56 Reviews

My DH was not really pleased with this dish. Sorry, and thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds July 03, 2013

Too good just for St. Patrick's Day!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gemble April 24, 2013

I made this for our family St. Patrick's Day celebration just as written. It was ABSOLUTELY incredible!! I would give it more than 5 stars if I had the option. The sausages turned out flavorful & more than tender. A definate keeper & definately not just for St. Patrick's Day. Thanks French Tart.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkellum March 17, 2013

Wonderfull dish. wouldnt change a thing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raquellhs06 January 09, 2013

I wanted to try something different this year for St. Pat's. I found this and loved the history behind the recipe and too that it was from French Tart. I have made many of Karen's recipes all with great sucess, and this was no exception. I cooked everything in a 12 inch cast iron skillet, popped the lid on, and in to the oven it went. Three hours later, perfection! I served this with the beer bread recipe 73440, and we had a great dinner. I've been cooking for my husband for over 30 years, and he rated this the best St. Pat's dinner he's ever had. How's that for a rating? Thank You French Chef for yet another great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerseygirl1952 March 18, 2012

My family really loved this recipe. I wasn't expecting much from it, but it was very flavourful! Will definitely be making it again. So easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pastawendy February 13, 2012

I came by this purely accidentally as it was towards the end of the month and my sister and brother in law were coming to dinner. They were so impressed that I held onto the recipe. Now that the colder weather has returned, guess what's in the crockpot? I have used ground sausage instead, and cooked it with cut up bacon. After I take the meat out, I then throw water and bouillon cube into the drippings and put that in with the potatoes and onions. The potatoes taste amazing!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TSwearingen October 24, 2011

OMGoodness! so good! we use this a lot when we go camping cooked in the cast iron pot; my husband went with a bunch of guys and they all loved it! thanks for posting it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justtoleavereview October 21, 2011

We loved this. Next time I will brown my sausage a little longer, and cook more than 3 hours. The flavors were good, but a little more time in the oven would really have upped the ante. Also, in order to make the potatoes a little more flavorful, I will cut them into largish bite-size pieces. EDIT: I've found that it adds even better flavour (and more fat) by briefly frying the onions in the bacon drippings before adding them to the recipe. Also, I added carrots this last time, and really liked it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Classy Canuck April 16, 2011

made in the slow cooker with ham stock. Turned out well, good reviews from all diners :)
pressie in the aussie swap Feb 2011

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills February 16, 2011
Dublin Coddle - Irish Sausage, Bacon, Onion and Potato Hotpot