13 Reviews

to Andypandy: the texture should be hard, like little rocks. Dutch translation: peppernuts. This recipe is excellent. Very spicy, so it burns the tongue a little. I think they taste better than the ones we purchased from The Netherlands. I used my coffee grinder to grind anise seed, and it worked well. I also added a teaspoon of chinese five spice powder. Addictive!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peggy15754 December 25, 2009

the spices are perfect in this recipe as is. I baked them in tiny balls 12 minutes came out hard bottoms and chewy top, a little longer baked came out hard rocks, so they must be tea dunkers. I wish I knew what the finished texture should be chewy or rock hard. Did give them a five star as easy and simple, and taste is great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andypandy December 07, 2009

These are absolutely wonderful! DH took half the batch for his class and dept and it was enjoyed by all! The only thing was the mixture was a bit dry for me with just 1 tbsp of milk and so I'd to add a little extra. And I think I shaped the balls a bit too small since I got over 100 cookies but that meant more to share! So the only tedious bit for me was shaping. Thank you, Kiwidutch, for sharing this wonderful recipe, definitely will be making it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaliyah's&Aaron'sMum May 11, 2008

Love the taste. I followed the instructions that said make TINY balls so I used a 1/2 teaspoon and packed the crumbly dough into it. Baked for 10 minutes and they were, indeed, like little 'ginger nuts' - much smaller than the photos here would indicate and all crunchy. Made a great snack for nibbling during our bridge game. Make about 120.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carole July 24, 2016

Really really love these small biscuits from my childhood and had a go using this recipe. i found on my first attempt the dough was much much too wet, meaning when baked in the oven the fat spread out along with the sugar meaning the outsides were thin and hard. I then had another go and used almost 2 cups of flour and no milk. I would advise you add the flour in bit by bit. don't be temped to add liquid or more butter as it will not need it. i also dusted them after shaping in flour and heavily floured the baking tray to soak up any melted butter that might come out of the mixture. <br/><br/>To the comment of texture, they should be very hard - like ginger snaps. they should be cracked on the top. i'd take them out about 3 mins after they've cracked. and leave them on a cooling tray until fully hardened. <br/><br/>Thank you for putting the recipe up as i didn't have one!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dutch-British-Jude January 04, 2014

This recipe makes sooo many cookies! And they're delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrienda December 09, 2012

I have made these several times. It pays to make them as uniform in size as possible as they will bake more evenly. I have been told that they should not be baked until they are hard. The bottoms should be hard but the tops only chewy. They will become rock hard in any case after a couple of days. I substitute kirsch for the milk. A Dutch co-worker says that they should be made with a coarse flour so that they come out grainy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DovidM April 12, 2012

I have fond memories of my Beppe giving these to me when we use to visit her. This recipe is wonderful, the taste amazing and my dad said as good as in Holland! My only complaint is I found it very dry so had to use 3 TBSP of milk to be able to make a dough. I also put it in the fridge to cool it so that it was easier to cut out the little quarter shape size. Note they are to be baked hard, like a nut (as the name implies). Overall a great recipe which was a real crowd pleaser at this years Sinterklaas gathering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dutch Masala December 12, 2010

Awesome Dutch recipe. Since I was out of Anise/seed, I used Chinese five spice, and they came out great. I also cut the cooking time a little short and went up to 330F and stopped at 9min of cooking in my gas oven. The crisp cookie outside is great (top and bottom), and the center is done, moist and wonderfully chewy. Will be making more of these when the need strikes me. Five stars. Make sure to use the cloves, it really makes these cookies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camstone December 05, 2010

These were divine. I loved the gingery spicy flavour (didn't have any aniseed though so just added mixed spice instead) and like Rainforest I found them addictive. My boss had two and got excited because they were like "what he had at Christmas when he was a kid" (he's of Dutch descent) so I take that as a compliment. I didn't squash them, they just naturally went a bit flattish. Thanks Andria for posting, this has gone on the list of things I'm going to be making for my Christmas hampers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilKiwiChicken November 08, 2008
Dutch Pepernoten