Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dry Adobo Seasoning (Adobo Seco) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dry Adobo Seasoning (Adobo Seco)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2009

      I used all the ingredients listed and tried this on both scrambled egg and slices of tofu! For the tofu I mixed in a little bit of flour and dredged the slices in that. Used cumin seed for ground and whirled all the ingredients in a clean coffee mill. I can see using this spice/herb mix for many different things, including salad dressing, meat loaf, steamed veggies. If I were to find any fault with the recipe it would be that there is an excessive amount of salt. I only used a fraction of salt in the 1/2 cup amount of seasoning I prepared. Thanks! Reviewed for ZWT 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      I wanted to make another RecipeZaar recipe that called for adobo, and since I don't have any, was PLEASED to find this recipe. I made it using the first six ingredients (only half the salt) plus 3 TBSP chili powder since I didn't have achiote, zest or saffron on hand. A great combination of flavors and works well in the awesome recipezaar recipe called "Chicken Carne Asada." Thank you for saving me a trip to the market, and for a "keeper" recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      More peppery than my usual ready made brand – a good thing! Scaling the recipe down to ¼ cup and reducing the salt even more, I added some cumin, achiote and a pinch of dried orange zest. I can see this blend replacing a lot of my others – it tastes wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2013

      I can't say enough good things about this recipe. I've tweaked it a little to suit our own tastes, but what a great place to start! It's the new House Seasoning in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      Very useful, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

    • on August 31, 2009

      Ain't nothin' like a dash of sass so I did a little fingertip dip and now I've got sass-mouth. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      I didn't make this recipe but I used as a template for a recipe that called for adobo seasoning. It really made the roast taste wonderful. YUM. I just added components that I wanted to the total recipe, mainly garlic powder, pepper, mexican oregano, cumin and a bit of saffron. Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Made for ZWT5. This is quite good although not what I am used to. I did make the first set of ingredients plus the cumin and the orange zest. I used this on chicken for the grill and I did like the orange flavors hinting in the background. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      I wanted to try another recipe here on zaar but didn't want to run to the store for adobo. My entire family loves this seasoning. It is RARE for everyone to like the same thing. Thanks for a great 'keeper'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      I made this recipe using the the first 6 ingredients & the optional cumin & saffron. Thanks for sharing! Made for Family Picks ZWT 4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      Adobo seasoning is not that widely available here in Australia & I wanted some for a recipe to try. Thanks for posting this, it's handy to have but next time I think I will cut down on the salt a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dry Adobo Seasoning (Adobo Seco)

    Serving Size: 1 (131 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 236.0
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    59%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20971.2 mg
    873%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.0 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 12.4 g
    49%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    citrus zest

    achiote powder

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites