I will definitely be making this for my family again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef DiannaS February 01, 2014

I doubled this recipe, used 1 can cream of chicken & 1 can cream of celery. Inexpensive, quick and easy and yummy. This one is a keeper. Thank you!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
geetee29_9693894 September 12, 2013

Thanks for the recipe! Fast and easy. I like that you can use Minute Rice. I did not have any lemon pepper, so I tried Montreal steak seasoning and celery seed. Turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Obsessed with recipes October 30, 2012

I am in the process of making this recipe as I write this review and it's coming out well! the only thing is that I need a BIGGER dish for the serves 8 count :/ it's overflowing off the side lol. So that would have been helpful...other than that I'm pretty sure it's going to be great!!!! I have a family of 5 so I always make bigger portions

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefJones77 February 08, 2012
Easiest Chicken & Rice Casserole Ever!!!