52 Reviews

Loved it! Anything that is that easy to make and tastes that good gets 5 stars from me! I made this to take to my Grandmother's for a pre-Valentine's Day dinner, so I felt the need to make it a little more festive! I used a small heart-shaped cookie cutter to cut 2 hearts in the top crust (one on each side). I placed the cut-up crust on top of the pie and then put the cut out hearts on the crust as extra decoration. I brushed the top with an egg white to brown the pie. Turned out beautifully! Thanks for the recipe! Will make again soon! UPDATE: This recipe made it into my Book #235514 cookbook! Thanks, again, Anchor Girl!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieLynne January 09, 2009

Loved thsi. I used 2 layers of puff pastry and it was delicious!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christy in Illinois December 02, 2010

YUMMY! Great comfort food! I used frozen pie crust from trader joes, frozen peas & carrots. Next time I will add green beans. I cooked the chicken with a little olive oil and salt & pepper. Very easy to make! I'll be making this again and again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharlenebernaldo March 01, 2010

I followed the other reviewer's lead & nuked frozen veggies,drained them, added my thawed chicken (which I had frozen from a leftover dinner), 1 can of reduced fat Cream of Chicken soup and a 1/4 of soupcan water, stirred it all up & nuked it for 4 mins, transferred to 2 qt caserole...Topped w/whack-a-can Croissant dough for topcrust. Baked for 15 min.@375. I had unexpected kids at dinnertime and all 8 kids (2-11 y.o.) DEVOURED this. THANK YOU THANK YOU!!! I needed something quick & edible & I got a meal to add to our monthly menu!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Myers December 09, 2008

Terrific recipe! Used a Costco rotisserie chicken and Costco frozen organic veggies, added 3/4 soup can of milk to the 2 cans of cream of potato soup to thin a bit. Added an additional third cup of chicken as DH and DS both like alot of meat. Will make often! Thanks anchor girl!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lgielish October 13, 2010

How funny, I go to post my own pot pie recipe, and search for it first, as suggested by RecipeZaar and there it is...only here is how mine differs (it is faster). I first brown my bottom pie crust in oven for 10 minutes. While that is browning, I cut up my chicken with scissors into bite size pieces over a hot skillet. While the chicken is lightly browning, I cook the frozen veggies in the microwave with a covered casserole dish for 8 minutes. Then, when veggies are done, I drain the water and add 2 cans of cream of CHICKEN soup, stir together well and nuke that for four minutes or until piping hot. Then, add chicken to the mixture, pour into pie plate (you will probably have enough mix for two of these pot pies...I always do) and add your top pie crust. Just bake it for another 15 minutes or until top pie crust is brown. Total cook and prep time is 30 minutes! Always gets rave reviews and amazes me that something that good is sooooo easy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Dalton April 07, 2005

I also have never made a pot pie before, BUT I will from now on. This was so good and true comfort food and so EASY to boot. I followed your instructions exactly using frozen vegtables. Thank you Anchor Girl for sharing this.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot May 07, 2003

This is a simple and tasty dish. I've never made anything like this before, but it was quite easy. I didn't have cream of potato, so I used one can of cream of broccoli and one can of cream of chicken, and it was great. I will definetely make this again. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starrynight March 28, 2003

I made this last night - HUGE hit. I used cream of chicken - but may try the cream of potato next time. I put it in a 9x13 pan and just used the crust over the top. One of the easiest recipes ever - and so good that there were NO leftovers!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NancyB April 30, 2012

I truly enjoyed this recipe. I love chicken pot pie's I have always wanted to find one that was very easy to make. This definitely is the one! It was very easy to make and it tasted phenomenal. I figured that since it was homemade I would change it up and I used broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, and corn. It was beyond delicious! This is a definite Keeper. Triple Kudos on this one.

I made this for the Contests and Events Forum All Aboard the LOVE Train!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Creation in Hope January 27, 2012
Easiest Chicken Pot Pie