17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm proudly one of those cooks that makes sure that EVERY ingredient in a recipe is either at my home or on the list of To Buy. Imagine my surprise when I was assembling everything for a dinner and my envelope of Lipton's Onion Soup Mix was...GONE!!!! Teenage son was the culprit, having nabbed it the night before to make some dip for his mates and himself. LOL Never thinking that there could possibly be a Homemade version of this dry soup mix, I was SO surprised and happy to find THIS recipe, which had no beef soup mix (I was making a vegetarian dish, after all!) I have 100% of everything on hand, whipped up a batch for the recipe and was so pleased with the ease, cost and taste that I can forever delete Lipton's Mix from my grocery list! I've since passed this recipe along to several of my cooking friend's who are equally delighted to give it a go. Thanks, Serah B., for an outstanding and very useful recipe! :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef September 30, 2011

I used this at Thanksgiving and it worked wonderfully (it was part of the rub I put on the turkey breast). I'm tired of the chemical-y taste of the Lipton soup mix; this had none of that chemical taste, but had lots of flavor. Thanks for posting it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts November 22, 2007

I had found this soup mix recipe online somewhere else and used it to make Chip Dip, for which it worked quite well. I then looked to see if it was posted on this site and found this one. The only difference was the one I found had twice as much dried minced onion. I am posting this review so I can find this easily later! :) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 October 09, 2011

I made up a couple of batches to have on hand for dips, soup and adding to other recipes. It is great and so much cheaper too, which is important to me now that I am out of work!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babbsy September 22, 2011

This worked great in a cranberry glazed chicken recipe. I didn't use the tumeric, but it still tasted just fine. This is a great option for those who can't use regular packets of onion soup mix because of food allergies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyBuffalo April 25, 2011

This worked great in my meatloaf recipe, without all that extra sodium in the packaged mix! Made exactly as written, and didn't think the amount of turmeric affected the flavor adversely. I am looking forward to trying this mixed into some light sour cream for a dip! Thanks for this keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey April 06, 2011

Worked like a charm. I'm not a fan of package mixes so I really appreciate something like this that takes a meer minute to throw together. I really like the addition of turmeric in this version, and so much less salty without the bouillon. Used tonight in Roasted Idaho and Sweet Potatoes. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner March 24, 2011

I second Abby Girl's comments. I used this substitute in a Sloppy Joe recipe my brother-in-law gave me, and the results were very satisfying. Here where I live (outside USA) we don't find soup mix preparations so readily, so this is a welcome discovery.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
audreyauz October 03, 2010

I threw together a casserole dish, using up "odds and sods" I had in the fridge and freezer. The recipe I was loosley following called for onion soup mix, so I turned to this one because I didn't have any beef bouillon on hand. It turned out really well, even with the tumeric. Thanks for the posting...I will use this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl August 30, 2010

My new fave! I also omitted the turmeric due to personal taste and onion powder due to lack thereof. Thanks so much for an onion soup mix without bouillon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook from scratch April 13, 2010
Dry Onion Soup Mix Substitute