Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dugan! Get Your Grimy Hands off Those Pickled Sausages! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dugan! Get Your Grimy Hands off Those Pickled Sausages!

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2011

      An absolutely fantastic recipe to start with -- modify to your own taste. I live in the Middle East and cannot get pork sausage -- Penrose stopped making their great sausages. This recipe was a great find. However, I can only get turkey kielbasa here -- no prob -- and it can be spiced up to your liking and favorite bar snack flavor. My friends love them and they go great with cold beer.

      Modification for beer drinker's palette was such -- I have a two liter, old fashion mason jar with the rubber ring and metal lock:

      3 lbs of Hilshire Farms Turkey Polska Kielbasa
      1 small onion
      eliminated the water
      1 Tablespoon brown sugar
      4 cups white vinegar
      2 teaspoons red pepper flakes
      1 T pickling spice
      4 cloves garlic
      6 thai chilies - cut into 1/2 inch pieces
      few dashes of your favorite hot sauce
      2 Tablespoons salt

      Thank you so much for posting your original recipe. It was a great find!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Found these lacking in the garlic flavor most pickled sausages have,will add lots of garlic to make this more appealing to us. Will also add some cayenne to make these a little more manley in flavor. 3 stars, needs work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Exactly what I was looking for in a Pickled Sausage! These are SO good! Thank You!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      This was just what I was looking for in a recipe for pickled sausage. I took the advice of some of the other reviewer and cut back on the brown sugar using just a 1/2 cup. I added a crushed clove of garlic into each quart jar and minced two cloves of garlic to the liquid. I made them yesterday and tested one this morning. These are better than anything I've had store bought. Thanks for a great basic recipe for pickled sausages.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2013

      So easy and simply delicious. I made two different batches (one with cocktail wieners and one with polish sausages). I added a whole dried hot pepper to each jar. So far, the sausages with the scotch bonnet pepper is my favorite but... it is only day three and they just keep getting better! More garlic would be a good variation too. Great recipe, Pot Scrubber.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      I made this with cocktail sausages and found them to be a little soft in texture. I'm going to try it again with a different sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      I made these for DH and he loves them. I have made two jars so far. I use the little smokies and in the second jar, DH sliced a jalapeno in half and added that. THanks for a keeper in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      This is a great recipe. I make it for our Legion and everyone loves them. I am going to try adding garlic to them this time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      I use the cocktail wieners. These are great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Mmmmm Pot Scrubber these were wonderful. The only thing I did was to make half this recipe, all else was the same. I wanted to test them first before making too many. They were absolutely delicious. Sorry I didn't do full recipe. Think I will make some for my Dad for Christmas, he will love them. I used the Lil Smokies sausages. Worked out really well. Thanks again for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Potsie, Dugan isn't the only one who can't keep his hands off these delicious pickled sausages. I made them two ways -- one with pork cocktail sausages and the other with fresh sausages I poached first. The first were a hit with the ladies (more of an appetizer); the latter with the guys -- they were lumberjack sausages (that was the name on the package) and the men all went for those. These are terrific! I made a batch and they were all gone in 1/2 hour when our family tried them, so I made three more jarsful to serve this weekend when we had a bunch of people over to watch football games. They are tangy, spicy and addicting. I added one clove of garlic to each jar and decreased the brown sugar a bit. They are definitely on my list of the best of the best snacks for any occasion. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe. Everyone who has tried it has loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      I took these to a party and they were gone in no time. Everyone loved them. I will definitely make these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      VERY nice snack. I used dried Hatch peppers from New Mexico and upped the quantity a little (used a whole pepper).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      Hubby said 2 stars but I say 3... I love the onions but the rest is a bit too sweet for us. I'll probably make these again and omit or seriously decrease the brown sugar. I used both beef cocktail sausages and kielbasa. Thanks for sharing this neat idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      Pot Scrubber, I have been dying to try one of your recipes as I love the stories you have to tell about each recipe. I took these to a party of about 25 including adults, teenagers and kids. People started asking me for the recipe even before the Mason jar was opened! These were gone REALLY fast and all ages loved them. One of the Nebraska women suggested adding some sliced fresh jalapeno and I think I will try that when I make them again next week for my company picnic. Thanks for the really easy, great recipe and the wonderful stories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      I made these for a campout that we organized for our local SCA group. I got 2 quarts using little smokies and they both went in a heart beat. The funny thing is that after I put the liquid in the jars I realized that I forgot the brown sugar. Didn't seem to matter, they loved them anyway. Also, I wanted to note that mine got cloudy at first. I believe that the hot liquid melted some of the fat in the sausages but they did clear up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      I can't believe I forgot to review these wonderful sausages. I made 3 jars of these in Dec of last year and my DH devoured one jar by himself in one day then the next day he was off and running from neighbor to neighbor giving out samples (ONLY ONE SAUSAGE TO EACH MIND YOU) but just enough for there to be requests from them for there own jars. Love your page Pot Scrubber love the pics I visit your page quite often to see if any updates. definitely lovin the babies take care of each other and thanks for the delicious recipe .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      These tasted awesome!! I used the Cocktail weiners, I purchased both the beef weiners & the ones made with pork & chicken, both were excellent but the all beef cocktail weiners left a greasy film on top but still tasted Wonderful!! Thank You for a GREAT recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      These did not go over well in our home. Nothing bad about them.. just personal tastes I guess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      I usually like any kind of pickle and I also like sausage, but this just wasn't to my liking. Maybe it was the fact that the sausage was cold and a little greasy that the taste and texture didn't appeal to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dugan! Get Your Grimy Hands off Those Pickled Sausages!

    Serving Size: 1 (524 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 901.9
     
    Calories from Fat 556
    61%
    Total Fat 61.8 g
    95%
    Saturated Fat 20.9 g
    104%
    Cholesterol 149.4 mg
    49%
    Sodium 2070.7 mg
    86%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 45.1 g
    180%
    Protein 27.9 g
    55%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pickling spices

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes