Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dry-Fried Tofu Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dry-Fried Tofu

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2011

      I have been wanting to try tofu for a while now and this recipe sounded good to me. I made it tonight for a stir-fry and I was very happy with the results. It was easy to make and the flavor was really good. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      I use the silken tofu that comes in the box all the time and it works great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      This is great if you follow the directions!!! Or at least end following the directions. ;) A non-stick pan or a very well-seasoned cast-iron pan is key as is low heat! I started making this recipe remembering seeing the recipe a while back. Knowing it was no oil I sliced and blotted the tofu, placed it into a dry hot pan. 1st think I did wrong. Please remember I am doing this from my memory. :) At this point I go to the Veggie tag forum where I know someone knows which recipe it is I am making. And yes Mindelicious come to the rescue and reminded me of Prose`s recipe. Since I had the tofu in the hot pan at this point I quickly and very lightly sprayed the top side of the tofu. Because the first side was cooked to fast and to high of a heat in a pan that was non stick! I was able to recover the tofu with no loss. This is a slow and low cooking method. 3 of us had this gone in no time! And this deserves 5 stars even with my faults! Do remember taste is all about what you the reviewer makes for the sauce. Love this technique.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Skills to last a lifetime :D I did pat each individual piece after slicing just to speed the process up a bit. As I was making these I looked over and saw the Foreman grill sitting there....next time I will attempt it....thinking it might be a little too much pressure but we will see. Thanks for this one Prose!! Made for Veg*n Swap 25!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      The secret I've been wanting to find! What a great way to get tofu just right to actually absorb flavor! I made this recipe as a preparation method for Vegan Bacon and I definitely would repeat that experiment again. Who needs the oil??? Thanks for posting Prose!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      Wow, so this is how it's done! I was always wondering why any tofu I made was anemic and bland. And the stuff I've managed to find when out (Asian restaurants and a couple of wedding receptions where the hosts made sure the vegetarians in attendance went away happy) was always so much tastier than my rendition. Thanks! (Adding this to the veggie swap July 2010 on the community forum once we get our forums back.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      Great tip, I will definitely use this method from now on and the texture is definitely more appealing to hardcore veggies and carnivores alike!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      This is genius. It works perfectly in my cast iron pans and I LOVE LOVE LOVE the texture it gave my tofu! It takes a bit of time, but totally worth it. I didn't "squeeze" mine with the spatula, I had two kids to chase around. But they BOTH ate my stir-fry, exclaiming, "chickachicka" (chicken chicken)! Thanks a bunch for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Thank you for the great tofu tip! This really changes the texture to something much more appetizing than my usual marinated tofu. This is the only way I'll do it from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Thanks Prose - this method works very well. I used my well seasoned cast iron pan and had no issues with sticking (as I thought I might have). I think the key is not letting it brown...really just getting that golden stage...otherwise it can't soak up the marinade very easily. I love that this doesn't add any extra fat - you can save that for the marinade!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dry-Fried Tofu

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 70.9
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    54%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes