257 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made no changes to this recipe and it was great. Very easy. Loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
callib November 19, 2012

This was super easy to make and a HUGE hit with my boyfriend and friends. Definitely will turn to this recipe again in the future!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristine at Food.com November 01, 2012

Five stars without a doubt! Best pie I have ever made. I doubled the cinnamon and added a tiny bit extra fresh squeezed lemon juice rather than let it go to waste. I used Stayman apples which are pretty tart, so we found the sweetness to be exactly right.

What I love about this recipe is I let it cool about two hours prior to serving and it firmed up perfectly. The cut pieces held their shape perfectly. The remaining pie in the dish did not leak all over. This pie is a show stopper. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjhoth October 11, 2012

Guess I'll add my 5 stars to this recipe like everyone else. The only change I made was to add a pinch of salt to both the filling and the topping. Came out fantastic! The only improvement I can think of would be to somehow reduce the unappealing floury thickness of the filling once it's thoroughly cooled down. I wonder if using cornstarch instead of flour would work.......?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody2shz October 11, 2012

This pie deserves a 1st Place Blue Ribbon! I have made many apple pies and I just thought, ehhh... I guess I'm just not an apple pie person. Well, let me tell you this pie is perfect. I made a homemade pie crust (which I feel does make a difference so I go to the extra effort everytime) and when this pie came out of the oven it looked not only beautiful but the whole house smelled heavenly. I used a whole bag of Granny Smith Apples knowing they cook down. I followed the directions exactly as written. The topping is so delicious. Not too crunchy and just perfect for this pie filling. Thank you for this gem of a recipe! Getting ready to make this again for the second time. Of course, I serve this ala mode! Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefRD July 26, 2012

Made this per the recipe. Better results than a two-crust pie and it was delicious. I will use this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
galponetta May 06, 2012

The yummiest, most perfect apple pie ever, and it looked amazing when it was cooked!! Thanks so much for sharing it!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candypawz April 03, 2012

This is wonderful! I used Jazz apples since Honey Crisp apples were not available. It was delicious and will be making this again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Cardin March 27, 2012

Omg, this was the first pie I have ever made. It came out wonderful and was easy to make. Dutch apple is one of my boyfriends favorites. He loved it. I personallly never cared for any fruit pie, but it was delicious! I will definitly make this again and again! THANKS

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nadascookin March 19, 2012

This pie is delicious! I used a little less sugar than called for and it was perfect for us. Absolutely loved the topping. Made this with the no roll pie crust (51537) and worked wonderfully. Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu March 15, 2012
Dutch Apple Pie