63 Reviews

This is my husbands new favorite breakfast, unbelievably good and easy. As delicious as this was with only maple syrup, I can imagine indulging with pastry cream and fresh fruit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackieliz December 16, 2013

Used my Pyrex pie plate and glad I did, because the tin pie plate I had in the cupboard would have been too small. Per other reviews I decided to do 425 degrees the first 15 minutes then 350 degrees the last 8-10 minutes. It worked out perfectly. I also tweaked the batter per other reviews by adding a dash of salt, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, and cutting down the butter to about 2 teaspoons (I eyed all of it). Made powdered sugar by simply putting some white cane sugar and tapioca starch into a mini food preocessor for about 3 minutes. Not exactly what I had in mind but this is a keeper! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyx May 22, 2010

This is one of my family's favorite breakfasts and it's made at least twice a month. I consider it one my frugal meals since it stretches the milk, eggs & flour much further than they would go on their own for six people but I also don't use the entire amount of butter called for (that much butter is certainly NOT frugal :D ). It doubles quite easily and I plan on trying it tripled next time I make it. I do have to cook it longer but I just keep an eye on it to gauge when it's done; I don't feel it's too much longer however. I always use my large cast iron skillet, preheated. Watch it closely or your butter will burn and smoke. The butter isn't just for easy removal; it's adds to the texture as well as the taste so it's a good idea to NOT ditch the entire amount of butter. However, as I already the said, that amount of butter isn't required (in my well seasoned cast iron skillet; you'll have to experiment with your own pans to find the right ratio for yourself). I have also successfully subbed coconut oil. Salt is a very much needed addition and I usually add about 1/4 tsp. We also always often add cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, etc. or even Chinese five spice and chai spice blends. It's all yummy. We have served this with syrup, jam spread on top, fresh fruit sprinkled over the top, etc. My favorite way is to mash fresh raspberries and spread it thickly over my portion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amis July 27, 2014

I tend to serve some breakfasts in individual Corning Ware style serving dishes. This divided fairly evenly into 3- 8 ounce "boats." I did the 425 for 13 minutes and finished it off 350 for the remaining 7 minutes. I need to work on the presentation of my fruit. I lost household power at just the right time as these were finishing. This is my first time at attempting a recipe of this type.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
remnjava_2302607 August 06, 2013

I used my cast iron and it popped right out. This is a little sweet, so served with tart berries was great. I made a quick compote of marionberries and blueberries to top it. I baked at 425 for 20 minutes, perfect. This was light. Will be making this again, but for dessert instead of breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
razzintaz January 04, 2013

What can I do to this, I like it. But I think, Yes!! I think this dish has a lot of potential, and I'm sure I'll will be make it again. Before attempting this again, I'll have to figure out what seasonings to use, by reading all of the review, and see that will work for others, and than for me, to make it more flavorful or lot better for me to do! Anyway, excellent to do a SCRATCH on recipes. The more I play with my food, the more I love cooking, to make a recipe that will work for me, that is!! Than I can do the happy food dance!! I've will added this to my recipe book with my additions. THANK YOU!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA July 15, 2012

i only used 1 table spoon of butter and cooked it at 425 degrees for about 14 minutes then lowered it 350 for about 9 min. i would not recommend cooking it at 450 for 20 min the first one i made at this temp got really burnt on top and the bottom was very thin. so please listen to everyone here who is saying to cook it at 425 for 15 min. the second one i made came out just like the ones at the original pancake house. so no more going there for dutch babys. i found a more inexpensive way to enjoy one of my favorite breakfast meals. and do put in a pinch of salt

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diz372004 April 21, 2012

It's like french bread without the bread. I love it! I took the salt and temperature suggestions from others and used regular all purpose flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommie January 05, 2011

lowered the oven temp as recommended and added the pinch of salt. It does need it! I only used about 1 tsp of butter and it was fine.Fresh fruit on top really makes this custardy breakfast so yummy. I've made it twice for the kids this week already. So easy and so impressive!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinaCucina July 21, 2010

I think the pastry needed a little extra something--maybe some salt? It seemed a little bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TAHINAZ May 08, 2010
Dutch Baby