13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I will give this a star rating after I try this tonight, but I had to say the only reason I tried it was out of the sheer hilarity of the instructions.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D1gitalR1ze June 07, 2012

This is so simple and amazing! Tried this last night and we couldn't get enough! Thank you so much for this recipe, because even a beginner cook like myself can do it. I used a light beer, mixed some butter with the spices and rubbed it on the birds. I also injected the birds with beer, which really added flavor. This is definitely a keep!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkinnyBlonde July 28, 2010

Good! Simple. I did everything called for in this recipe - basically. Onion powder, not salt. Paprika added. Bob Chinn's Crab House Bob's Seasoned Sea Salt, rather than Greek seasoning. And I used some kind of Lite beer. I was _terrified_ I would be burned by the beer in the can, which was the hardest part of prepping the hen. Putting the can up the hen's bum, as it were. I ended up cutting the hen from around the can. It was incredibly tender and tasty. Served it with macaroni and cheese. Would have been good with lots of things - nice salad, steamed veggies, sliced on a sandwich with mayo.... Yum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacelya Jones May 08, 2010

I followed this recipe exactly as written, even using the Arrogant Bastard Ale. For whatever reason it took longer than what was given as a cooking time, but well worth the wait. Nice and juicy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fallonm April 15, 2010

I used my own choice of spices but otherwise followed recipe to the tee. Absolutely perfect. No thinking. Simple.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iamsly2003 December 21, 2009

Genious! It reminded me of my father's Caribbean cooking. I have finished eating and am currently waiting for a standing ovation from my husband :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cochambra May 07, 2009

This came out amazing!! I used Beck's dark beer poured into a soda can. I also made my own greek seasoning and also coated chopped veggies with the seasoning and oil and spread it around the chicken to get an instant side dish. So easy to make and so delicious! (and definitely my favorite directions ever, hands down!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mosma January 31, 2009

This turned out really good despite my changes to the recipe. I didn't have any dark beer handy so I used what i had on hand, Hornsby's Hard Cider. After putting the bird on the can, I sprayed it with a little butter and then seasoned it. The butter helped the seasoning stick to the bird. For seasoning I used a Southwestern blend, Garlic Powder and Black Pepper. The skin was nice and crispy and the meat was so tender it was almost falling off the bone. The Hornsby's gave it a slightly sweet tang that contrasted nicely with the peppery spice of the skin. It was very good, but next time I definitely will have a good dark ale handy for a more robust flavor. Excellent!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichaelMo January 31, 2009

This was so good. I had four of these li'l suckers standing in my oven and they cooked perfectly. Thanks for the tip about the dark beer. We used Guiness and it was fabulous! I'm so going to try chicken next!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Super-Wife November 19, 2008

Easy dinner for 2 in less than an hour. This is one of my favorite ways to cook a hen, but I prefer an IPA high in IBUs. IMPORTANT TIP: before you open the can, shove it in the bird a few times to stretch it... This will prevent spillage.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kyle M. February 03, 2015
Drunken Cornish Game Hen