Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dutch-Style Beef and Cabbage (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dutch-Style Beef and Cabbage (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 23, 2010

      Good stuff! I had to make some changes: I deleted the salt, pepper and bouillon. I cut the cabbage in slices, not wedges. I used white vinegar instead of cider vinegar. I used bison instead of beef. It worked out well, but the bison was a bit dry, so next time, I'll reduce the cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Oh MY! This was soo delicious. I took the advice of a Zaar forum discussion on venison and used this recipe for the venison cube steak I had. I am not that big of a fan of venison in general, but this recipe made it AMAZING! A couple of things I did a little different other than using venison instead of beef: I fried the venison in bacon grease instead of vegetable oil; I added the cabbage to my crockpot about an hour before it was done and I wish I would have done it earlier. The cabbage wasn't as done as I would have liked it to be. It was really, really good, though! Thanks so much for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      This turned out pretty good. I did make a couple changes though, I substituted the water & bouillon granules for homemade (salt-free) beef broth. I used some of the other suggestions & added thyme & abit of red wine. I included chopped carrots & next time I'll try adding mushrooms also. I cooked this in an electric pressure cooker, the beef & cabbage were tender & melted in our mouth. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      What a great meal to have on a busy day! Love the hint of vinegar. I reduced the liquid mixture by quite a bit before pouring over the meat and onions. I also scraped the leftover flour mixture into the crock pot. I put the cabbage in right away in chunks-it did turn a brownish color but really had a lot to do today. Next time will add some large chunks of carrots-plenty of liquid and put some pepper on the cabbage. And there most definitely will be a next time. Served ours with mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      papergoddess, this was a great meal. It was pretty simple to make, too! I followed the recipe exactly except I poured the flour mix into a baggie, added the meat, threw the bag around for awhile to mix and then pounded the crud out of the beef strips to tenderize. :) The meat fell apart when I touched it with my fork, so the cabbage was extra helpful in holding the shreds of meat on my fork. As you suggested, I added the cabbage wedges to the crock pot (I did this about 2 hours before we were supposed to turn off the crock pot, but it cooked an extra hour). The cabbage was a perfect complement to the flavorful beef. This was an entire meal for us, and I will make it again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      This was very tender and very flavorful -- even though I didn't use the best cut of beef! I was pressed for time and did the "oven route" instead of the crock pot route (still tender!). I used beef broth instead of granules+water; I also added a splash of red wine. My husband was just drooling all over the place. We thought this was easy to make and delicious; we will be making it again and again. (And we think this is a good base recipe for a number of other beef recipes, too -- use mushrooms instead of cabbage and serve over egg noodles...YUM!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      Terrific! I, too, placed my cabbage wedges right in the crockpot. I used a cut up eye round roast. I added some thyme and a little brown sugar. The meat was so tender that you didn't need a knife to cut it. We'll have this again. Thanx for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      What a wonderful tasty and easy to make recipe. Unbelievable. We added the cabbage to the crockpot. The round steaks were cut into cubes, not thinnly sliced. It still came out great. Served over mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      TASTY....and easy! I threw in some baby carrots (they needed to be used) cut into quarters and increased all liquids by 50% as carrots tend to "suck them up". I placed the raw cabbage on top and drizzled them with a smidgen of butter to keep them moist and gave them a few grinds of fresh pepper. This fits perfectly into my lower carb lifestyle and will be repeated often. I am sorry it took me SO long to get around to try this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dutch-Style Beef and Cabbage (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (364 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 460.8
     
    Calories from Fat 208
    45%
    Total Fat 23.1 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 103.7 mg
    34%
    Sodium 712.5 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 11.3 g
    45%
    Protein 40.9 g
    81%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beef round steak

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes