Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Drunken Garlic Crock Pot Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Drunken Garlic Crock Pot Roast

    Average Rating:

    139 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 139

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2003

      This was easy & delicious - my kind of Monday night recipe! I didn't change anything except to leave the roast in the crockpot for 12 hours (I am gone from 7 to 7 on Mondays) and this worked out fine - the meat was nice & tender. The night before, I browned the roast as required and then refrigerated. And I also prepared the liquid and spice mixture ahead & placed in the crockpot. In the morning, all I had to do was pop the roast in the pot, switch it on, and go! Thanks, Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2003

      We had this roast for dinner last night and it was excellent!!!!!!!!I did everything the night before and threw the crockpot in the fridge as others suggested. It only took 5 minutes to thicken up the gravy, make the mashed potatoes, and egg noodles. I did, however, make some changes as we are major garlic lovers. I used 35 large cloves of garlic, 1 huge sweet vidalia onion, and mixed the cornstarch with beef broth. We don't do leftovers, but the dog had a very delicious dinner too!!!!!!!Thanks for posting this recipe, it's a keeper and I'll be making it again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2003

      Outstanding!! This was easy to prepare and thanks for the previous review I was able to assemble it the night before. Served it with mashed potatoes and a mix of cauliflower, broccoli and carrot vegetables. The meat just soaked up the flavor and the gravy was excellent. A real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2003

      The roast came out wonderfully tender and full of flavor. My husband loved it, but I thought it was just okay. If I did it over again, I would not add the Dijon mustard. It gave it an "odd" aroma and flavor. The rest of the ingredients were good and the roast came out well. I might make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2003

      Outstanding as usual, Sue L. I will confess, I was a little freaked out with all that garlic but I put it in and it turned out just fine. There flavor of the gravy was magnifico and I used it to go over mashed potatoes. The beef was fork tender and so delicious. This one ranks as one of the best. Thanks Sue L.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      Had to break from my normal crock pot roast beef since I didn't realize I was out of half the ingredients! Decided to try this and it was delicious! I only had one head of garlic, so added in some garlic powder and had to use a cheap beer but was still great! I think we will add this to the rotation in addition to our regular recipe. Thanks for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      Made this last night and it was Delicious! Everyone raved about this meal. My sister asked me for the recipe AND my mother finished her plate and that NEVER happens! The only problem I had was my meat fell apart like shredded pork when I cut it, maybe it was my technique, plus I am new to slow cooking. But the meat was delicious and I served it with mashed potatoes and a side of sauteed broccoli with garlic. It was a great birthday meal on a snowed in day in NYC. This recipe will make the cut and I preffered it to the other recipes which use soup mix and vegetables! Thanks for the great meal!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      This was sooooo good! My mom made the worst pot roast ever when I was growing up, so I've always stayed away from forcing it on my family. It was all too much for my little crock pot, so I braised it on the oven for about 3 1/2 hours. I was out of cornstarch and used flour for the gravy. It all turned out perfectly. Thanks for sharing the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      Try this with a Pork Shoulder Roast "Picnic". Tastes great, just reduce the cooking time a little, or use a larger roast. I place it right on top of the potatos and carrots. Then I add Asparagus the last hour or so...WOW

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      I liked this one quite a bit. It had a sweet garlicky flavor that went really well with the buffalo roast I used. Unfortunately, while DH wasn't sure he liked it the first time, the second time he was sure he didn't. Was told not to make it again. If someone in the family doesn't like the sweet onion flavor (as opposed to savory), probably won't be a good choice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      Wonderful rich flavor. It is garlicky, but not overpowering. The lager I used was Yuengling Lager. All the flavors went very well together, and the gravy was great. Thanx for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      didn't use beer as i didn't have any on hand so substituted beef stock.. also added worcestershire, 1 tsp of paprika and 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes. used flour at the end in the crock pot after taking the meat out.. added maybe 2/3 cup while the setting was on high.. turned out great.. thanks..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      I belive this recipe deserves more credit than it was given so far(if it's at all possible).It's the best recipe you never tried.I made this without the lager because it is unavalible to me.So i added one more bouillon cube and used good old fashioned water.I not sure if it was me but i didn't see how we are supposed to use the mustard in the recipe so i added it with the brown sugar and vinegar.I think i need to put this one in my profile as another favorite dish.Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2014

      Fantastic! Pretty much doubled all the flavor adding ingredients, and my company says it was the best ever. Had leftovers for days, served it with mashed potatoes the first night, and on top of a thick slice of French bread for other times. Delicious! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      I haven't made this yet, but I am planning to Wednesday after stumbling on it just now. I do have to say for all the ppl having a hard time about the 'peeling' of the garlic. Lay ur clove on the counter. Use a butcher knife turned flat on it (like year to press it) and am ah it with your hand onto the counter. Not to hard, but Ut enough. This smashes the skin away, u just pop the close out and move onto the next one. 24 cloves worth of peeling should take all of 90 seconds max. Hope this helps. I'll review recipe again Thursday. Cheers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      Wonderful- whole family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      Love this recipe! The garlic flavor was so wonderful. I only added 1 tablespoon brown sugar to cut back the sweetness. It turned out perfect. I had pretty big chuck of beef roast. Didn't cut it into pieces but did brown 4 sides. The meat was so tender after 8 hours cooking. Made some mashed potatoes as a side dish to go with the gravy. So so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      Awesome! Super easy! I used a chunk of venison and went light on the brown sugar for personal preference. I popped this amazing concoction in the crock pot for 8 hrs on low. The gravy was super good over mashed potato's~~ Thanks Sue Lau!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2013

    • on January 29, 2013

      This was the first recipe we tried from Food.com... And once again, I am making another round!! My husband adored this and surprisingly, so did our 10 y.o.!!! Not one change to the recipe and I'm hooked! Thank you for such an amazing treat to add to our crock pot dinners!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Drunken Garlic Crock Pot Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (377 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 580.3
     
    Calories from Fat 221
    38%
    Total Fat 24.5 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 187.4 mg
    62%
    Sodium 1083.8 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 13.1 g
    52%
    Protein 62.5 g
    125%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites