92 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Best macaroni salad I have every made, without a doubt. We had a big family get together and it was one of the most popular dishes I served. The mayo sauce is definitely the clincher. Thanks Miss Annie. Appreciate you.

41 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' November 04, 2002

Yum Yum!!! This was so good! I took it to a fellowship dinner and it was devoured! I omitted the salami and the parmesan cheese and added frozen peas. I used the black olives and added green olives too! Thanks for a great recipe!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 01, 2003

I've made this several times and it's always a hit! I use shredded cheese because it's just easier and I mix up all the ingredients at once and refrigerate for several hours. Try it!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abbeygurl November 08, 2002

I fixed this for a large gathering and there wasn't any left to bring home! I had several requests for the recipe. This was an easy salad to put together and I liked the fact that it sat overnight without the dressing. That was added the next day. One note: I've found that if a macaroni salad has to sit before being served, that a few tablespoons of warm water added will bring back the creaminess without having to add more mayo. Thanks for a great recipe, will be making this one again for sure.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Dillard May 20, 2009

I made this to take to my father-in-law's B-day party and it was a huge hit! I got several requests for the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I forgot to add the fresh garlic. However, it was still delicious! This recipe is a keeper!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. April 07, 2003

WARNIGN!!! Please read this before making this recipe. There is way to much salt in this, and I am a salt aholic! I wish i would have taken the advice of a previous review. I made this as directed and it took a lot of adjusting afterwards to salvage this. I think this would be a wonderful salad if you were to cut down on the galic salt. I will make this again because I love the combination of the other ingredients, but will start with 1 teaspoon of garlic salt and then adjust from there. I have to wonder if the measurments of the garlic salt is a type-o.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugar momma June 18, 2009

This pasta salad was absolutely terrific. I made it exactly as the recipe directed, except I too substituted shredded for cubed cheese. I took it on a weekend camping trip and it was a huge hit. Thank you for sharing this great recipe :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim in Walnut Creek June 18, 2003

Made this for a family gathering and ir was the first to go! A MAJOR hit!! We actually had all these ingredients on hand except for the pimentos and had to go get those. I didn't change a thing, this is just wonderful! And I did use the full 1-1/2 cups mayonnaise. It was very creamy and delicious. Thanks Miss Annie, I love your recipes!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz May 12, 2003

I have been making this recipe for 10 years.....I also got it from a friend who saw Calling All Cooks. I give it 4 stars because the amount of salt called for is WAY too much. If you make it as is, it will be unpalateable. Cut ALL the salty ingredients in half and it will still be well seasoned. If you do that, this will be a TEN star recipe. Seriously. Also, I just mix it all up at once. I don't do the step to let it sit overnight in the fridge before mixing everything in. I just stir it up and let it sit in the fridge a few hours for the flavors to blend. If it sits overnight, I add extra mayo the next day to moisten it. You can tweak the ingredients....for instance, I leave out the olives and I fresh mozzarella instead of swiss cheese. You can't lose with this recipe.....as long as you halve the salt!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizP June 28, 2011

Just made this for a bbq And everyone loved it Thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JJarmer October 03, 2009
Dunkley's Famous Macaroni Salad