Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dutch Apple Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dutch Apple Pie

    Average Rating:

    245 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 245

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2009

      This was by far the best apple pie I've made! I've never had any luck in the past with them; either the crust didn't cook or the apples were too crispy or the whole pie was just too "watery". This one came out perfect. And for my husband to tell me that then it must be! He's not one to mix words when I ask his opinion on dishes!! I will definitely recommend this to all my friends and family. The only changes I made to this recipe was that I used 5 large apples (which was actually around 6-7 cups) and I used 1 teaspoon Cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg. Other than that everything was the same. Great recipe and well worth the time to make!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      Absolutely the best apple pie I have ever made. It won a prize in our church's bake-off. Thank you so much for sharing it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2003

      My family just loved this pie. I only used it because I only had one pie shell left but now I have to make it all the time. I wouldn't change a thing in it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2003

      EXCELLENT! I just baked this as a 'trial' for T'giving and we LOVED it. Like the others who commented, I also used Granny Smiths -- tart/sweet, but not too much of either. The topping was generous and came out crunchy. Cook time was perfectly spot-on for my oven. THANKS for sharing this great recipe, Joy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2003

      Very tasty, with lots of crumb topping which is always a plus!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      Great tasting pie! I didn't change a thing when I made this using Granny Smith apples! I baked it for the time directed and the apples were just perfect.. not soggy or overly sweet! Thanks for sharing this great recipe Joy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2002

      Very easy and delicious. Would use again, preferred to double crusted pie. Made for 90 year old father-in-law, he requested another!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2002

      Just a great pie! Wouldn't change a thing! BF thought it was a perfect dutch apple pie! Used Granny Smith apples -- the tartness was just perf!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2014

      My boyfriend, a reluctant baker, made this with Gravenstein and Cortland apples and it tastes AMAZING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2014

      This was an awesome Recipe. This was my first time making a pie from scratch. I even made my own crust, that turned out pretty awesome too. I used a little too much margarine, by mistake, so my topping was more of a delicious shell, then a delicious crumble, however all and all this Pie was AMAZING! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2014

      Exceptional! My family loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2014

      Awesome Gluten Free recipe! I used Glutino boxed crust and King Arthur Gluten Free Flour. It turned out awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      This is definitely a keeper for your cookbook. I also used the Fuji/granny apple combo and loved it. I also drizzled a little grenadine over the apples before adding them to the pie. Plus it was so easy and is great topped with either whipped cream or cheddar cheese. Gotta try!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2014

      I MUST have done something wrong here, and I think I may know just what it was. I used all granny smith apples that must have been waaaay too tart. They were too tart B4 baking, and I thought the sugar would sweeten up the apples up a bit, but not enough. I am not a huge fan of apple pie, but if it's a good one, I will have a slice or two. Not so sure I would try to make this again. I must admit, I think this was a personal error and no reflection on the recipe itself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      This pie tastes awesome but waaay too runny. Maybe more flour will fix that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      I had to alter amounts to fit my 12

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      My Father was a pastry chef for 20 years and always made pies for the holidays and my favorite was dutch apple. He would always make an extra Dutch Apple just for me. He passed away on Feb 8, 1993. I hadn't had a Dutch Apple pie since then. I made this pie and it brought back memories of the pies my Dad made. The pie was awsome! I used the Most Incredible No Fail Pie Crust recipe from this site. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      Good stuff! Have been making a variety of apple pies this year and this was the better of the 2 "dutch" ones I made. Simple to make and simply delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      I used this recipe twice. The first time I made mini apple pies (in a cupcake tin - 12 cupcakes) with Empire apples. The second time I made a regular pie (9.5") with half Empire and half Jonagold. The Empire were a bit softer and the Jonagold maintained more of the firmness. For each version I reduced the granulated sugar in the filling by 1/4 cup and upped the cinnamon to 1 tsp. For the regular pie, I exchanged 1/4 cup flour for rolled oats and added some cinnamon in the topping. Both renditions turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      WONDERFUL and very delicious! Tastes very elegant with a very simple recipe. Used as part of our homeschool home economics class for boys; they all insisted this is the ONLY pie recipe worth using for any occasion!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dutch Apple Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 405.5
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    34%
    Total Fat 15.4 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 189.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.8 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 41.1 g
    164%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites