Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dry Cream of Soup Mix - Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dry Cream of Soup Mix - Substitute

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 08, 2007

      I have not tried this recipe. My copy of this recipe I got from Pinching Your Pennies. It says to use Mix 1 14 c. cold water with 1/3 c. mix. The rest is the same. Thanks for posting. Christine (internetnut)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2006

      I've taken this camping with us a couple of times using as soup. Two other times I ended up reducing the amount of water and making more of a gravy with it and put it over meatballs, rice and even potatoes. Worked great, and much lighter than a can. I'm making a batch this week to take with us to Yellowstone. Thanks for the great find.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      This is great! I needed a quick mix for a soup for a casserole and this really came in handy. I will be keeping this in my cookbook. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      Thank you so much for posting this! I doubled the cornstarch per other reviewers, and wound up with a very tasty soup to add to a casserole dish. Much nicer, and MUCH cheaper than the canned version. I will use this often!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      Great!!! I needed a gluten free cream of soup mix for Tagliatelle and Chicken Bake so tried this one, using dried almond milk for the milk and arrowroot for the starch. It turned out great! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Made for Healthy Choices ABC Tag. I was so glad to find this. I haven't had anything with a cream soup in it for 7 years. I cut the recipe back to 1 serving just to try it so that I could make whatever adjustments were necessary. Like another person, I did have to add more cornstarch to get it thick like I remember cream soup in a can to be. None the less, this was a great find. Not sure how often I would use it, but will definitely make it as needed. Thanks for posting this Carrie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      My husband is allergic to dairy so I miss using creamed soups! This recipe certainly solved that problem! He loevs it too! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      I use this mix all the time. It is the best. I also use more cornstarch if I am just using it as a soup. I make cream of mushroom, celery, and mushroom as well as cream of veggie soup. I make up several batches and keep in a jar so it is fast and easy to use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      I like the fact that this is lower in sodium. I too followed lead in thickening it somewhat...however thank you so much for sharing this because I can see using this for those recipes that call for can soups. I have a few my family just loves...this works for those!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      Well, my second attempt was perfect. On my first try, I left the kitchen for "just a minute" which resulted in a burned mess. This was a great substitute for the canned soup called for in truebrits' Crockpot Cheesy Chicken & Ham #106666. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2004

      I mixed up a batch of this for my mother who is a fan of using canned creamed soups in recipes. She says that it works great, but sometimes needs to add a bit more cornstarch to get the desired consistency. This is a little lower in sodium than the traditional canned soups and a better choice for her diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2003

      Thanks for the recipe! It's an easy solution to canned soup. The taste and texture are very nice. I wanted cream of mushroom soup like it comes from the can for a casserole, so it was a little thin for that purpose. I will add twice the amount of cornstarch to the mix. I used 1/3 cup of the dry mix to 1 1/2 cups broth or water. This is a keeper. Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2003

      OH MY I`m surpized at how easy and good this is!!! My husband likes those instant cup of soups and this is very close to them! I have a hot water dispenser so all I do is add hot water to the mix. I do think this recipe makes more then 2 cups! I just add 1 heaping tablespoon to a cup of hot water and its good to go! Quick and easy hits the spot when you need to take the chill out and don`t want coffee or tea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dry Cream of Soup Mix - Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 129.9
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    87%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 6.0 mg
    2%
    Sodium 207.6 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 16.0 g
    64%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes