14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

hi, thanks for the recipie! I made it without the raisins, and my english friends are crazy about it! its very very sweet, but tastes just like apple pie

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nnnnn September 10, 2002

A 1/2 teaspoon of margarine or butter will help decrease foaming.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheri's Jubilee August 06, 2002

This jam is wonderful. I have already made two batches and am getting ready for a third. Jam set-up perfectly and everyone loves it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atcdly July 15, 2002

smell was wonderful and taste was great! one huge problem..it didn't "set" like the rest of my james and jellies have. i even cooked at a hard boil for more than a minute do to past experiences when a minute is definately not enough time at a hard boil...still didn't do it the second batch either..it's gonna make great pancake syrup!!! my intentions were to give "jam" in the gift baskets for Christmas though. and yes i checked over all the ingredients 3 times for the second batch because i didn't want the same thing to happen again. it did anyways...oh well! i'm giving a low rating due to it not setting the way it should have.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyndi October 22, 2001

This is very easy, fast & sooooooo Good....like apple pie on toast...............

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iron Bloomers September 25, 2003

I made this, but made changes. There seemed to be too much sugar for the amount of apples so I double the apples to 4 c chopped. I also used 1 box powdered pectin instead of liquid. I also used sweet apples instead of tart. After the changes it made 7 1/2 c jam. Tastes very sweet still and tastes awesome. I ate most of the 1/2 c myself on toast with peanut butter. I think my son had one toast and sandwich with it and my daughter had some on toast, but my husband didn't get any. Too slow I guess. He will have to wait until I open another jar. This one is staying on my preserving list. I really wanted a jam recipe instead of a jelly recipe, I am just getting started on preserving so I don't have a jelly bag yet and this was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tasb October 12, 2013

This jam is great. I made one batch with the 4 1/2 cups of granulated sugar as called for. Along with the brown sugar it was way too sweet for my taste. I made another batch with 2 cups of granulated sugar along with the 1 cup of brown sugar, much better. Everone agreed, the 2nd batch had a better all around flavor. ***** KEEP ON JAMMIN'

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lake Effect October 08, 2010

A new favorite! I made this on a day I had set out to make Apple Butter, but after searching recipes, I didn't have the ambition for the process. I picked this recipe instead and so happy I did! Will be adding to my yearly canning list! THANK YOU!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sconnie September 02, 2010

What a great recipe! Tastes just like apple pie. I've been canning for over 30 years, and generally keep to the measurements, especially if the recipe calls for pectin. My family doesn't care for raisins, so I substituted 1/4 cup of currants, and added an extra 1/4 cup of apple. I grated the apple in the food processor, so the jam came out looking a bit like marmalade. This jam set up quickly, so I checked it frequently after the lids sealed, and turned the jars 4 or 5 times as they cooled, and the apple distributed beautifully. Thanks, DiB's!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graciebonica November 02, 2009

I made this and it was delicious! I've gotten requests for the jam and the recipe! Will make great christmas gifts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rotts4me October 21, 2007
Dutch Apple Jam