Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dublin Coddle - Irish Sausage, Bacon, Onion and Potato Hotpot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dublin Coddle - Irish Sausage, Bacon, Onion and Potato Hotpot

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2011

      I came by this purely accidentally as it was towards the end of the month and my sister and brother in law were coming to dinner. They were so impressed that I held onto the recipe. Now that the colder weather has returned, guess what's in the crockpot? I have used ground sausage instead, and cooked it with cut up bacon. After I take the meat out, I then throw water and bouillon cube into the drippings and put that in with the potatoes and onions. The potatoes taste amazing!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      OMGoodness! so good! we use this a lot when we go camping cooked in the cast iron pot; my husband went with a bunch of guys and they all loved it! thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      We loved this. Next time I will brown my sausage a little longer, and cook more than 3 hours. The flavors were good, but a little more time in the oven would really have upped the ante. Also, in order to make the potatoes a little more flavorful, I will cut them into largish bite-size pieces. EDIT: I've found that it adds even better flavour (and more fat) by briefly frying the onions in the bacon drippings before adding them to the recipe. Also, I added carrots this last time, and really liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      made in the slow cooker with ham stock. Turned out well, good reviews from all diners :)
      pressie in the aussie swap Feb 2011

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      We cooked this for about 5 hours on high in our slow cooker with very good results. I crisped the bacon up more than described in the recipe, as I hate soggy bacon. Will definitely make again, wish I could find Irish sausage to try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      This was great! I used pecan smoked summer sausage because that's what I had, and we loved it. Great on a cold day. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      This is THE most requested dish in our household! I layer everything into my slow cooker (after browning the sausage and crisping the bacon in the oven) and set it on low for at least 8 hours. Absolutely incredible flavor. The hardest part? Waiting the long eight hours and suffering through the tantalizing aroma in the house :) Thanks so much for a fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      I used a bit more sausage (I used Irish sausage) and a bit less bacon. I also used homemade ham stock. Either I mismeasured or the extra sausage threw things off, because when I checked at the two hour point, it was swimming. But I poured off the excess liquid and finished it uncovered, and it came out fine. It's just amazing how flavorful the potatoes get. I also loved the history and lore in the description. Wonderful recipe. Thanks for posting! Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      I loved this. Cooked it in the oven for 3.5 hours, then kept it on low for about another 3 at 200 degrees, would probably cook less next time. Only used about 1/4 or the bacon, because it was just too many calories with a whole pound. probably didn't use as many potatoes as it called for - simply because my pan wasn't big enough. Used chicken bouillon for the liquid. Browned the sausage first which made it really beautiful. A great recipe that I'll repeat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Fantastic! My family of 8 loved it! Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe! We will be making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      This was delicious. I think the ham cube really gave it a nice flavour. I used English bangers which I cut into fourths. Instead of layering I just mixed everything together. I didn't have any parsley so I omitted that. I cooked it just over 3 hours until there was no liquid left. Next time I will try it in the crockpot. Thanks French Tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Amazing! I bought some Johnsonville Sausage ( Irish with a bit o' garlic). The wife thinks this is better than Colcannon. While I am not ready to go that far, this will be a steady winter staple. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I made this in my crockpot with chicken and apple sausage, adding a few sprigs of fresh thyme and rosemary. Pouring a can of chicken broth over the layers worked like a dream. Quite delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Tart, you've done it again! Wonderful stuff and so very easy to make. Thanks for giving us another winner..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Great for fall entertaining. The Italian sausages I used were incredibly tender with this dish. I added the carrots and potatoes to the bottom of the crockpot, then layered the onions and sausage on top. Then I poured in the chicken broth until it was just halfway full in the pot. This was the easiest meal I've ever cooked for 5 people.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      This is wonderful! I've had this recipe saved for awhile and couldn't wait any longer to make it. With the temperature in the 90's, I made it in my crock pot and it turned out fantastic. I used unpeeled red potatoes and par-boiled them first since they never come out completely cooked for me in the crock pot otherwise. There's only the 2 of us so I took the rest to my niece's to share and received a call this morning asking me for the recipe because this was so much better than the coddle they had made. If I could award more than 5 stars, I would. Next time, when it's not as hot, I'll make this in the oven. I'm sure it will only improve this delicious dish. French Tart, thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      The potatoes in this dish turned out with a very rich flavour. This is an easy dish to prepare, but it does take a bit of time to cook the bacon and sausage. But once assembled you can forget about it. The aroma as this is cooking had my teenage son almost drooling over the oven. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      5 stars are not enough for this fabulous recipe!! I had to do some shopping and put this in the oven before leaving; arrived home 3 hours later to the most tantalizing smell ever! The taste did not disappoint either--10 stars at least. Major keeper, FT!! Made for the Irish leg of the British Isle Tour in the GB Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      Delicious and conveniently easy for us as we are busy with our yard and GS is coming! Had lovely baby red potatoes so I did not peel them. I used Italian sausage and next time will not slice them. Also bought some ham soup base -never noticed that product before and glad I learned about it. Had in my crock pot for 4.5 hours on high. Pretty easy clean up as I put a liner in it. Thank you French Tart for sharing another keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dublin Coddle - Irish Sausage, Bacon, Onion and Potato Hotpot

    Serving Size: 1 (618 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1273.2
     
    Calories from Fat 729
    57%
    Total Fat 81.0 g
    124%
    Saturated Fat 26.9 g
    134%
    Cholesterol 157.5 mg
    52%
    Sodium 1690.9 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 95.2 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 12.3 g
    49%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 41.0 g
    82%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham stock cube

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes