Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / D's Roasted Butternut Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    D's Roasted Butternut Squash

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on April 26, 2010

      Mmmm. This was delicious. I used stevia instead of brown sugar and halved the olive oil to cut calories and it still came out wonderful. I have a feeling this would taste even better with a dash or two of cinnamon. Thank you, will be trying this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Wow! this was wonderful. The flavours of honey, garlic and brown sugar meld wonderfully. Double foil your baking sheet and spray it. Bake until crisp on the edges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      This was so good! I used a whole medium squash, and half the other ingredients - with the exception of the garlic. I also used dark brown sugar vs plain. cooked for about 40 min at 350, sprinkled with a tsp or so more brown sugar and put it under the broiler for about 2 mins, to get the tops sweet and a bit hard in places. Good enough to be desert. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Thank you for a wonderful recipe. I made it just as the recipe said and wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      I cubed a whole squash, used dried minced garlic, and Maple Syrup in place of honey. WOW ! This is so good, have e-mailed to four friends so far. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2004

      I used a whole squash and doubled the rest of the ingredients. My family loves squash, even the kids so this was a big hit. Very vibrant color and the honey brown sugar and garlic surprising go well together. Thanks for a super easy tasty recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2004

      This was excellent! I had one butternut left from my garden so I used the whole thing and made this exactly as written. It makes the squash a wonderful colour, looks great in the serving dish, was so simple and easy and so good. What more could you want! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2013

      Very good! I used a large whole squash, 3 Tbs. each of brown sugar & honey, 4 cloves garlic and 1/4 c. oil. Lined my sheet pan with foil for easy clean up. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2013

      What a fantastic recipe. I'm in love with Butternut squash. This was so good I was humming while eating it. Even DH who is a squash fan to begin with, just loved it. He finish what he had on his plate and then finished what was left in the serving bowl. This is definitely going in my box to make more often, good for winter, smells great while roasting. Thanks Ranikabani for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      I found the recipe too sweet. Also the honey, sugar, and olive oil amounts should be cut in half. Mine started pooling and burning around the edges of my roasting pan after 15 minutes so I put the pan on the middle shelf of the oven, not the lower shelf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      I've made this several times now - it's one of my favorites! The first couple of times, I made as directed and it was great. Since then, I've made a few alterations that I like, too: 1) thanks to the person who suggested a foil-lined baking sheet (spray the foil rather than pan); 2) I cut the squash in 1/2" to 1" pieces so more surfaces get browned; 3) I don't usually worry about cutting the oil in a recipe, but this works perfectly with 2 tablespoons rather than 1/4 cup (measure sugar, oil, then honey and honey slips right out of the measuring spoon); 4) additions: a little kosher salt and chopped fresh rosemary are really good; 5) stir part-way through to re-coat with the goodies. Last but not least, mine seems to take 1 hour and 15 to 30 minutes to cook until tender, and it's worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      This is so easy and delicious! The garlic (I used garlic powder), brown sugar and honey flavors are terrific together! I roasted it for about 40 minutes and the squash got all carmelized and yummy! I'll be making this again often. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Oops! I first made this recipe well over a year ago and never reviewed it. I love the sweet-roasted flavor of the squash. It's perfect to prepare ahead of time. I tossed the peeled/chopped squash and seasonings in a ziplock bag in the morning and it was a snap to pop it in the oven later that day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Made this for a Christmas get-together with my Sis & BIL, it was wonderful. I did cut back on the oil a bit, and had to omit the garlic as Sis is sensitive to it -- will use the garlic next time I make it tho as I love garlic & think it would really add to the flavor. I think I must have over cooked it (or maybe cut it too small?) as it was quite soft and didn't look as nice as your pic lol..but it was still delish!! BIL said it was the best squash he's ever had. Thanks for a great recipe that will be made again in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      delicious; can be made healthier with Splenda brown sugar ... Easy, too, which is the reason I gave it 5 stars, tho I had to really scrub my cookie sheet. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      Excellent side dish. I was out of garlic and substituted about a tablespoon of minced onion. This recipe was a big hit at my house. Hint: put parchment paper on the cookie sheet to make clean up easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      Just realized I FORGOT to give this the 5 stars it deserves! oops

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      Thanks for this great recipe! I've been making this for several years & just realized I hadn't rated it. I follow your recipe just as it is written & it is perfect for my family's taste - we experimented briefly, but came back to your version. We enjoy it all year round, but especially in the fall months!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      I eliminate the garlic and sugar and add cinnamon and a drizzle of maple syrup for sweetness. I also use coconut oil instead of any other cooking oil. It makes a huge difference in taste, it brings out the swetness much better and my kids will not eat it with olive oil.
      But a side note, why half a large butternut squash? What do you do with the other half? :) I say make the whole thing, it reheats nicely for left overs or lunch. Or just use a small squash.

      I have also added in a diced sweet potato and a diced apple to the squash mistuire, also awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      Fantastic! Everyone loved it and I am happy to have a new way to cook squash. I added a little cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for D's Roasted Butternut Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 170.8
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    48%
    Total Fat 9.1 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 12.7 g
    50%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites