28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is such a great idea! Those packets of pre-sweetened oatmeal do get expensive and they are overly sweet. I tried the recipe this morning and I really liked it. I didn't add the dried fruit into the whole mix though. I decided I'd just add a tablespoon of dried fruit when I'm cooking it. That way I can vary the taste from day to day by using different dried fruits! Thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 November 17, 2003

Thank you so much for posting this! I have been looking through my Light and Tasty magazines all day looking for this specific recipe. This is so much better than the packaged stuff at the store. I like to make mine with a tropical medley of dried fruit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Java August 31, 2003

This is a great mix. I didn't have dried fruits, so I used sliced almonds. But I will try it again with raisins. Thanks Amber :) Made for cookbook tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 12, 2012

How perfect can oatmeal get? I added dried cherries ( yummmmm) and a touch of ground flax seed. I cut back a tad on the sugar too. Made in the microwave and I think next time I'll cook on the stove top and see if there is a difference. I'll let you know. Made for I reviewed tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby April 16, 2011

This recipe is GREAT! I make up a double batch without the fruit and keep it in the pantry. The kids add whatever fruit they want and just pop it in the microwave. A hot, delicious breakfast is only two minutes away. Perfect for a cold morning! Thank you for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UPmomto4 March 31, 2010

LOVE THIS! Great way to save money and tastes just as wonderful! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_nurse January 25, 2010

I forgot to buy my husband's oatmeal, and had been meaning to look up a recipe--this is it!! Thanks for posting, I'm sure I'll tweak it according to his preferences, but his favorite oatmeal is cinnamon and spice, and it's getting harder to find with all of the fancy ones out there. This is so easy and so much cheaper than what I've been sending him every day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberly D. December 07, 2009

Oh wow! I can't wait to try this! I love oatmeal and with four kids this will be SUCH A $$$ SAVOR for me. TY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camarolyn March 02, 2009

Just made this today. Using 1/2 cup of water was a little stodgy. Thinned it out with a little milk and added the tiniest drizzle of maple syrup. Cooked it for 2 mins on high and then 40 seconds on medium. Came out fantastic. In fact I am going to have another bowl for lunch! Fab recipe. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NettieT February 09, 2008
Dry Oatmeal Mix