270 Reviews

this pie is the bomb...I used 8 cups of apples (cortland and granny smith) and added nuts(walnuts and macademia) to crumb topping..Most requested pie I have every made

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eileen2109 November 21, 2012

Used this as my very first homemade apple pie recipe. Amazing and simple. I had no lemon juice so I subbed the same amount of white vinegar and it made no difference in taste or presentation. Thank you for sharing, I have an apple pie recipe now.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma21 November 23, 2011

Easy as Pie! This is a very simple pie. I don't think the sugar content is too high. That might be because I use Granny Smith Apples which are pretty tart and require a bit more sugar to balance them out. I've also made this as mini pies using a muffin pan. Very good. No complaints at all.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HocoRuco October 18, 2011

Wow, I have to add my accolades! I find many desserts too sweet but I used all the suggested sugars in this one and it turned out perfectly with the tart Granny Smiths.

I know every oven is different; I baked it for 60 minutes and was surprised that I tenting - to avoid excessive browning - was unnecessary.

I usually make the regular 2 pie crust apple pies but this is so much better! I love how the topping crust sinks down right onto the apples so there is no gap between the apples and the top crust in the finished product.

Dreamsicle, that pie crust recipe is insane! I usually use a Good Housekeeping recipe that is pretty easy but still much more work that yours. I figured what do I have to lose, and tried your recipe and it was wonderful. Nice, rich flaky but tender crust that browned up nicely and held up to the pie juices. Thx a mint for the awesome suggestion too!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klam_chowder January 23, 2011

I made the pie for Thanksgiving 2010. The flavor was outstanding. I used freshly grated cinnamon and nutmeg. Makes all the difference when you can use freshly ground spices. I also left the peeling on the Granny Smith apples. D-lish. I would make this again and again. Served it with ice-cream while the pie was hot from the oven. Yum. Excellent recipe for Dutch Apple Pie.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dtur616 November 26, 2010

Okay - so, I made these for a bake sale, and kept one - my kids are raving that it is better than the apple orchard Dutch Apple we had last month (which is high praise, indeed!) so I feel compelled to review this recipe. Especially since it already had such high reviews, which sometimes feels fake, but this is far and away the best pie I have made! I made exactly as written and used Harolson apples (per my grandma they are THE best pie apples) and it is a-ma-zing!

Just a quick side note - I had Baker's Square non-returnable pie tins, so I re-used them for the bake sale pies - they must be 7 or 7 1/2" pans. I doubled the recipe and it made 3 small pies (I did cut up some extra apples to stretch things a little) and it worked out beautifully!

Thanks for sharing this recipe and all the great reviews!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Mama of 3 November 19, 2010

Pie perfection! I used granny smith apples. The only change I made to the recipe was to use 3/8 c of white sugar, because we always serve with vanilla ice cream and caramel syrup so I knew it would be sweet enough. I am going to make another one this weekend. I used Pastry Crust (Pie Crust) for the crust.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply November 01, 2010

Loved it!!! My family is not an apple eating one, but we absolutely loved this pie! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galina S. July 12, 2015

Best apple pie I have EVER made (trust me, I have made quite a few). I baked two of these pies for Thanksgiving and they were completely demolished! The family kept raving about how amazing this pie was and I even got several texts the next day with people still talking about it. Followed the directions exactly - MAKE THIS PIE. You won't be disappointed!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erutt2 December 04, 2014

This was an excellent and easy recipe to complete for Thanksgiving! Everyone loved the flavor and I was told it was delicious, as I don't care much for pie. I used about 6-7 Fugi apples for the filling and it was perfect. Also, I diced the apples (by misreading the directions, whoops) but it came out just as great. Thank you so much for an apple pie recipe that will be used for years to follow!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skiska1987 November 30, 2013
Dutch Apple Pie