270 Reviews

What a fantastic recipe! I have followed this recipe several times and I just love it. Since I am a huge fan of cinnamon I added some to the topping as well, and used "sugar in the raw" for some more texture. Absolutely fabulous!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jerseychic420 January 02, 2013

This was very good - I think the brown sugar made all the difference. Thanks for a great recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea May 31, 2012

This is an excellent pie, just as it is. Thanks for putting it out there in cyberworld for all of us to enjoy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dancer Jeanne April 03, 2012

Awesome Pie! For those who complain about the sweetness you need to know what type of apples are best for baking. Granny Smith apples are firm and tart so in this recipe they will work fine with the amount of sugar listed. Coutland, Braeburn, Honeycrisps & Jonathan's are few of the other preferred baking apples. No complaints at all regarding this recipe...It is a winner!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef OG November 03, 2011

So good! This pie set up perfectly. I cut back on the sugar as others suggested. We ate it warm out of the oven with vanilla ice cream. Family loved it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj September 12, 2011

Absolutely Amazing!! I hate baking...but had so many granny Smith apples to put to good use.. This pie (it made two) was the best apple pie my family had ever had! And....I made it!! Woooo Hoooooo!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela G. September 23, 2013

The ONLY Dutch Apple Pie recipe I will ever make from now on. Omit the pie crust and it becomes the best ever Apple Crisp. This amazingly wonderful pie also freezes well, uncooked, so when I make it, I usually make two -- one to pop in the oven and one wrapped in a double layer of plastic wrap to enjoy another day when I'm short on time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BriarCraft August 29, 2013

my rating is with a huge reduction in the amount of sugar (cut down by half). I added a few walnuts in the crumble topping and that got great reviews as well. i had to bake mine for quite longer than the recipe called for, VERY simple recipe for a VERY delicious pie! I've already make this many times and will make it many more, I'm sure! Gets stellar reviews every time! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TooManyRoommates April 27, 2013

BEST APPLE PIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!! I made the pie exactly as recipe called for and it wasn't too sweet, nor too tart. Note: it worked very well with Granny Smith apples. Make THIS pie, you will not regret it!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristinpotter March 14, 2013

This was my first time making a pie. It was the best pie I have ever eaten. We ate it for breakfast it was so good. I will be making this for our Easter dessert.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cconnery February 22, 2013
Dutch Apple Pie