40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious. For a variation, I used two English cucumbers instead of 3 regular cucumbers, and seasoned rice vinegar.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burnice October 24, 2001

I added sliced sweet onions and relived a dish from my grandmother's table. Truly wonderful!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madaline austin June 16, 2001

Very refreshing, though I just might tone down the sugar a tad next time. Great on sandwiches!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu February 06, 2002

My Mom always made this and I love it. She added a little onion and olive oil.I make it often when we have a lot of cucumbers in the garden.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maria G November 12, 2001

Absolutely wonderful! Made it last night to serve with dinner tonight and my MIL was thrilled; said she hadn't had it in years. I too used an English cucumber and rice vinegar. This is about the easiest side dish you can serve! Next time I will definitely add onion.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie November 08, 2001

I loved these cucumbers! I ate a dish similar to this at a Korean restaurant. The dish is very versatile and will go with anything. I can see why so many people enjoy it! They have a unique sweet and sour tang.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn November 05, 2001

I always include onions! I also usually add some dill--fresh or dried.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dennis August 23, 2001

I grew up with this side dish and serve it often. It is very Danish too

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy August 01, 2001

Read these reviews every year or so. I learned something. I can use splenda, since I am now diabetic, taste the same. No fancy slicer for me, cheap as dirt one from the grocery store rack. Just slice thin that's the trick. Sam's club gets those large three to the bag from Canada. Excelent. My family makes this salad half dozen times a year. Chistmas and New Years always. Thanks for loving my Moms recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bartje August 14, 2010

I've tried other variations of this dish and liked them a lot, so I was curious about this version as well. But the problem I had with this recipe was that the recipe itself was very confusing. Do I add 2 or 3 large cucumbers, 8 or 10 ounces of vinegar, 2 or 5 tbs sugar, and 1 or 2 onions? What kind of onions? Using this recipe was like trying to hit the bulls eye on a dart board, and I would have preferred more specific direction. Otherwise, based on 8 ounces (the smaller suggestion), I found the amount of vinegar to be overwhelming, and the lack of spices left this recipe without the flavor that others enjoy. Not a terrible recipe, but not good either.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poppa June 29, 2008
Dutch Cucumber Salad