Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Earl Grey Tea Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Earl Grey Tea Cookies

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2009

      WOW! I'm so glad to have found this recipe... it is so easy and quick!!! I switched the Earl Grey with a Pacific-Sun tea blend (I think it is a black tea mixed with citrus, roses, and other stuff). I subbed the vanilla for almond extract which was phenomenal! After baking for 10 minutes, they came out wonderfully moist with a slight crunch. I grind all the dry ingredients together and store them in an airtight jar. That way, whenever I want cookies, all I have to do, is add 1 cup of butter and 1 tsp each of extract and water (which are always at hand) for 3 cups of dry ingredients. Could make a really nice gift too. Thanks a bunch for this treasure of a recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      Really yummy! I didn't have earl grey, so I used regular black tea and added the zest from one lime. They turned out really well- I gave them as a thank you gift and got an email 20 minitutes after delivering them, begging for the recipe! -Very short-bready, with a little something different. Probably good rolled in sugar prior to baking...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      These cookies are amazing!! I used a lavender Earl Grey, and didn't have white sugar so used light brown sugar, and they turned out fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      These taste great. The Earl Grey flavor is very subtle and may be overshadowed if you get the cookies too brown. I did not get 72 cookies out of this recipe, but I don't really find that surprising.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Great cookies. I used more Earl Grey tea leaves and whizzed them up in the blender first. Introduced some folks at work to them and had interesting reactions, as such use of flavoring is unusual in everyday cooking [but not in the world of gastronomy], but most people loved them and liked the novelty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      These were really hard to rate. On the one hand, they are an excellent, easy-to-make butter cookie with a delightful texture. On the other hand, they just did not have much of a pronounced Earl Grey flavor to me. Made them as an Xmas 08 gift for my BIL, though, and he and his wife seemed to really enjoy them. Might try subbing lemon peel next time, because I bet this would be phenomenal lemon cookies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      I love Earl Grey - I drink it every morning - so how could I NOT try out these cookies? And I was not disappointed. They are simple little cookies, but really delicious. I added a dusting of powdered sugar (as per suggestion) and that adds a nice punch. I'm pondering making them next time with lemon extract instead of (or in addition to) the vanilla extract. I think lemon would be a nice addition because the tea already has that bergamot citrus thing going on. I also considered a light lemon glaze drizzle. I will make them again for sure. They're great. Thank you Vino Girl!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Being a religious Earl Grey tea drinker, I had to try these cookies. They were delicious, moist with a lemony hint. The only problem I had was not reading the instructions in their entirety. I put all of the cookies on one baking sheet, when I should have used two. I ended up with one baking sheet sized cookie! However, it was easy enough to cut them into squares, and they still tasted great. Thanks for the recipe Vino Girl!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Wafery thin and delicious. I prefer a cookie with a bit more texture; next time I'll add another 1/2 cup of flour and reduce temperatre to 350 for 15-18 minutes. As is, I used powdered sugar on top and they were a hit. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      Amazingly delicious. Perfect with my morning coffee. The recipe asked for 6 teabags. I would use 4 next time. I like how you can store the dough in the fridge and then bake them fresh as you want em during the week, or if someone pops over. Great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      Delicious! I added 1.5times the amount of butter, and another 1/2c. of flour with a bit of extra flour/sugar to get the right consistency. With the changes to the recipe it made 3 dozen cookies. I also used pumpkin chai tea instead of earl grey... amazing! The cookies has a melt-in-your-mouth texture and lots of flavour. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

    • on November 21, 2008

      I absolutely luv this recipe because I really love tea and I think this recipe is flexible enough to experiment with different tea flavours. I used whittards vanilla flavoured black tea because I didn't have any vanilla. I also mixed in about a teaspoon and a half of loose-leaf whittard irish cream tea on top of the 2 tbs of tea for flavour and for presentation. My cookies came out really crispy, but I think because I cut the pieces too thin. Next time I'll cut them thicker because I like it kind of chewy in the middle. Definitely will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      These were reeeeally good! So lemony and light-tasting ... absolutely perfect to have with a cup of tea. I found the dough was very crumbly, and actually ended up adding another tsp of water to the dough ... I had trouble cutting it, but managed to form most of them into shapes *resembling* circles. Still quite elegant! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      I'm not going to put stars on this because I used green tea instead of Earl Grey tea because it was either using that or white tea or orange rooibas tea :-P I also substituted a bit of stevia instead of confectioners sugar. I thought they were unique but decent. My mom said she didn't think the tea did much for the cookies though. It just wouldn't be fair for me to give this stars because I didn't follow the recipe to a T. Thanks for posting though. I will try with Earl Grey when I get some :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      Fabulous recipe - very, very unique flavor. Made recipe exactly as directed. LOVED being able to put everything in the food processor (practically no cleanup). Dough was a little crumbly, but worked with it like pie crust (i.e., as little as possible) - they have the same melt-in-your mouth buttery flakiness after baking. Now if I could just stop eating them . . . . *sigh*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      I used whole wheat flour in this recipe, and the cookies turned out to be AMAZING! I served these at a tea party, and all of my guests seemed to really like them. This is an absolutely wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      I made this recipe but used less butter and sugar (about half the amount by ratio) and didn't have the vanilla, so added some extra tea and lemon and lime peel. With less sugar, these biscuits don't collapse and spread out as they cook, so you may have to roll out and cut from a thicker sausage, but the texture after cooking is similar to a digestive bisuit, but crisper and more melt in the mouth. If you like earl grey at all, these are lovely with a cup of it or atop some Mackies vanilla ice cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      I made some yesterday to take to a tea party and the cookies were delicious and well received by others at the tea party. I had to add a bit more water than the recipe called for to get the dough to come together, but other than that everything was fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      i tried to make just fraction of the recipe (because i was making a couple different types of cookies) but i think i must have measured wrong. The dough was extremely crumbly, to the point of not holding together at all, and i left them in the oven too long because they turned out much too crunchy. However, since the taste was PHENOMENAL, i believe any problems i had were my fault, and i won't rate the recipe until i make them again (which i plan to -- soon!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Earl Grey Tea Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (9 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 72

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 44.0
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    52%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 6.7 mg
    2%
    Sodium 16.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tea leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites