13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have not tried this recipe. My copy of this recipe I got from Pinching Your Pennies. It says to use Mix 1 14 c. cold water with 1/3 c. mix. The rest is the same. Thanks for posting. Christine (internetnut)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut August 08, 2007

I've taken this camping with us a couple of times using as soup. Two other times I ended up reducing the amount of water and making more of a gravy with it and put it over meatballs, rice and even potatoes. Worked great, and much lighter than a can. I'm making a batch this week to take with us to Yellowstone. Thanks for the great find.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georgi August 15, 2006

This is great! I needed a quick mix for a soup for a casserole and this really came in handy. I will be keeping this in my cookbook. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. November 22, 2005

Thank you so much for posting this! I doubled the cornstarch per other reviewers, and wound up with a very tasty soup to add to a casserole dish. Much nicer, and MUCH cheaper than the canned version. I will use this often!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina*S February 28, 2005

Great!!! I needed a gluten free cream of soup mix for Tagliatelle and Chicken Bake so tried this one, using dried almond milk for the milk and arrowroot for the starch. It turned out great! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany April 22, 2010

Made for Healthy Choices ABC Tag. I was so glad to find this. I haven't had anything with a cream soup in it for 7 years. I cut the recipe back to 1 serving just to try it so that I could make whatever adjustments were necessary. Like another person, I did have to add more cornstarch to get it thick like I remember cream soup in a can to be. None the less, this was a great find. Not sure how often I would use it, but will definitely make it as needed. Thanks for posting this Carrie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft March 02, 2009

My husband is allergic to dairy so I miss using creamed soups! This recipe certainly solved that problem! He loevs it too! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stikchik October 30, 2007

I use this mix all the time. It is the best. I also use more cornstarch if I am just using it as a soup. I make cream of mushroom, celery, and mushroom as well as cream of veggie soup. I make up several batches and keep in a jar so it is fast and easy to use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crw59ak September 11, 2007

I like the fact that this is lower in sodium. I too followed lead in thickening it somewhat...however thank you so much for sharing this because I can see using this for those recipes that call for can soups. I have a few my family just loves...this works for those!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glitter September 29, 2005

Well, my second attempt was perfect. On my first try, I left the kitchen for "just a minute" which resulted in a burned mess. This was a great substitute for the canned soup called for in truebrits' Crockpot Cheesy Chicken & Ham #106666. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( January 24, 2005
Dry Cream of Soup Mix - Substitute