13 Reviews

Fantastic!! I only wish I had remembered to take a picture of it before we started eating it! This recipe needs a picture! I had another recipe for Pumpkin Cobbler and it was so time consuming. This one is so much better and it's so easy and quick to put together. Everyone loved it!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrysDanMom November 22, 2012

So easy, my 4 year old made it! And it turned out great! We blended the cake mix and butter with a pastry tool before sprinkling it over top which made a nice even surface and consistency. We also used sugar free cake mix to cut back on the calories a tad, and no one noticed! Got rave reviews at a gathering! Will definitely be making this for the holidays! Thank you!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sldumas October 23, 2011

Ok, this recipe has potential. The pumpkin custard base is AWESOME. However, the topping didn't do it for me and the girls at my book club. It made the dish way too sweet, and I wish I had only used half the cake mix, and mixed the butter with the cake mix before putting it on top, like another reviewer suggested. I followed the recipe exactly (I always follow a recipe exactly once before making modifications). After baking, the cake mix on top was still dry in places, which was very unappealing, and there was too much, so it was like eating straight raw sugar and flour in some bites. I think this could be prevented by mixing the butter with the cake mix in advance. I did, however, absolutely love the pumpkin custard base, which was a lovely consistency and very good. You could probably reduce the amount of sugar in the custard base to 1/2 - 3/4 of a cup if you don't want it to be overly sweet. I'm going to make this again, but I plan to modify the way I do the topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LWA says November 20, 2013

Made this recipe for Christmas dessert. DELICIOUS! Took suggestion from previous reviewer to blend melted butter with the cake mix BEFORE sprinkling it on top of the pumpkin mixture. Also added a pinch of ground nutmeg. I may never buy pumpkin pie again. Served this with freshly whipped cream (no sugar added). Highly recommend. Used to buy Plentiful Pantry's Pumpkin Cobbler Mix for $ 8.00 at Fresh Market, but they stopped carrying it so....found this recipe online. YUMMIE! Everyone who tastes this wants more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gojohnston January 26, 2013

Huge hit with the family over the holidays! Husband declared it his new favorite!
Yummy Yummy Yummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sswynn January 13, 2012

I hated how this came out. I hate the topping, it is extremely sugary. I felt the sugar from the cake mix crunch between my teeth the whole time. The sugariness of the cake mix topping overpowers the pumpkin and makes eating this a agonizing experience. The recipe also makes an amount that's too big. I'd halve it. Very disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roseberrytea October 03, 2011

This is my favorite pumpkin dessert! I usually call it either Pumpkin Dumb Cake (after the other cakes with cake mix poured over the top) or Upside Down Pumpkin Pie :) I too could eat the whole thing! I've made this many times and everyone loves it. I usually add chopped walnuts or pecans to half the pan (over the cake mix, under the butter). I have also drizzled maple syrup over the butter for fun (it was pretty good, but not a strong enough maple taste for me- but it got good reviews).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 September 28, 2011

Easy and delicious! Used half sugar, half splenda and egg beaters for the eggs. So good you want to eat it all in one setting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna from Las Vegas March 09, 2009

I have never been a fan of pumpkin, but this is delicious. I will make that again, not only on Christmas. Ingeborg

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adamsi January 01, 2008

This was the hit of my office

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbrown October 19, 2007
Easiest and Most Amazing Pumpkin Cobbler