260 Reviews

This pie is delicious! I used a little less sugar than called for and it was perfect for us. Absolutely loved the topping. Made this with the no roll pie crust (51537) and worked wonderfully. Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu March 15, 2012

Have made this twice. Family and friends state it is the best pie they have ever eaten! I use my own recipe for pie crust, so it takes a little more time, but worth the trouble. I used Braeburn apples. You have to try this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Osi's Mimi January 29, 2012

The best apple pie I have made! This is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mccoyc January 06, 2012

I made this pie for New Years in my new Paula Dean Pie Bakeware! It was simple, easy, and fast! I was told to make desert last minute and grabbed a frozen pie crust (pack with 2). I thawed the frozen pie crust, took them out of the aluminum pie pan and kneeded them together. I then threw some flour on a cutting board and rolling pin and rolled it out into a circle to fit my little over 9' Paula Dean Pie Dish. Once i completed my pie the finished product looked like i had spent hours handmaking every piece of the pie. Doesnt seem like much but a fancy baking ceramic pan can really dress it up and impress all your guest! I served with some Dryers Vanilla Bean Ice Cream and everyone was hounding me for the recipe! I hope you all try this amazing sweet treat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juicy-Lucy25 January 04, 2012

great recipe...my husband and his family loved it!!!! best dutch apple I have had in a long time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tistina November 30, 2011

Wonderful!!! My 12 year old daughter made this pie for Thanksgiving and it received rave reviews. We did not modify the recipe at all - it was perfect. Simple, delicious, and all natural. We loved it! This is now a family recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fmdps November 25, 2011

DELICIOUS!! This is the first time i have ever made a homemade apple pie and I have to say that I will never buy a frozen pie again!! I used granny smith apples and the easy pie crust recipe and it turned out sooooo yummy. Thanks joy1996 for the wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rhadondaq November 22, 2011

Awesome Pie! For those who complain about the sweetness you need to know what type of apples are best for baking. Granny Smith apples are firm and tart so in this recipe they will work fine with the amount of sugar listed. Coutland, Braeburn, Honeycrisps & Jonathan's are few of the other preferred baking apples. No complaints at all regarding this recipe...It is a winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef OG November 03, 2011

This is the best pie of any kind I have ever made. My husband agrees. I love the crumbly topping and the flavors on the inside. I am not crazy about pie crust, so I love how it is a hybrid apple crisp/apple pie. I did make the recipe as is with Macintosh apples, will probably decrease the sugar next time. I am never making regular pie again. No need for me to try any other recipe...this one is it for me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MSMLNP October 22, 2011

Very easy recipi to follow and serves up a wonderful pie. This was my first ever pie to bake and I am 59 year old retired Letter Carrier and Guardsman. Thank you for sharing. Now I have to pick more apples.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larry and Nancy October 20, 2011
Dutch Apple Pie