Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dutch Apple Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dutch Apple Pie

    Average Rating:

    242 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 242

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2011

      Easy as Pie! This is a very simple pie. I don't think the sugar content is too high. That might be because I use Granny Smith Apples which are pretty tart and require a bit more sugar to balance them out. I've also made this as mini pies using a muffin pan. Very good. No complaints at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      Wow, I have to add my accolades! I find many desserts too sweet but I used all the suggested sugars in this one and it turned out perfectly with the tart Granny Smiths.

      I know every oven is different; I baked it for 60 minutes and was surprised that I tenting - to avoid excessive browning - was unnecessary.

      I usually make the regular 2 pie crust apple pies but this is so much better! I love how the topping crust sinks down right onto the apples so there is no gap between the apples and the top crust in the finished product.

      Dreamsicle, that pie crust recipe is insane! I usually use a Good Housekeeping recipe that is pretty easy but still much more work that yours. I figured what do I have to lose, and tried your recipe and it was wonderful. Nice, rich flaky but tender crust that browned up nicely and held up to the pie juices. Thx a mint for the awesome suggestion too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      I made the pie for Thanksgiving 2010. The flavor was outstanding. I used freshly grated cinnamon and nutmeg. Makes all the difference when you can use freshly ground spices. I also left the peeling on the Granny Smith apples. D-lish. I would make this again and again. Served it with ice-cream while the pie was hot from the oven. Yum. Excellent recipe for Dutch Apple Pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      Okay - so, I made these for a bake sale, and kept one - my kids are raving that it is better than the apple orchard Dutch Apple we had last month (which is high praise, indeed!) so I feel compelled to review this recipe. Especially since it already had such high reviews, which sometimes feels fake, but this is far and away the best pie I have made! I made exactly as written and used Harolson apples (per my grandma they are THE best pie apples) and it is a-ma-zing!

      Just a quick side note - I had Baker's Square non-returnable pie tins, so I re-used them for the bake sale pies - they must be 7 or 7 1/2" pans. I doubled the recipe and it made 3 small pies (I did cut up some extra apples to stretch things a little) and it worked out beautifully!

      Thanks for sharing this recipe and all the great reviews!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      Pie perfection! I used granny smith apples. The only change I made to the recipe was to use 3/8 c of white sugar, because we always serve with vanilla ice cream and caramel syrup so I knew it would be sweet enough. I am going to make another one this weekend. I used Pastry Crust (Pie Crust) for the crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2013

      LOVE this pie... thanks for sharing something so simple but ohhhhh sooooo goooood!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      Delicious topping! It's perfect as is. However, if you want more texture and crunch I added some oatmeal and some pecans to it! Either way - very yummy.<br/>I have also used this recipe to top cherry pies too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      Delicious pie! Perfect sweetness for Granny Smith apples.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2013

      Knock your socks off good! Was not too much sugar for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      Thanks a million for this recipe!!! My husband is a apple pie addict, I usually buy it frozen from the store but not any more. This recipe is super easy and doesn't need any alteration.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      This is the best apple pie I have ever made. It was super easy. I make all the filling the night before. the next day I prepared my crust and topping. Just for fun I made a bunch of bacon and crumbled it into the filling. I made two pies and they did not last the night. AMAZING

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2013

      I used a mix of Freedom and Nova Mac apples in mine. Also because my husband is gluten sensitive I made some minor adjustments to the recipe, and it still turned out great! I substituted corn starch in the filling, and 1 tbsp GF all purpose flour and 2 tbsp GF oats in the topping.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      Wonderful! My daughter requested a Dutch Apple Pie for Christmas dinner and I chose your recipe! It did not disappoint any of us! It was not only delicious, but beautiful as well. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2013

      Best Pie I have ever tasted I can't believe i made it, I will for sure be making this again and it was pretty easy too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2013

      My husband is one who INSISTS on having vanilla ice cream with apple pie, but after one bite of this he REFUSED! He said it was

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      Very tasty pie. everyone raved-- even the people who stole bites from others' slices. Only comment is that it's slightly a bit sweet..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      This pie was GREAT! I used a mix of granny smith and royal gala apples and it turned out SOOO yummy! Thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      This is one delicious and easy apple pie! I used Granny Smith apples. The pie was PERFECT. Loved it so much that I made a second, and it was also perfect! I then made two for friends, and they loved them. Not too wet, not too dry, just delicious. The topping is so tasty. I also used thee "My No Roll Pie Crust" (My No Roll Pie Crust) that was suggested by another reviewer - which makes a PERFECT crust. I love this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      I made no changes to this recipe and it was great. Very easy. Loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      This was super easy to make and a HUGE hit with my boyfriend and friends. Definitely will turn to this recipe again in the future!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dutch Apple Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 405.5
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    34%
    Total Fat 15.4 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 189.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.8 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 41.1 g
    164%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites