Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dry Rub for Barbecued Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dry Rub for Barbecued Ribs

    Average Rating:

    83 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 83

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2001

      I prefer "dry ribs" not dripping with any sauce. Just tried this today on 2 slabs of ribs - cooked them slow and low (3 hours at about 250 degrees) great flavor - sweet but sorta spicy. They don't NEED any sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2011

      BEST RIBS EVER. Only thing I do differently is that once I've got them good and rubbed, I drizzle honey on the ribs before closing up in foil. We serve a little more BBQ sauce at the table after brushing on the ribs while they are on the grill. These are my GO TO ribs for summer and everyone FREAKS OUT when I make them. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2002

      The rub had such a wonderful aroma after mixing. I used this on boneless chicken fingers. They were really good. This was my first time using a rub so I put it on sparingly. Next time I will use more before putting it on the grill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      My first time making ribs! I made as directed, but did use one tip from another recipe- removing the tough membrane on the bone side before rubbing with spices. This has great flavor that my husband said was better than the local restaurant! Next time I might decrease the sugar; I prefer for the other flavors not to be overpowered by sweetness. But I could be wrong...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      This is an incredible rub mixture and will be what I use going forward. Had all the ingredients on hand. I doubled the recipe and used it on 2 slabs of baby backs. Rubbed them the night before a party and let them "marinate" wrapped in the fridge overnight. Then cooked them for 5 hours at 200*. Kept them covered in foil for the first 4, then removed the foil for the last hour to get them crispy. Didn't bother broiling/applying BBQ since we prefer just a dry rub.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      EXCELLENT! I've been making ribs for years, but the family all said this was the best one I've ever made. I doubled the recipe and cooked it 'lower and slower'... at about 250 for 4hrs. Fell off the bone and SO tasty. Thanx!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      i love this rub! its good on ribs but honestly its great on pretty much every thing you can think of so don't be afraid to try it on other things as well. great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Now there's no excuse to buy store bought rub when you have a great rub like this that's so simple to make. Rubbed this on my baby backs and the taste was tremendous. Cooked at 225 for 21/2 hours and snow did not permit outdoor grilling. Still perfect. The ribs were too fatty but that's not your fault! This one's a keeper for sure

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      As if you need another 5-star review. How about a photo? This was, hands down, the end of my search for the perfect rub. Yeah, ok, I made the Old Bay from scratch after not finding it in my cupboard (where'd it go?), and I eased up on the cayenne at the request of my tongue, and hardest of all to confess, I didn't marinate it at all, but OH MAN! The only thing that shut our mouths long enough to stop singing its praises was more ribs. Thanks a rack!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      Actullay I'd give it 10 stars. SUPER EASY and ABSOLUTELY NO need for BBQ sauce if you try it this way. I marinated overnight and then cooked at 250 deg. for 2 1/2- 3 hours. We 've made it three times in the last 2 weeks!!! Need I say more?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      This is the best rub I've ever used. I was smoking some ribs and planned on using a dry rub that I had bought. I decided to make this due to the reviews. I did a taste comparison and threw the store bought rub away. Worked great for ribs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      Very, Very good. Cook in several competitions yearly in Texas. Brisket, beans, chicken, and RIBS. Tried this rub and got second. (feel like I owe her some money lol) She got mostly 5 star ratings except for a few, and those I did not understand totally. One lady gave her a 4 star because her ribs were falling apart because the cooking time was too long. The recipe states to cook for 2 1/2 to 3 hours OR UNTIL DONE. You would think people would check on this as they cook. Just a tutorial not a given. Everybody's source of cooking is different and unique depending on what they use. Thanks again for the win. Will use it very often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      I have made these ribs 4 times in the last month since finding this rub! The only different thing I have done is drizzle the ribs with a little honey before baking off in a 200 oven all day. Oh, and I never seem to have the Old Bay on hand (and keep forgetting to buy it) and the rub is still fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      Great rub! Happy 4th of July and pray we keep our independence for another 235 years. One thing I have to admit, only in Louisiana do we sing the National Anthem as "the firecracker's red glare". :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      Great rub. Used this rub with the ribs my way recipe. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      This was fabulous!! I used it on salmon-everyone loved it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Loved this. Did not have any thyme but do not think it mattered. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      A winner for sure. I applied the rub approximately 18 to 20 hours before cooking the ribs. I cooked them 'slow and low' for about 5 hours. Like another reviewer I also left some ribs dry when I grilled them and they were outstanding as well. I would be proud to serve these ribs either way. Thanks for contributing to our successful Father's Day 2010 BBQ.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      This was a nice rub. Other than doubling the Old Bay (as someone who grew up in MD must), I followed the rub recipe exactly. Cooked the ribs in the crockpot, using Slow Cooked BBQ Ribs (For Crock Pot) - they were outstanding. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      This rub is fantastic. The meat was so tender and so tasty. We're definitely a ribs-with-sauce kind of family, so I did one rack with sauce and one without, and they were both equally tasty! Great rub, and anything with Old Bay is a definite bonus! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dry Rub for Barbecued Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (602 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1738.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1100
    63%
    Total Fat 122.3 g
    188%
    Saturated Fat 44.2 g
    221%
    Cholesterol 476.2 mg
    158%
    Sodium 2318.6 mg
    96%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 27.0 g
    108%
    Protein 131.0 g
    262%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites