257 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So good! This pie set up perfectly. I cut back on the sugar as others suggested. We ate it warm out of the oven with vanilla ice cream. Family loved it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj September 12, 2011

This pie had an oustanding flavor but the filling was a bit too sweet for my taste. I baked it again and reduced the sugar in the filling to 1/4 cup granulated sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar and it was just the right sweetness for me. Delish!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bam! August 25, 2003

This is one of the best Dutch apple pie recipe`s I`ve ever came across. I`ve been making pies all my life. It was always the best thing I could make as a kid for my Dad. He was a hard working man that was holding down two jobs to make ends meet in the family. Until he died, he would always say that I made the best apple pies. Well I will stand aside for this recipe. It`s that good. Thank you Joy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan C. October 19, 2014

Absolutely Amazing!! I hate baking...but had so many granny Smith apples to put to good use.. This pie (it made two) was the best apple pie my family had ever had! And....I made it!! Woooo Hoooooo!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela G. September 23, 2013

The ONLY Dutch Apple Pie recipe I will ever make from now on. Omit the pie crust and it becomes the best ever Apple Crisp. This amazingly wonderful pie also freezes well, uncooked, so when I make it, I usually make two -- one to pop in the oven and one wrapped in a double layer of plastic wrap to enjoy another day when I'm short on time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BriarCraft August 29, 2013

my rating is with a huge reduction in the amount of sugar (cut down by half). I added a few walnuts in the crumble topping and that got great reviews as well. i had to bake mine for quite longer than the recipe called for, VERY simple recipe for a VERY delicious pie! I've already make this many times and will make it many more, I'm sure! Gets stellar reviews every time! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TooManyRoommates April 27, 2013

BEST APPLE PIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!! I made the pie exactly as recipe called for and it wasn't too sweet, nor too tart. Note: it worked very well with Granny Smith apples. Make THIS pie, you will not regret it!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristinpotter March 14, 2013

This was my first time making a pie. It was the best pie I have ever eaten. We ate it for breakfast it was so good. I will be making this for our Easter dessert.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cconnery February 22, 2013

Absolutely perfect! I used all sugar substitutes instead of regular sugars with no change to the flavor or browning. Now I need to hide what is left from myself so I don't dive in before the guys come home! Thank you for this wonderful recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katobow January 29, 2013

this pie is the bomb...I used 8 cups of apples (cortland and granny smith) and added nuts(walnuts and macademia) to crumb topping..Most requested pie I have every made

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eileen2109 November 21, 2012
Dutch Apple Pie