Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Drunken Lemongrass Shrimp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Drunken Lemongrass Shrimp

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2002

      First class dish!! The ingredients in this one come together beautifully! I used the dried red peppers, but cut them down by half. The sauce is really good. I love these easy stir-frys that deliver a lot of flavor. Served it over short grain rice. I will definitely make this again! Thanks Izzy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2002

      Hands down, this recipe is an absolute winner! I made this recipe exactly as stated, except that I used fresh Thai chilies instead of the dried red chili peppers. I couldn't believe the wonderful aromas while this was cooking! And the sauce on this was amazing, complex, and full of flavor. The lemongrass was very aromatic as well as the garlic, but neither served to overpower any of the other flavors which combined into a heavenly melange that will win anyone over to Asian food. I will definitely be making this again, and again, and again...Thanks, Izzy! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2003

    • on November 03, 2011

      Very good - we cut the chilli as my father joined us for dinner, but the flavours were lovely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      I didn't find this dish particularly flavorful. It was too salty in my opinion. Normally I like lemongrass but I don't think this recipe utilized it very well. Also, the directions mention rice wine but the ingredients list dry sherry. I used sherry wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      I had never used lemongrass before, so didn't know what to expect. This was 'quite' tasty. I served with Jasmine rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Very good. Followed recipe as is, other than substituting sake and chicken stock for the dry sherry. The taste is great for what little effort is required. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

    • on June 17, 2006

      Yummy! We used Gourmet Garden's lemongrass herb blend (lemongrass in minced form) because we find that everytime we buy it we use a few stalks and then the rest is wasted and it's not cheap produce here! It's in the produce section in our grocer & must always be refrigerated, up to 3 months I believe. Followed everything else to a T and ate with long grain white rice. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2005

      Fantastic dish! I love shrimp and it's similar to a dish at this this local authentic chinese restaurant in atlanta. It was a tad too much lemon grass (I'm not sure of the cutting in 2 inch pieces and smashing method for the lemongrass, it left large pieces and strands of lemon grass which is tough to eat). Next time I'll use less lemon grass and mince it finely. Overall wonderful and I will be making it again! Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2005

      This is very delicious! I made the sauce and marinated the shrimps 2 hours ahead, and the dish came together very quickly. Like SueL, I also used Thai bird's eye chillies (about 4) for 2 servings. I used sake in place of the sherry. I wish I'd made the full recipe; we wanted more!! Thanks for the fantastic dish, I'm thinking this might work well with chicken too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2004

      Wow, what a recipe, magnificant. The flavours are just amazing. I used dry sherry as stated in the ingrediants and not rice wine as written in the instructions only because I read the ingrediants list first. Extremly quick and easy to put together. Top marks for this amazing recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Asian Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Drunken Lemongrass Shrimp

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 151.9
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    26%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 107.2 mg
    35%
    Sodium 1457.1 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemongrass

    limes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites