272 Reviews

My husband is one who INSISTS on having vanilla ice cream with apple pie, but after one bite of this he REFUSED! He said it was

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeralynnHall June 25, 2013

Very tasty pie. everyone raved-- even the people who stole bites from others' slices. Only comment is that it's slightly a bit sweet..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie Rodriquez December 25, 2012

This pie was GREAT! I used a mix of granny smith and royal gala apples and it turned out SOOO yummy! Thanks for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mela_vance December 24, 2012

This is one delicious and easy apple pie! I used Granny Smith apples. The pie was PERFECT. Loved it so much that I made a second, and it was also perfect! I then made two for friends, and they loved them. Not too wet, not too dry, just delicious. The topping is so tasty. I also used thee "My No Roll Pie Crust" (My No Roll Pie Crust) that was suggested by another reviewer - which makes a PERFECT crust. I love this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NancyMG November 19, 2012

I made no changes to this recipe and it was great. Very easy. Loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
callib November 19, 2012

This was super easy to make and a HUGE hit with my boyfriend and friends. Definitely will turn to this recipe again in the future!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristine at Food.com November 01, 2012

Five stars without a doubt! Best pie I have ever made. I doubled the cinnamon and added a tiny bit extra fresh squeezed lemon juice rather than let it go to waste. I used Stayman apples which are pretty tart, so we found the sweetness to be exactly right.

What I love about this recipe is I let it cool about two hours prior to serving and it firmed up perfectly. The cut pieces held their shape perfectly. The remaining pie in the dish did not leak all over. This pie is a show stopper. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjhoth October 11, 2012

Guess I'll add my 5 stars to this recipe like everyone else. The only change I made was to add a pinch of salt to both the filling and the topping. Came out fantastic! The only improvement I can think of would be to somehow reduce the unappealing floury thickness of the filling once it's thoroughly cooled down. I wonder if using cornstarch instead of flour would work.......?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody2shz October 11, 2012

This pie deserves a 1st Place Blue Ribbon! I have made many apple pies and I just thought, ehhh... I guess I'm just not an apple pie person. Well, let me tell you this pie is perfect. I made a homemade pie crust (which I feel does make a difference so I go to the extra effort everytime) and when this pie came out of the oven it looked not only beautiful but the whole house smelled heavenly. I used a whole bag of Granny Smith Apples knowing they cook down. I followed the directions exactly as written. The topping is so delicious. Not too crunchy and just perfect for this pie filling. Thank you for this gem of a recipe! Getting ready to make this again for the second time. Of course, I serve this ala mode! Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefRD July 26, 2012

Made this per the recipe. Better results than a two-crust pie and it was delicious. I will use this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
galponetta May 06, 2012
Dutch Apple Pie