30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the BEST! I made it using only 1/2 the dill because I was afraid it would be too much. (Personal taste) I added some Hormel Real Bacon Bits to make it into Bacon Ranch and it tasted even better than my favorite that costs about $4.00 a jar. This will be my fav from now on. No more store-bought second best for me! Thanks a bunch Barbara.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy Sneed May 27, 2002

wonderful!!! My family thinks this tastes better than the real stuff. Great dry mixed with butter and poured over popcorn!!!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjh May 22, 2002

I have tried different recipes for 'Ranch' mix, but this one is definetly the best. Instead of using mayo and buttermilk, I used 2 cups of sour cream for the dip. For the dressing I use 1 c. sour cream and 1 c. buttermilk. Good recipe!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paula giles October 19, 2002

i left out the saltsan went with just the powders an it was much better

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOANN-N-TRACY October 10, 2007

We like to throw a ranch packet in with our ground beef for hamburgers and found that we were going through a ton of ranch packets this summer. This was cheap and a great alternative. I was short on parsley so I just used what I had, I used whole wheat club crackers instead of saltines, used a little extra dill (I LOVE dill), and used 1/2 cup onion powder with 1/2 cup garlic salt because it was what I had. Next time, I'll try and stick to the recipe more with the parsley, onion powder and salt, and garlic powder and salt. It was still delicious though, and we're excited to try this mix as a dressing! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee August 30, 2010

Made this tonight and was very pleased. It is simple to make and taste very good. My ranch loving kids said it taste just like ranch. Thanks for an easy recipe that taste good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roseplummer July 12, 2010

Good, but not as good as the Hidden Valley Ranch packets you can buy at the store.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the6-sranch July 18, 2006

This stuff is good!!! I've used it twice so far...once in Crockpot Taco Soup Crock Pot Taco Soup and once as a salad dressing. No more store bought ranch dressing for us. This outdoes store bought anyday. Thanks Aroostook

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boca Pat December 22, 2003

Excellent! The flavor is way better than any store bought Ranch that I've tried, and it's really easy to make. (Fun, too!) It is a bit thin for my taste, so I'm gonna try adding a few more crackers and/or more mayo. Almost every bottle of dressing I've ever bought has gone bad before it's gone, so this will be really nice to have around. Also, I'm giving it as part of several Christmas gifts this year with instructions for dressing, dip, and several Recipezaar recipes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly in Idaho December 13, 2003

I have not seen Ranch Dressing here in Australia, so now I can make some recipes that I have avoided. I want to thank the other reviewers for their comments too as they have given me ideas to vary the recipe. By the way I like the dressing too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Latchy September 07, 2003
Dry Ranch Dressing Mix