86 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was an interesting dessert. Very easy to make. I made it one evening and we had it the next afternoon. The cake was crispy. The next day we had it after dinner, by then the cake was a bit more moist and had soaked more of the cherry flavor into it. It was delicious. I recommend waiting a day or so before you eat this if you can help yourself.

49 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wright August 05, 2002

This was so easy!! I used raspberry pie filling instead, what a wonderful dessert!!! Great tasting, everyone loved it!!

42 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karla1 May 27, 2002

We loved it! The cake gets kind of crunchy instead of cakey. I served it warm with a scoop of Cherry Cordial ice cream on top. It tasted just like I was eating a big bowl of Cherry Garcia. It doesn't get much better than that!

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malriah June 03, 2002

This was so very good not to mention economical! I was able to throw this together for under 5 dollars! The entire house smelled like chocolate while this baked. Next time I'll try and chill it like Chuck did. THANKS Karen for this WINNER!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fort Bethel June 30, 2002

After reading a review I decided to make this for dessert for a cookout with my neighbors. I took it over well chilled and it was the hit of the afternoon. So simple and delicious. Everyone said to tell you thanks for the recipe, and their 3 year old wants another one. LOL Chuck

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chuck in Killbuck June 26, 2002

We thought this was really good for how easy it was to make! Excellent with a dallop of whipped cream or ice cream (like others mentioned the ice cream), Definite Keeper, Will make again SOON! Thank-you for such a simple good recipe!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa M July 28, 2002

I can't believe something this simple tasted as good as it did...two thumbs up! The house took on a wonderful chocolate aroma as it baked, too. I served it with vanilla ice cream and it was enjoyed by all, terrific choco-cherry taste. I think I will try it with blueberry pie filling and lemon cake mix next. Thanks for a nifty recipe!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie August 25, 2002

Wish I could add more "Stars" for this one! It was so easy! Tasted so good! Told a co-worker about it she said that her mom used to make one something like this only used pineapple with white cake. I am going to try that one. She had lost her mother's recipe and I immediately gave it to her. She took it to a dinner and was the hit of the party! Thank you so much for posting this one.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean Montfort August 17, 2002

Quick, easy and wonderful. After cake cooled I sprinkled powered sugar over it. Before serving I warmed it and placed a scoop of vanilla ice cream on each piece. It could not have been simplier to make and everyone had a second helping. Thanks for a great receipe.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terrilynn August 02, 2002

Made this tonight and it was delicious! Hubby said it reminded him of chocolate covered cherries. Will certainly fix this again. Thank you for posting this recipe.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Souchef June 30, 2002
Dump Cake (Only 3 Ingredients!)