125 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the recipe I have been looking for! These are very light and fluffy. I added a little more salt and mixed in an egg so it would remind me of the yellow dumplings my grandmother used to make. I made these last night in a chicken soup and will serve today for Thanksgiving dinner. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristy D Dillon November 27, 2003

These are not the fluffy dumplings from my childhood. Will not be making again. They were chewy, not fluffy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms_Misty57 February 03, 2015

I made this because I found the potatoes that I had were full of eyes and looked a bit green and the only thing I had to go with the boar roast in the oven was that or rice, which I didn't really think that would go. So I did this adding about 1/2 tsp of vegetable broth granules. Not only was it really easy, it was really good and made a very filling side dish in the roast's gravy. It will be made again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Girl November 11, 2012

This has become one of my family's favourite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mazvii July 08, 2012

I made these once before and they were so good. Tonight I almost couldn't find the recipe (different picture from last time) and became slightly panicked lol. Anyway no panic any longer as this is going into my cookbook and I'm giving the very deserved 5 stars.
Btw the only addition I made was to add parsley as that's what my grandmother did (these are better than hers ever were though lol).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phil the kiwi June 06, 2012

I love these, though I have better luck cutting the butter into the flour mixture, then adding the milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef for the love of sweets April 28, 2011

Quick, easy and delicious. I used half whole wheat flour and half white flour. I also added a favorite herb blend and substituted for the dairy. Instead of butter I used lard and instead of milk I used water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leithead March 24, 2011

Yet another satisfied cook! Nice and tender, and didn't toughen when they sat in the stew awhile. I added a little chopped fresh rosemary to them because they were sitting in a lamb stew. Wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenDame October 27, 2010

Absolutely fantastic! Very easy to make, and oh so fluffy, they were just perfect. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef OnMyMom July 22, 2010

The best dumplings I have ever made. I will never use another recipe. They were so easy to make and turned out light and fluffy - just like my mom used to make. Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imlindasue June 01, 2010
Dumplings