21 Reviews

A friend of mine introduced me to earthquake take a long time ago and it's absolutely fab... Every party I've ever taken it to has RAVED about it. I use butter instead of margerine and I heat the butter and cream cheese in a small pan and whisk until smooth before adding the powdered sugar which is far easier... also makes it easier to pour onto the cake instead of trying to spoon in large globs... It basically makes a cream cheese frosting that's baked into the center of the cake.

Here's the thing though... I consider it more of a method than a recipe... you can literally use ANY boxed cake mix prepared to box instructions and any "fillers" you want. So far I've made the following variations:
Pina Colada Earthquake Cake: Coconut Cake with Dried Pineapple & Coconut Flake filler
Almond Joy Earthquake Cake: Devil's food Cake with Almond & Coconut filler
Symphony Bar Earthquake Cake: Devil's food Cake with Toffee Bits & Almond Filler
Butterfinger Earthquake Cake: Chocolate Cake with Crushed Butterfinger Filler

The possibilities are endless! :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MindyP679 October 23, 2012

I've been making this recipe for years and love it. Now I have a new reason to give it 5 stars. It is almost impossible to screw up. Yesterday I made it and was out of oil and had to use melted butter in the cake mix. I forgot to put in the third egg. I had 7 ounces instead of 8 of cream cheese. And I only had 2 cups of powdered sugar. I also forgot to add the vanilla. Oh...and I was out of German chocolate cake mix and used regular chocolate. It was still delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jocosmom May 09, 2010

Everybody loved this cake! Loved that it doesn't need frosting. Thanks for posting! I forgot the stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingin7 April 08, 2013

A very good cake. My dollops also sank into the cake but it tasted so good - who cares. This is definitely a keeper. I agree that its almost like an upside German Chocolate Cake. Will put this in my computer recipe program and give it 5 stars. Of course peppermintkitty will get the credit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhiteSnake February 20, 2012

I received this recipe from a co-worker almost 10yrs ago and make it every holiday as request by family. It is so good, but I like it the most when it is cold. YUM!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hs0829 November 23, 2011

I am giving this cake 5 stars for the taste, but baking it actually frustrated me. Beware...50 minutes may not be enough time which was my case. I took it out and it was still very thin in the middle. I had to put it back in the oven for at least 15 more minutes. For me, the cream cheese mixture sunk like someone else mentioned. My cake never actually cracked. However, the taste alone and knowing what to next time will make me bake this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl August 07, 2010

great cake. you don't need to change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BtNugget March 24, 2010

Deeeeeeeelicious cake and I am so glad I found it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen In The Kitchen! March 06, 2009

I have issues with this recipe! I made it as stated - iced it for overkill, and only got one piece!!! My guests begged to take it home with them...sigh, what's a girl to do?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacey in BG!!! December 26, 2008

Very good but very sweet. It turned out sort of like a German Chocolate upside down cake. All of my cream cheese dollops sank to the middle of my cake, so they made a creamy filling rather than a topping. Will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackieliz April 26, 2008
Earthquake Cake