Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dry Rub for Chicken or Turkey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dry Rub for Chicken or Turkey

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2012

      Very good. I used it on a chicken that I cooked on my Showtime Rotisserie. I will use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      Excellent. The whole family loved it. I'm looking forward to having this in my summer meal rotation! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      Let me start by saying that Thanksgiving is my least favorite holiday of the year. It means spending hours in the kitchen and being too tired to move by time dinner is served. Not to mention the fact that I dislike turkey... I can almost stand the dark meat but forget about the dry, tasteless white meat. And frankly, the dark meat isn't much better. Enter Kittencals dry rub. You've made me a believer! For the first time in forever, I actually LIKED the turkey and even had SECONDS! Who knew? Turkey is actually GOOD! My entire family raved and said this was the best turkey I've ever made... and believe me, I've made a few... roasted, deep fried, injected, basted, brined, you name it! I doubled the recipe as I had a 23 pounder but only used about 2/3 of the rub. The turkey was very nicely crusted. The gravy was different... not your typical sage-laden sauce. But it was good and the kids loved it. FYI... this is the only way I will ever make turkey again. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      Another great recipe; I always know it will be good when its one of yours! I had this last night on chicken, which I thought was good enough, but then I sprinkled it on some sliced sweet potatoes that I had on the grill also. Those were over the top delicious! So, its a very good rub for meat; but don't forget to try it on your veggies also! I can't wait to have it on them again! Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      I made chicken with this rub a while ago and wasn't terribly impressed (highly unusual for a Kittencal recipe!) However, I didn't have time to marinate the chicken, so I waited to rate it until I tried it again. This time, I used it on country style pork ribs and tofu. With the ribs, I sprinkled them with salt and the rub, let them sit for about 5 hours (a trick I learned from one of Christopher Kimball's magazines - if you salt meat and let it sit for 40 minutes, it will draw moisture out of the meat, then the meat reabsorbs the moisture, along with the salt and whatever seasoning is with it), and grilled them. FANTASTIC! The pork was well seasoned, moist and tender. With the tofu, I made a paste with the dry rub and olive oil, spooned it over the tofu steaks, then grilled them. Delicious! Even better the next day, reheated in a cast iron skillet and dipped in some ranch dressing. Thank you for another addition to my repertoire, Kittencal. You never disappoint!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      I work out and eat steak, chicken, fish and pork on a daily basis so I need to change things up pretty often. I didn't use the mustard powder because I didn't have that but it still came out fantastic. This recipe just got thrown into heavy rotation!!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

    • on August 27, 2009

      i just mixed up the seasonings together... haven't even preheated the oven, yet I want to say THANK YOU! OMG the seasoning mixed with the brown sugar was fantastic. I ate a mouthful of the rub-seasoning all by itself. suffering with a little "wrath of cayenne" but it's really tasty and i already know my honey will love this. gonna go great with my box of Great Value brand southwest potatoes...kicked up with a home grown red bell pepper of course.... LOL U have made quite a few recipes that i have enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      yummo! It worked great on beer chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      This is great! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      First time trying this recipe and my kids and husband thought it was a Rotisserri chicken bought at the store. I must say it was Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      Whenever I need a great recipe I always turn to Kittencal and this recipe like the others I have tried did not disappoint. My husband used this recipe for a United Way cooking competition. He won. We practiced and lot and in the end we cut the cayenne in half and used smoked spanish paprika. We also cut the cumin just a bit. Next we are making Kittencals lemon meringue pie. I am a true fan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Very good rub, I made the rub and used it on some boneless chicken breast that I filleted and then marinaded with the rub and some olive oil for two days then grilled and they were juicy and delicious. Thanks again for another winning recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Completely amazing. I let the whole chicken marinate with this rub for 17 hours. I used 1 tsp. cayenne pepper. This will be a staple in my house from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      Fantastic rub with a subtle kick to it. I've used it on many chicken breasts with rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Thanks a million for the wonderful rub! Very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      This is so tasty. I used chicken legs with bone-in and back. I loved the taste on the skin. I rubbed the chicken legs and with the remaining rub, I put it all in the bags with the legs. They marinated overnight. Thanks Kit. Made for 123 hit wonders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      This was great! We split into 1/2 for 2 generously-rubbed chickens. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      Great rub! Made it with dried garlic pieces. Used on pork and was delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dry Rub for Chicken or Turkey

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 522.6
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    18%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6607.8 mg
    275%
    Total Carbohydrate 112.1 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 18.6 g
    74%
    Sugars 75.7 g
    303%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites