53 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! I modified and roasted the sausage links in the in the oven, added roasted red pepper and used a red wine reduction to cook the onions in. Took about one hour. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 17, 2015

This was very good, but it felt like it was missing something to make it perfect--maybe something a little acidic? I may try substituting cider for the broth next time. (Thinking about it, this may be because I used the sweet onions that I had in the pantry...) Thank you for a good dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dwynnie March 13, 2015

this is incredible...so tasty...I added a few mushrooms and a parsnip...I used bisto gravy mix instead of the cube...you gotta try it....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Reg Jones March 12, 2015

I really do hope you put my review and recipe out. I am all for recreating old dishes but horrified at some of the things that such a simple peasant recipe has turned into. Sometimes, simple things should not be messed with...Ant

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Antoinette B. June 26, 2014

Added Carrots and cider

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark Toussaint March 19, 2014

I made this yesterday for friends for St. Patrick's Day. Incredible recipe! I made it as directed in my hotpot with the addition of a small turnip and 3 carrots. I did use dry parsley as I didn't have fresh. Very flavorful and popular with my houseful: 5 adults and 1 child, with leftovers for 2 adults the next day. I served with a loaf of sourdough bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr.JenLeddy March 18, 2014

Delicious! I added some bacon grease for taste to make up for the small amount of bacon I had on hand. Left it in the Crock Pot for over 3 hours, and we loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissa1230 December 23, 2013

This is so good. I used a good turkey sausage (its what I had) and it was still really good. I will use a pork sausage next time, but this was nice. The onions and bacon are so good eaten with the potatoes. Yum! This all bakes up so delicious. AND its really easy, another bonus. Thank you for sharing with us. We loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour July 09, 2013

My DH was not really pleased with this dish. Sorry, and thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds July 03, 2013

Too good just for St. Patrick's Day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gemble April 24, 2013
Dublin Coddle - Irish Sausage, Bacon, Onion and Potato Hotpot