12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

First class dish!! The ingredients in this one come together beautifully! I used the dried red peppers, but cut them down by half. The sauce is really good. I love these easy stir-frys that deliver a lot of flavor. Served it over short grain rice. I will definitely make this again! Thanks Izzy!!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz August 07, 2002

Hands down, this recipe is an absolute winner! I made this recipe exactly as stated, except that I used fresh Thai chilies instead of the dried red chili peppers. I couldn't believe the wonderful aromas while this was cooking! And the sauce on this was amazing, complex, and full of flavor. The lemongrass was very aromatic as well as the garlic, but neither served to overpower any of the other flavors which combined into a heavenly melange that will win anyone over to Asian food. I will definitely be making this again, and again, and again...Thanks, Izzy! :)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau July 08, 2002

Very good - we cut the chilli as my father joined us for dinner, but the flavours were lovely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Normans November 03, 2011

I didn't find this dish particularly flavorful. It was too salty in my opinion. Normally I like lemongrass but I don't think this recipe utilized it very well. Also, the directions mention rice wine but the ingredients list dry sherry. I used sherry wine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
philidem November 28, 2009

I had never used lemongrass before, so didn't know what to expect. This was 'quite' tasty. I served with Jasmine rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherN April 11, 2008

Very good. Followed recipe as is, other than substituting sake and chicken stock for the dry sherry. The taste is great for what little effort is required. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miska June 20, 2007

Yummy! We used Gourmet Garden's lemongrass herb blend (lemongrass in minced form) because we find that everytime we buy it we use a few stalks and then the rest is wasted and it's not cheap produce here! It's in the produce section in our grocer & must always be refrigerated, up to 3 months I believe. Followed everything else to a T and ate with long grain white rice. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
discriminating tastes... June 17, 2006

Fantastic dish! I love shrimp and it's similar to a dish at this this local authentic chinese restaurant in atlanta. It was a tad too much lemon grass (I'm not sure of the cutting in 2 inch pieces and smashing method for the lemongrass, it left large pieces and strands of lemon grass which is tough to eat). Next time I'll use less lemon grass and mince it finely. Overall wonderful and I will be making it again! Love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jojobee February 25, 2005
Drunken Lemongrass Shrimp