Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dry Oatmeal Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dry Oatmeal Mix

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2003

      This is such a great idea! Those packets of pre-sweetened oatmeal do get expensive and they are overly sweet. I tried the recipe this morning and I really liked it. I didn't add the dried fruit into the whole mix though. I decided I'd just add a tablespoon of dried fruit when I'm cooking it. That way I can vary the taste from day to day by using different dried fruits! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2003

      Thank you so much for posting this! I have been looking through my Light and Tasty magazines all day looking for this specific recipe. This is so much better than the packaged stuff at the store. I like to make mine with a tropical medley of dried fruit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2012

      This is a great mix. I didn't have dried fruits, so I used sliced almonds. But I will try it again with raisins. Thanks Amber :) Made for cookbook tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      How perfect can oatmeal get? I added dried cherries ( yummmmm) and a touch of ground flax seed. I cut back a tad on the sugar too. Made in the microwave and I think next time I'll cook on the stove top and see if there is a difference. I'll let you know. Made for I reviewed tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      This recipe is GREAT! I make up a double batch without the fruit and keep it in the pantry. The kids add whatever fruit they want and just pop it in the microwave. A hot, delicious breakfast is only two minutes away. Perfect for a cold morning! Thank you for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      LOVE THIS! Great way to save money and tastes just as wonderful! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      I forgot to buy my husband's oatmeal, and had been meaning to look up a recipe--this is it!! Thanks for posting, I'm sure I'll tweak it according to his preferences, but his favorite oatmeal is cinnamon and spice, and it's getting harder to find with all of the fancy ones out there. This is so easy and so much cheaper than what I've been sending him every day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

    • on March 02, 2009

      Oh wow! I can't wait to try this! I love oatmeal and with four kids this will be SUCH A $$$ SAVOR for me. TY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      Just made this today. Using 1/2 cup of water was a little stodgy. Thinned it out with a little milk and added the tiniest drizzle of maple syrup. Cooked it for 2 mins on high and then 40 seconds on medium. Came out fantastic. In fact I am going to have another bowl for lunch! Fab recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Mmmm, this is excellent oatmeal. I think the cloves really make this! I also added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and about a 1/4 cup ground flax seed (gotta get those omega 3's). I left the dried fruit out so it can be added bowl-at-a-time, and put some diced dried apricot in my bowl. I can't wait to try this with some fresh banana. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      My, My... this is outstanding, easy to make, tasty and inexpensive! Made my first batch this morning after breakfast. I added an extra cup of fruit, raisns, my fruit of choice; but forgot to add the ground cloves. Using an Advantium120 microwave at full powerI cooked the followng batches: 1. .25 C of mix to 4 ounces of water in a 2-3 C shallow corningware salad bowl and microwaved it for 2.5 minutes -it was a little stiff after cooking so I stirred in 1 teaspoon of butter and 2 ounces of milk. 2. My wife using the recipe from the quick oats box (.5 C of oats to 1 C of milk) found it was too much for her to eat. 3. Lastly, .25 C of mix to 4 ounces of water in a 2-C corningware cereal bowl for1.75 minutes-it bubbled overand after doming was a little soupy. This a great mix and deserves its gigh rating. I'll make next batch with splenda and dried crandberries. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      This is good. I did add flax as that was a great idea, and instead of water I used milk...I grew up on a dairy farm and it doesn't taste right with water:)I think it's better than the packages you buy at the store. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      I made this bcz my DH eats oatmeal every morning. Homemade is much better and it's quick to make and to prepare in the morning. I left out the fruit and will leave out the cloves next time. I didn't like that added flavor. It didn't say how much oatmeal to use per serving, so I use 1/3 C, plus 2 T oat bran and 2 T ground flax and add water. I'm making another batch today. Thanks! My DH couldn't tell the difference (was using those Quaker packets.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      Delicious! didn't use dried fruit and used the splenda sugar blend and splenda brown sugar blend in place of regular sugar. Tasted great. Plan to make a big batch to keep on hand. thanks for a filling and healthy breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      I made a half batch and added 1/2 Cup of flax, but left out the fruit. My oldest son, a huge fan of the Instant Quaker Oatmeal packets, loved this! I was worried he'd think it didn't taste as good but he was thrilled with it (& didn't even notice the added flax). Thanks so much for posting this - I'm thrilled to be able to offer my family a healthier and much less expensive version of the instant oatmeal packs that they love so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      I loved this recipe. I'll never buy the expensive little packets again. I left out the fruit and add it when cooking so I can have more variety or have it plain. I also didn't have quick-cooking oats, so used old fashioned Quaker oats. To cook, I bring one cup water to a boil, then add 1/2 cup mix and cook for 5-7 minutes. It's wonderfully creamy and a great healthy evening snack when I'm craving something sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      Left out the fruit - my kids gobbled it up. I'll use this recipe often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      I put 4 1/2 cups of oatmeal and ground the other cup and a half along with a handful of slivered almonds and some wheat germ in the blender. I left out the fruit to add as personal preference later. The result was wonderful! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

      My super picky autistic son literally licked the bowl--I'd say that makes 5 stars!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dry Oatmeal Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 190.8
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    85%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 2.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 210.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 15.0 g
    60%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites