10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this meal. I make mine with bratwurst medallions. This freezes okay and nukes okay too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
O-mama May 25, 2014

Mmmmmmm GOOD! Made this recipe tonight and was delighted with the result. Was initially concerned about chopping all those veggies and then boiling them....However, the results were indeed delicious. One must ensure that one chops the veggies so that each one is cooked by the 20 minute time noted (which was accurate)...other than that...it's pretty self explanatory. Hubby loved it too. The only change I made was to cut down the amount of turnip.....a whole one was a bit much.....didn't add the sweet potatoes but pretty much everything else was added to the mixture as was noted by Daydream. Serving size says '6' however, hubby had two 'big' helpings and I had two small helpings and there is still an enormous amount left over (which is great!) but for the two of us next time I'll half the recipe. Deserves a 5 star from ease of making the meal as well as nutritional value in the dish. Had some Mild Italian sausage alongside (not quite as healthy)...but still went well with the meal. Thanks so much for sharing Daydream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvadacook January 07, 2013

I have made this several times and it has become one of our Autumn favorites. My 5 and 7 year old sons love it! It's a great way to get some veggies into their diets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LZAK November 08, 2009

I will try this one very soon but i love to eat this kind of dishes with merguez You should try it it is really good merguez is a north Afrikan sausage

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OumAbdullah October 19, 2009

This is very good and easy. I had a Japanese pumpkin (Kabocha). I was not very good at draining the pot before smashing was my stamppot was a little runny, oh still delicious. I can taste the parsnip, carrots and turnip, each adding it's own flavor. Now I understand the wisdom of not totally mashing all of the ingredients together. I used chicken sausage because that's what we had in the house. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 March 16, 2009

Comfort food at it's best. Yummo !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NovaM December 03, 2006

Terrific veggie combo! I left out the potatoes and I cut way back on the butter. I also just used a little bit of sausage (just to give hint of the sausage flavor). I also followed another reviewers suggestion and threw in a few cloves of garlic. This was perfect addition to a cozy comforting meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee October 08, 2006

Oh my goodness!!! How have I missed this one!! We sure had our veggies tonight and what flavour!!The combination of veggies is perfect and strangely enough you can pick out the flavour of each one. I just make half a recipe and it was huge!! The whole recipe would be wonderful for a crowd. The two of us barely got through half of half a recipe! I used Spanish chorizo, which was deliciously hot , but the veggies cooled it down some, all together it really was lushious comfort food!! I did add one clove of garlic smashed and about half of half of the butter, also fried the chorizo in veggie spray instead of butter. This was sooo good I can hardly wait to have leftovers tomorrow. Will definately be making this one again, thanks for posting and I am so glad I found you for the PAC game!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf October 04, 2006
Dutch Stamppot With Rookworst