Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dutch Cucumber Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dutch Cucumber Salad

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2001

      Delicious. For a variation, I used two English cucumbers instead of 3 regular cucumbers, and seasoned rice vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2001

      I added sliced sweet onions and relived a dish from my grandmother's table. Truly wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2002

      Very refreshing, though I just might tone down the sugar a tad next time. Great on sandwiches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2001

      My Mom always made this and I love it. She added a little onion and olive oil.I make it often when we have a lot of cucumbers in the garden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2001

      Absolutely wonderful! Made it last night to serve with dinner tonight and my MIL was thrilled; said she hadn't had it in years. I too used an English cucumber and rice vinegar. This is about the easiest side dish you can serve! Next time I will definitely add onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2001

      I loved these cucumbers! I ate a dish similar to this at a Korean restaurant. The dish is very versatile and will go with anything. I can see why so many people enjoy it! They have a unique sweet and sour tang.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2001

      I always include onions! I also usually add some dill--fresh or dried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2001

      I grew up with this side dish and serve it often. It is very Danish too

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      Read these reviews every year or so. I learned something. I can use splenda, since I am now diabetic, taste the same. No fancy slicer for me, cheap as dirt one from the grocery store rack. Just slice thin that's the trick. Sam's club gets those large three to the bag from Canada. Excelent. My family makes this salad half dozen times a year. Chistmas and New Years always. Thanks for loving my Moms recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      I've tried other variations of this dish and liked them a lot, so I was curious about this version as well. But the problem I had with this recipe was that the recipe itself was very confusing. Do I add 2 or 3 large cucumbers, 8 or 10 ounces of vinegar, 2 or 5 tbs sugar, and 1 or 2 onions? What kind of onions? Using this recipe was like trying to hit the bulls eye on a dart board, and I would have preferred more specific direction. Otherwise, based on 8 ounces (the smaller suggestion), I found the amount of vinegar to be overwhelming, and the lack of spices left this recipe without the flavor that others enjoy. Not a terrible recipe, but not good either.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      YAY!My Dad used to make this when I was little - my FAVORITE treat in the summer!He was from Amsterdam and going to Oma's house was filled with great food like this!Now, I have to substitute sugar with Splenda(diabetic), but it doesn't affect the taste one bit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      I already knew about this one, but forgot the ratio. (1 cup vinegar to 3 tbsps sugar) I also let it sit overnight and added a little salt, fresh ground pepper, and tomatoes. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      made this for our granddaughter's b'day cook out. Everyone raved. The most original dish for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      This was great. Very easy to adjust acidity and sweetness levels. Used red onions. Added approx. 3 tbsp sugar to approx. 1 cup vinegar and was still quite tart. Let this sit overnight. Served with Baked Ham and Cheese Sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      I doubled this recipe and brought it to a picnic of 40+ friends. It was gone in a matter of minutes. I used red onion and it looked teriffic mixed with the cukes. I marinated it for 2 days but next time would only go 1 day, the cukes would look firmer and fresher. GREAT RECIPE AND GREAT EATS !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Fabulous! Just like my dutch mother used to make! This one's a keeper for sure. And I don't think this is a "specific" kind of recipe. This is a few of this and a little of that...to taste. I used fresh cukes out of the garden, a sliced vidalia, poured about 3-5 tbs. of sugar on top, and poured about a cup of vinegar all over and shebang...there it was! Thank you for sharing! LA :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      This was a wonderful, quick and easy recipe for summer. It also reminded me of the way my grandmother used to fix cucmbers when I was a kid (yes, she was Dutch!) I plan to make this often. Thanks, Gerry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      This was very easy to make. I used equal and rice wine vinegar. This is a nice refreshing side dish. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      Simple, refreshing and just what I was looking for. A few notes: you can also use brown rice vinegar, white wine vinegar or lemon juice. I used a combination of the 3, as I didn't have enough of any one of them. Also used 2 packets of Splenda instead of sugar. Half a medium-large onion was PLENTY. I'd say 1-2 SMALL onions. Worked very nicely with English cucumber as someone noted below.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      This is the same way my family makes this. It's one of our favorite cold side dishes and so easy! Definitely better the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dutch Cucumber Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (98 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 41.3
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    17%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes