36 Reviews

I've made this cake for over 40 years & it is not only EASY, it is DELICIOUS & everyone always wants the recipe! I've only used cherry pie filling.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UTgal72 January 08, 2012

Crumbly, buttery, tangy, sweet and fruity all at once. Easy and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tishiz2fly May 17, 2011

Oh my GOSH was this ever delicious. I had never heard of Dump Cake but I am all about quick and easy cooking. The reviews were so good I had to try it. I used blueberry pie filling and left of the nuts. My house smelled so good while it was cooking I couldn't stand it. I didn't let it cool much before my spoon fell in. I had to share it will a friend it was so good. Her and her husband also loved it. So did mine when he got home. The only bad thing I can say is the 4 of us at the whole thing in that one sitting, LOL. I can't wait to try this with apple and strawberry pie filling too. This is now on the top dessert list for me. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ces69 July 22, 2010

My usual version only uses 1 stick butter. The extra butter takes it over the top! I never use the nuts. I made one blueberry and one cherry for a Memorial Day picnic! Also used a 19 oz can of crushed pineapple. Bertha, thank you for the recipe! I took some of each to my neighbor and now she also wants the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose May 28, 2014

This is an old standby for me and always turns out to be a crowd pleaser. While there's nothing healthy (it's purely an decadent treat) about the recipe I have found that I can cut the butter to 1/2 cup without sacrificing any flavor. The recipe also lends itself to adding/changing ingredients so it's fun to experiment with. TRY ADD-INS/SUBSTITUTIONS: coconut, other fruit such as blueberries, apples, as well as different cake mixes. (NOTE: One reviewer mentions it being too sweet I always use pineapples with no sugar added, not the ones in "heavy syrup.")

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeresaD February 24, 2013

I love dump cake! Could dessert be any easier??? I did make some changes- I used a larger can of pineapple and a smaller can of blueberries (I accidentally bought canned blueberries, not blueberry pie filling and had to search RecipeZaar for a recipe that showed how to turn blueberries into blueberry pie filling! Basically, you add some sugar, corn starch and water!) I also added a touch of grated lemon rind to the blueberries, a dash of cinnimon, and a touch of brown sugar, plus I added the coconut to the top as someone else suggested. And I did the butter different then the directions (because I have another dump cake recipe that does it this way). I melted the butter - really butter!!, and poured it evenly over the top. ( I used less, so it wasn't quite as rich as it could be, but I saved a few calories- of course that went right out the window when I added the Whipped Cream to the top :o). And finally, as noted by other members, I watched the time and mine cooked in just over 40 minutes. PS- this is best warm! I reheat the left overs in the microwave- yummmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 June 01, 2010

This was my first dump cake and I was a little skeptical. I wasn't sure how a dry cake mix with butter was going to cook, but this was fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly. My oven must cook a little hot, mine was a little burnt around the edges. Will decrease time by 10 minutes next time. Will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky.Wife May 15, 2009

I was really in the mood for something easy and sweet tonight, and I had everything to make this. I did make a few changes... 1. I only used about 1/4 of the butter called for. 2. I omitted the nuts 3. I sprinkled some brown sugar on top. 4. It only took about 40 minutes to cook in my oven w/ a 8x11 dish. Next time I will mix a bit of the brown sugar in with the pineapple as well. It was a bit tart in places for me personally. It was really good though. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach January 26, 2009

Just the recipe I remembered from my childhood. It was great! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jcwchicago December 11, 2008

fool proof. Kid proof. Perfectly easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nsremom July 19, 2008
Dump Cake