Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dutch Apple Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dutch Apple Pie

    Average Rating:

    241 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 241

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2012

      Five stars without a doubt! Best pie I have ever made. I doubled the cinnamon and added a tiny bit extra fresh squeezed lemon juice rather than let it go to waste. I used Stayman apples which are pretty tart, so we found the sweetness to be exactly right.

      What I love about this recipe is I let it cool about two hours prior to serving and it firmed up perfectly. The cut pieces held their shape perfectly. The remaining pie in the dish did not leak all over. This pie is a show stopper. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      Guess I'll add my 5 stars to this recipe like everyone else. The only change I made was to add a pinch of salt to both the filling and the topping. Came out fantastic! The only improvement I can think of would be to somehow reduce the unappealing floury thickness of the filling once it's thoroughly cooled down. I wonder if using cornstarch instead of flour would work.......?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      This pie deserves a 1st Place Blue Ribbon! I have made many apple pies and I just thought, ehhh... I guess I'm just not an apple pie person. Well, let me tell you this pie is perfect. I made a homemade pie crust (which I feel does make a difference so I go to the extra effort everytime) and when this pie came out of the oven it looked not only beautiful but the whole house smelled heavenly. I used a whole bag of Granny Smith Apples knowing they cook down. I followed the directions exactly as written. The topping is so delicious. Not too crunchy and just perfect for this pie filling. Thank you for this gem of a recipe! Getting ready to make this again for the second time. Of course, I serve this ala mode! Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      Made this per the recipe. Better results than a two-crust pie and it was delicious. I will use this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      The yummiest, most perfect apple pie ever, and it looked amazing when it was cooked!! Thanks so much for sharing it!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      This is wonderful! I used Jazz apples since Honey Crisp apples were not available. It was delicious and will be making this again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      Omg, this was the first pie I have ever made. It came out wonderful and was easy to make. Dutch apple is one of my boyfriends favorites. He loved it. I personallly never cared for any fruit pie, but it was delicious! I will definitly make this again and again! THANKS

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      This pie is delicious! I used a little less sugar than called for and it was perfect for us. Absolutely loved the topping. Made this with the no roll pie crust (51537) and worked wonderfully. Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      Have made this twice. Family and friends state it is the best pie they have ever eaten! I use my own recipe for pie crust, so it takes a little more time, but worth the trouble. I used Braeburn apples. You have to try this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      The best apple pie I have made! This is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      I made this pie for New Years in my new Paula Dean Pie Bakeware! It was simple, easy, and fast! I was told to make desert last minute and grabbed a frozen pie crust (pack with 2). I thawed the frozen pie crust, took them out of the aluminum pie pan and kneeded them together. I then threw some flour on a cutting board and rolling pin and rolled it out into a circle to fit my little over 9' Paula Dean Pie Dish. Once i completed my pie the finished product looked like i had spent hours handmaking every piece of the pie. Doesnt seem like much but a fancy baking ceramic pan can really dress it up and impress all your guest! I served with some Dryers Vanilla Bean Ice Cream and everyone was hounding me for the recipe! I hope you all try this amazing sweet treat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      great recipe...my husband and his family loved it!!!! best dutch apple I have had in a long time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      Wonderful!!! My 12 year old daughter made this pie for Thanksgiving and it received rave reviews. We did not modify the recipe at all - it was perfect. Simple, delicious, and all natural. We loved it! This is now a family recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      DELICIOUS!! This is the first time i have ever made a homemade apple pie and I have to say that I will never buy a frozen pie again!! I used granny smith apples and the easy pie crust recipe and it turned out sooooo yummy. Thanks joy1996 for the wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      Awesome Pie! For those who complain about the sweetness you need to know what type of apples are best for baking. Granny Smith apples are firm and tart so in this recipe they will work fine with the amount of sugar listed. Coutland, Braeburn, Honeycrisps & Jonathan's are few of the other preferred baking apples. No complaints at all regarding this recipe...It is a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      This is the best pie of any kind I have ever made. My husband agrees. I love the crumbly topping and the flavors on the inside. I am not crazy about pie crust, so I love how it is a hybrid apple crisp/apple pie. I did make the recipe as is with Macintosh apples, will probably decrease the sugar next time. I am never making regular pie again. No need for me to try any other recipe...this one is it for me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      Very easy recipi to follow and serves up a wonderful pie. This was my first ever pie to bake and I am 59 year old retired Letter Carrier and Guardsman. Thank you for sharing. Now I have to pick more apples.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      This is truly the best Dutch Apple Pie I've ever had. I followed the recipe exactly and it was amazing. I used a 9 inch frozen crust and when I started piling in the sliced apples, I thought there was going to be too much filing. I made a peek with them and covered that with the topping. It baked down and all of the apples were perfect. I did go an extra 5 minutes on the time, just to be safe because I had a really bad experience once with a not fully cooked apple pie. I'll be making this again, for sure. I might even leave the bottom crust out, the topping was my favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      Great pie! Like some other reviewers, I cut down on the sugar in the filling: 1/4 cup bown sugar and 2 tbls granulated sugar was just right for us, plus some extra cinnamon! I also used more apples the second time I made this as they did cook down quite a bit (I think this might depend on the variety of apple used?). Really good with vanilla sauce or ice cream - there will be a third time too! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      Been married 42-1/2 years and have made MANY apple pies. My husband said this is his all-time favorite. I served it to guests here from China who attended their daughter's wedding in my best friend's backyard. They told us that this recipe could truly be served in a 5-star hotel in China! They were amazed and couldn't stop telling us how wonderful it was. They had never tasted anything like it! It's truly a KEEPER and I will now only make this version. No changes were made to the recipe. It's outstandingly easy to prepare. I used thinly sliced Granny Smith apples so that they would "cook down" and not be crunchy.
      !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dutch Apple Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 405.5
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    34%
    Total Fat 15.4 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 189.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.8 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 41.1 g
    164%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites