Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dutch Apple Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dutch Apple Pie

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2003

      I made this pie yesterday around 5. It is now noon, and the pie is gone, need I say more? I used a little bit more apple than was called for the increase the fruity taste of it, and cut back the margerine to 4 T.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2003

      I love this pie! It actually caused me to wake up early on Sunday morning so that I could have a piece for breakfast. :) The only thing that went wrong is that I didn't watch it toward the end and the edges of the crust got kind of burnt. That's my fault though so I'm still going to give it 5 stars. Next time I'll put a little foil around the edges and that should keep it from getting too brown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      This is real easy to make and tastes great, and I'm a rookie baker. I almost screwed up on step number 5, read that as 1/3 tbs flour, Salt, AND Cinnamon. Thought, wow that's a lot of salt. :) Thankfully I tasted the mix before proceeding (mouth really puckered up). So be careful there (1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2004

      This was the perfect pie to make with my farmer's market apples! Not only was this pie easy to make but it tastes wonderful too. I love the graham cracker crust/apple cinnamon/crunchy topping combination. I made my own graham cracker crust which I baked for 5 minutes (I wasn't sure what was meant by prepared crust - baked or not?). The only adjustment I made to the recipe was to use 1 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon (my house loves cinnamon). I used 6 rounded cups of apples which amply filled the graham cracker crust. I wouldn't cut down on the crumb topping which was mentioned in another review as it was luscious and buttery (the kids favorite part). I didn't have a significant amount of bubbly filling but took the pie out when the topping was golden brown (about 50 minutes). This is not the prettiest pie I've ever made but one of the best. This pie is best eaten the first two days as mentioned above but we enjoyed it several days later when the crust/topping was no longer crunchy (just heat it). Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2004

      I made this pie for christams and it was a HIT! It was practically gone by the end of the day... only a sliver was saved for meeh...next time I will make two on huge gatherings!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      My family really enjoyed this pie. I think next time I'll cut back a bit on the crumb topping just because with the graham cracker crust it's very sweet. I was worried with the mound of apples it would cook all over the place but it worked just fine. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2003

      Absolutely amazing! My partner took some to work with him and had his coworkers drooling in the lunchroom. I've had to print out a copy of the recipe for them too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      Just what I was looking for. If you like Marie Calendar Dutch Apple Pie...this is better yet!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      Everyone loved this. I was skeptical of the graham cracker crust, but what a difference it made! The changes I incorporated to the recipe were 1) a homemade crust - after baking and cooling, brushed with Karo light corn syrup to bind. 2) Used Saigon Cinnamon - you'd have to use twice as much regular cinnamon for the kick, and have to deal with the metallic aftertaste. 3) Added about 2 tsp. of lemon juice to the cinnamon/flour mixture, because the apples just weren't sticking. I also kind of cheated by using a Salad Masters pie tin that was a gift from my mother, which caramelized the butter and sugar in the crust into a crazy nut-like flavor. I'll never have to worry about what to take to a work pot-luck again... super easy and no unwanted leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      I'm not an expert at making pies, so I was pretty skeptical. But the pie turned out AWESOME. I had to have seconds! The only change I made was to use all white sugar in the filling and all brown sugar in the topping, plus I added some oatmeal to the topping. Superb!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      I took this to Christmas dinner (along with a can of whipped cream) and it was a huge hit. I made it Christmas morning and it really can't be beaten for baking ease on a day when so many other things are going on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      This recipe is fantasic for the holidays! DOn't forget the vanilla icecream when you serve it. That delicious crust is wonderful with the icecream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2003

      Thanks Marc Peters. I have corrected step #5 so that it is easier to understand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dutch Apple Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (168 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 386.6
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    27%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 20.7 mg
    6%
    Sodium 293.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.7 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 46.2 g
    185%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes